We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as usual a great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #9 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“as usual a great stay”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

I been in a suite and i can only say GREAT.
Very good room, very good service, fantastic breakfast.
Very clean, very quite and fantastic bar after dinner.
Unfortunately the spa was closed during my stay.
For sure i will return when in Milano.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea70_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Andrea70_S,
Thank you for your kind review.
My apologies about the swimming pool not being available during your stay, we have had to refurbish the area.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon, and hopefully this time your stay will be entirely memorable.

Warm wishes,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,349
    345
    80
    31
    25
See reviews for
234
638
111
583
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 August 2014

I been in hotel 3 nights was wonderful staff was friendly nice place to stay and breakfast is lovely easy to reach station and city centre best hotel in Italy room dining service is fast very clean and tidy hotel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baatarjabu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Dear Baatarjab,
It is with immense gratitude that I read your review on the Hotel Principe di Savoia and I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.
We take particular pride in the service we provide, and I will make sure to forward your comments to the rest of the team.

I sincerely hope to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights in August- we booked 2 connecting rooms. (classic type)
The hotel is very impressive however when we approached the check in we started feeling some stress….the lady at the reception was very nice however since we had an issue with the connecting rooms she called asked a more senior reception staff member (manager?) who started discussing the "problem" with her in Italian while I was standing there - not understanding a word!!! Not very polite !!!

After few minutes they solved the "problem" and started taking in English again …. The rooms are nice, good size with very nice bathroom…. but in both rooms there was a bad smell…. I called the housekeeping to inform them about the problem. The women who answered was very nervous and very rude….she did not agree to send someone to look into the problem…..she said in a very loud voice that she can only send a person with a spray……to "splash" some smell…. When I tried to explain that the "splash" will help only for few minutes….the women become very very…..angry and she said " this is what I can do…. Maybe you will tell me what can I do….. I cannot help you"!!!!!I

I do not expect this low standard of service in any hotel but especially not in such luxurious….very expensive hotel….she did send a women with a spray….the nice lady did not speak a word in English but she tried to explain with her hands that the bad smell is coming from the walls???

The poor service was also at breakfast time ….. The hosts in the entrance was nice but some of the waiters were really terrible….not smiling…. Very difficult to track their attention! (there was one senior waiter which was professional).

The breakfast itself was excellent – nice variety of food very fresh! As I said nice hotel….. the management must do something to improve the service….. not sure that its worth to pay the high rate for the rooms…..

Room Tip: parking at hotel is very expensive (50Euro) per night - use alternatives nearby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irit L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear Irir L.,
Thank you so much for your review on the Hotel Principe di Savoia. I am so sorry to hear that everything was not perfect with your stay. As you can imagine service is our top priority and If you would like to contact me personally I can investigate further and get back to you with a more through response.

Looking forward to hearing from you.

Warm regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

we have stayed in this fabulous hotel for four nights in may 2014,due to our friends wedding.Have to say this is one of the best(if not the best)hotel we have ever stayed in!
Everything,reception,rooms,dining area,all public areas,are amazing!Our room(premium room) was beautiful,designed with personal touches.And the bathroom is to die for!! Lot of toiletries,fluffy ,luxury towels,and even some fresh orchids! All areas,also rooms spotless clean!
All staff very professional and attentive!
Wedding scenery breathtaking!! And soo elegant! Expensive hotel but definitely worth to pay only to experience something special! Should be 6 star !

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mona a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear mona a,
Thank you so much for the exquisite review of the Hotel Principe di Savoia. It is with great pride that I read that you enjoyed our accommodation, amenities and that you loved our bathrooms. Weddings are always a special occasion and to hear that everything was so perfect brings great joy to my wonderful team and me.
Looking forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warmest regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A really superb hotel. Everything about the hotel is first class, service, rooms and common areas. The breakfast buffet was great and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The bar is also a nice place to have a drink, very old fashioned service, style and elegance.

Room Tip: You may not want to go when people think One Direction are in the house!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark and Wils B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Mark and Wils,
Thank you for sharing your review about your recent stay at the Hotel Principe di Savoia.
I am thrilled that you loved it here with us and that you loved the bar and the quality of service.
We hope to welcome you back soon, Autumn is a lovely season to visit Milan!

Warm wishes,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We booked a very last minute break in Milan and was attracted to this hotel from the excellent reviews on TripAdvisor. It was walking distance from the Central Station and we were given a warm welcome by reception and shown to our room. We had a basic double room but it was decorated to a very high standard with an extra large bed, classical furniture, paintings, and a large bathroom with the famous 'Acqua di Parma' toiletries. It is about a mile walk to the city centre but the hotel lay on a free limousine shuttle. There is also a subway station 50 yards from the hotel.
The breakfast is sumptuous and the staff extremely friendly and helpful. There is a menu if you want something different but the choice is so huge you really wouldn't need anything else. We didn't use the restaurant and the rooftop pool was being refurbished but we did sit on the roof terrace and were offered bottled water and apples while we relaxed one afternoon.
If you fancy a day away from Milan there are endless options especially from Central station. We spent an enjoyable morning wandering round a town called Pavia which was 40 mins south on the train. Varenna on Lake Como is 50 mins north and we took the ferry over to the stunning village of Bellagio.
We were too early for breakfast when we left for our flight home but when the concierge heard this he arranged for us to have coffee and croissants in the entrance lounge. Nothing was too much trouble, all of the staff made us feel so welcome and the hotel is every bit a five star luxury property in this impressive city.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Don9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Dear Don9,
Thank you for sharing this lovely review. It looks like you and your partner managed to make the most of your time with us and in Milan! I am glad that you chose to visit both the city and its sorroundings, which can be really romantic. We are proud of the wonders offered by the Lombardy region - they're less known than other Italian features but as stunning.

I am also happy to read that you loved your room and the breakfast. I will make sure to share your kind comments with the restaurant and concierge staff.

We look forward to having you back with us again,
Warm Regards from Milano
Ezio Indiani

P.S. Our Instagram account is devoted to travel tips on Tuesdays, Milan tips on Wednesdays - I'd like to take this chance to suggest anyone visiting Milano and Northern Italy to take a look at our page for inspiration!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zollikon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Principe di Savoja was the best Hotel in Milan 20 years ago, and it still the best today. It is the perfect combination of an old style Grand Hotel of last century combined with a perfect renovation and modern technology. Maybe there are today some modern American style hotels, but if you like elegance and classical style, the Principe di Savoia is far the better choice.

Room Tip: Ambassador Suites are a very good choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RudolfMZollikon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PrincipediSavoia, Direttore generale at Hotel Principe Di Savoia, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Dear RudolfMZollikon,
Thank you so much for your kind words.
I am glad that you love it here with us and I do sincerely hope you consider the Principe di Savoia as your home away from home.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Warm Regards,
Ezio Indiani
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
596 reviews
Chateau Monfort
#12 of 428 in Milan
1,372 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 428 in Milan
733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Property: Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#6 Spa Hotel in Milan
#8 Family Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#8 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Priceline, Odigeo, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing