We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, luxurious experience...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Ranked #5 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2009

I booked this luxury break for my husband as a birthday present and it was worth it! The complimentary (birthday) champaigne was waiting for us in the room...and the room was beyond any words! The staff was helpful and polite though they must have had some amusing moments watching us trying to adapt ourselves to this kind of luxury (one to mention: a little "chair" for a handbag -my not-a-luis-vuitton-handbag :-D ) But did we had fun doing that, we did indeed, don't remember laughing so much for a long time. The hotel was everything one could dream of and more with it's limousine service, interior and service. I can highly recommend it to anyone: for a romantic get-away, shopping trip or just relaxing...

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maren44Pori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,015)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,029 - 1,035 of 2,015 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2009

This hotel makes you feel very special. From the moment we drove in, you feel the elegance this hotel exudes. Then you are welcomed by friendly staff. Then they escort you to your room. We were given the newly renovated room, even the flat TV was covered in wood! One problem, when I showered, I realized there were strings of blond hair stuck on the walls. Ladies would know this, as they shampoo their hair, they grab it in for some inexplicable reason they stick it on the wall. I guess the cleaning service did not spot this. I was a little disgusted but its ok. That was the only minor glitch. Head down to Acanto for dinner, what a wonderful resto! With one of Italy's best sommelier serving us one of Italy's best wine. However the absolute best part of this hotel is their complimentary shuttle in a Mercedes Van or a Mercedes stretch limo! As for parking its a scary 50Eur per night, I chose to park my car outside and risk getting ticket for not paying by the hour. But that was the risk I took. As for the price, definately worth it! Cheaper than their competitors! Managed by the ultra exclusive Dorchester Collection. Oh they should add padding on the bed, it was by far the hardest of the hotels we stayed in during our trip.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SAPOID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2009

My extended family stayed in two classic rooms during our first visit to Milan early this year, and were very happy with all aspects of the hotel:
-Service- as expected at a 5star hotel; staff attitude was good despite having to work over the holiday period
-Location- close to all the shopping (mont nap, spiga), and the Last Supper, Duomo
-Rooms- very spacious rooms and bathrooms; even though the non-renovated rooms were a little worn around the edges, they were still pleasingly furnished
-Breakfast is in an elegant dining room, and delicious
Also, great price point for what it is- will definitely stay here again next time we're in town.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HopingThisHelps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2009

I have been staying at the principe many times during the last years as far as my business commtmens take me often in Milano.
I'm not a fan of old grandious hotel as far as i'm more in the modern design.
But i like this hotel very much and it is my favourite spot in Milano even compared to FS or Park hyatt or other hotels where i have been in Milano.

It is conveniently located very close to the Quadrilatero and the main station.
They are continously renovating the hotel; rooms are quite brand new (i have been staying recently in almost 5/10 different rooms) and they are large in size. My last staying i have been in a room that they call "mosaic" room which was so nice. It's a new design, diverse from the rest of the hotel, more contemporary... very nice. This room was my favourite in terms of style but even the smaller... still, was very confortable.
All the room have large flat screen.

There is a nice bar on the ground floor, just on the right after you enter the lobby area there is always whit a vibrant crowd... it has been always full of people and seems to continue on that way. They just renovate the entry and lobby area and the bar will be renovated in a short while.
The Accanto restaurant serve very good food.

This hotel is part of the Dorchester Collection. what i like particularly is that they are updating it costantly...while in my travelling experience i have seen lot of glorious hotels lost in their glory, this is not happening at the Principe that in my opinion get better and better and can compare with the 5 star de luxe hotel in town.
Another positive point is that they have very convenient rate compared to others.... you can find almost always a room for 250/300 euro vs 500/700 of FS, Bulgari or Park Hyatt.....

i reccomend this hotel both for business travellers or turist.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Er_Daddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My husband and I do weekend shopping trips in Milan a few times a year and the Principe Di Savoia has become one of our favorite hotels. We arrived right as Men's Fashion Week was beginning, so were lucky that we found a room with a good rate.

Service: Friendly and unpretentious. We had booked through leading hotels and upon check-in, the hotel couldn't find our reservation. No problem--we had the confirmation on our phone and the manager was very quick to find us a room and ensured we got an upgrade. Fantastic--no hassles, no lecturing, no frantic phone calls--they fixed it quietly and quickly. The concierge desk as also helpful with restaurant recommendations. They managed to get us a last-minute reservation at a super-popular and totally booked Michelin restaurant a bit outside of Milan.

Room: We were upgraded to a suite, with small entrance area, sitting room, large bedroom and HUGE marble bathroom, with double-sinks. The view was lousy--looked like an abandoned business district, but we booked for the central location so it was no biggie. Wi-Fi was included in the room and it worked perfectly--no need to wander around trying to find a good connection. The room was decorated in baroque style, with wood and glass sliding doors to separate the sitting area from the bedroom. Very opulent, plush decorations. We overheard a woman in the lobby complaining that the rooms weren't "modern" enough, so if you're expecting modern architecture, clean lines, etc, the Savoia is not the place for you. Lovely room--turn-down service, slippers and we had champagne and snacks waiting for us when we returned later--a gift for booking through leading hotels. Sometimes the gifts are really lousy (hotel cufflinks), but champagne is perfect.

Dining:
We only ate breakfast here, but what a breakfast! Try to make sure it's included in the room rate--if not, it's over 50 Euros per person. There is a huge buffet with everything you can imagine--fresh fruits, champagne, eggs, bacon, waffles, desserts, etc. But in case it's not enough, you can order things like pancakes or eggs benedict from the menu (no additional charge). We ordered 2 eggs benedict--they were a little slow coming out, but the breakfast room is quite nice, so it was relaxing to have a long breakfast with the English newspapers.

Location: 10 minute walk from the main train station, so very easy if you don't have much luggage. And about 10 minutes walk to the main shopping areas. It's not right in the middle of the shopping district, but the metro is right out front.

Overall: A new favorite, with reasonable rates and lovely service. Great breakfast!

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilrachelt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

Hello from room 314 at the hotel right now where the wireless internet works marvelously (it should as it is not cheap) in what looks like an 18th century room with modern comforts and a super bed.

Gorgeous hotel, 10th floor spa and pool is a wonder in itself. Public spaces remain grand despite renovations. Service is top of the line with an attitude as they know they are better than anyone else. Stores and restaurants respect you more as you are staying here.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Happy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2009

Splendid hotel. Very good quality for its price. Central position. Calm. Nice bathroom with Aqua di Parma products ! Renovated rooms.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DayOneTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Chateau Monfort
#7 of 431 in Milan
1,556 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#1 of 431 in Milan
843 reviews
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Grand Hotel et de Milan
#11 of 431 in Milan
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Principe Di Savoia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Principe Di Savoia

Address: Piazza della Repubblica 17, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Milan
#4 Business Hotel in Milan
#5 Family Hotel in Milan
#5 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#8 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £224 - £673 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Principe Di Savoia 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This spectacular landmark palace has been the natural home for international travellers and cosmopolitan society since the 1920s. Recently refurbished by world-known designers, Hotel Principe di Savoia offers a winning combination of classic Italian design and the latest technology. The famous shopping district is nearby, while the hotel looks directly on the new Porta Nuova business area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Principe Di Savoia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Principe Di Savoia Milan
Principe Di Savoia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing