We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice setting, but staff a bit clueless”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #8 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice setting, but staff a bit clueless”
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Attended a 2 day conference at this hotel, and stayed there too. The staff in the bar were helpful, but the rest of the team let the side down. Lots of standing about looking smart, but not a lot of doing things to keep guests happy. In particular, the concierge directing traffic out front needs some lessons in politeness, the business centre staff were indifferent to my requests for help, and the prices (while expected) weren't reflected with equally impressive food.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Regular T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear Regular T,
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry if your experience was not impeccable. If you can kindly contact me in private I would greatly appreciate it as we take great pride in offering outstanding service.

Looking forward to hearing from you.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,879 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,385
    357
    82
    31
    24
See reviews for
248
657
114
592
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
São Paulo, Sp
Level 6 Contributor
661 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 282 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We spent two nights at this hotel right after arriving in Italy for an 8-day tour in the country. It certainy set the standards very high for the rest to come. Staff was attentive and managed to check-in our group of 35 people very fast and efficiently. Rooms were spacious and quiet. We were greeted warmly and shown to a very nice room. The hotel has an excellent, free, limo service to central Milan every 15-20 minutes. That's a good option as the hotel is a few minutes from the center. The downsides were: (1) despite a large bathroom, the shower in a very narrow bathtub makes life difficult for those with certain disability (which was not my case), not to mention the high risk of fall (In the US a thing like this would never occur). (2) we were in a large group that prepaid the stay, but for some members of the group the hotel charged extra nights that did not exist, champagnes that were not consumed, high-speed internet after checkout, etc. That delayed out departure in almost one hour because many had to complain about the extra, undue charges. Make sure that your bill is really correct before making any payment.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David_R_Silva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear David_R_Silva,
Thank you so much for review. I am happy that you appreciated the service received by our staff and that you enjoyed your room. As per the issues you reported with the check out, please feel free to contact me in order to discuss the situation. I will be most glad to investigate this with my team.
I am extremely sorry for whatever inconvenience your group encountered.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Have been a middling to enthusiastic fan of the Principe for years. It's got a lot of great pluses and is getting better and better with the Dorchester Collection:
1. Fantastic gym - by Italian standards (note: do not plan on laps in the pool).
2. Stylish bar - interesting crowd and a charming staff.
3. Beautiful restaurant - Alcanto is aging well, it's a deluxe interior, the food's superb and the team very solicitous.
4. Terrific concierge staff - especially Gerard. Tip them well, they're worth it.
Just remember, it's an expensive and older property, so in terms of rooms: you get what you pay for. The recently upgraded deluxe rooms and the 2006 or so deluxe mosaic rooms are superb: great furnishings, killer baths (note: the showers drain slowly) and a good size facing the city or Piazza. The other rooms, well...soft goods updated, but the baths were last updated during the CIGA years (late 80's or early 90's) and it shows. And there are still smoking rooms - which can be very aromatic.
All in all, generally the best value for a 5 star hotel in Milan.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ez2plsNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear ez2plsNYC,
Thank you so much for your lovely and thorough review. I am delighted that during your stay you managed to enjoy our gym, bar and restaurant and I will be sure to share your kind words with our concierge staff.
Please do let me know next time you return as also our Classic Rooms, Premium Rooms and all our Suites have just recently been refurbished.

Looking forward to welcoming you personally back to the Hotel Principe di Savoia I send my warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Wonderful city for a weekend-trip. central laage, nice staff, clean, spacious and quiet room. staff is very friendly. great breakfast buffet. price-performance true. each time would go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear John M,
Thank you for your kind review. It is with pleasure that I hear you enjoyed both Milan and the Hotel Principe di Savoia. In two lines you summarized so graciously so many different aspects of the Hotel. We do sincerely hope you consider this your home in Milan.

I look forward to welcoming you back.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This was the last stop along my four country journey and I couldn't have been more pleased. The rooms are spacious and quiet, the service is attentive, the spa is excellent and the food is outstanding! Did I miss anything? Yes, I missed all the details from the inlaid wood throughout the guest rooms, to the pivoting heated towel racks, to room service that is prompt and perfect, to an excellent concierge staff and to a masseuse that provided the best massage I have ever had. Another bonus is the hotel car that transports guest every 15 minutes into the center of town and back again. What treasures and treats! I will return...perhaps after the Design Shows in 2015. The hotel will be swamped during that time and although they will do an excellent job, I'm selfish enough to want a bit more of the hotel all to myself. Thank you all!

Room Tip: Look at your room first and if you are not satisfied, the hotel will try and accommodate you. Excell...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeahPhiladelphia_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear LeahPhiladelphia_PA,
your review is so flattering I really don't know where to start from to say Thank You!
We shall be proud if you decide to consider Principe di Savoia your home in Italy now. If you decide to visit us again, please let me know in advance and we shall be glad to give you a proper welcome back.

Warm Regards
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great location, good facilities, pretty much as good as it gets, but expensive, hotel restaurant is also excellent, and there is a nice outdoor courtyard for lunchtime drinks etc, that is quiet and pleasant to sit in.Breakfast was also great.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Eass,
Thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Principe di Savoia. It is with pleasure that I read that everything was great and that you were able to enjoy our restaurant during your stay last year. I sincerely hope that you will come back to Milan soon, and to personally welcome you.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013 via mobile

We spent one night at the hotel before flying home from Malpensa. We were greeted warmly and shown to a very nice room. That evening we had a very enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant. The hotel was very comfortable, restful and quiet, with attentive staff. Although not in the centre they have an excellent, free, limo service to central Milan, only 10 minutes away.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RVMSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, General Manager at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear RVMSydney,
I am happy that you left the hotel Principe di Savoia with a favourable impression even though you only spent one day here with us. We all strive to offer our guest a memorable experience and I truly hope to welcome you back again in Milan in the future to enjoy our other services such as the spa with swimming pool, aperitifs at the bar and room service.

Looking forward to welcoming you back personally I send you my warmest regards,
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Chateau Monfort
#10 of 427 in Milan
1,433 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 427 in Milan
1,689 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Spa Hotel in Milan
#7 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing