We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Milan”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We just came back from Milan and stayed 4 nights at Spadari Hotel. We stayed in room 74 on 6th floor overlooking roofs and top of Duomo. Room was good size for 2people with lovely bathroom.
Huge window, quiet room away from elevator. Service great, friendly, accommodating and spoke English. Breakfast buffet sufficient, fresh eggs made to your order.
Hotel location cannot be beaten, 2 steps from Duomo and all the action. We stayed in this hotel before and would stay again. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 74 on 6th floor, quiet, away from elevator, big window overlooking roofs and top of Duomo. Make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bartekToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,162 - 1,168 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2012

The satff, the rooms and the service in this hotel could not be faulted. We spent 5 days here and each time we came into the hotel we were greeted by the front desk staff and welcomed back. The breakfast room staff were efficient and friendly No better place to stay

Room Tip: Rooms not on street side quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank claude64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

It's difficult to improve upon what has already been said by other reviewers but having traveled Italy extensively for the past twenty years, it is always diffucult to find affordable and accomodating hotels in the inner city. The Spadari is right around the corner from the Duomo and it is within walking distance of aundant shopping and great restaurants. The staff was particularly accommodating and the breakfast was terrific.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alsal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Staff is extremely friendly & helpful. Hotel was quiet, very clean, spacious rooms, comfortable beds and plenty of linens. Check in/out is very quick. Breakfast is good and the free bottled water was a huge plus. Wifi is free and worked well but yes there are limited outlets in the room. If you can the upgrade to a balcony room it is worth it (not cause you have a view but makes the room more spacious & nice to have outdoor seating). The hotel is centrally located which makes it easy to get to local attraction & has many restaurants surrounding it. Subway stop is a short block away but it is easy enough to walk to most other areas. Easy to get to from MXP (30 minute train to Cadorna station & either 5-7 minute cab ride (10 euro) or transfer to subway).

Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
2  Thank lymac2400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

I can only agree with all of the superlatives written about this hotel, and to mention just a few outstanding features. It is within walking distance of all of the major art galleries and La Scala. For instance, Ambrosiana with the Raphael cartoons is two minutes away. Non-alcoholic drinks in the minibar are free. The linen closets are easily accessible and one is welcome to simply take extra towels if needed. Fresh juice accompanies breakfast. The computer, a good MAC, can be used without charge. Every staff member is friendly, courteous, and efficient.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at Hotel Spadari for 5 nights between a week at Lake Como and flying home. We can confirm all that previous positive reviewers have advised. We arrived shortly after 1pm and were offered coffee, water and also provided with a pastry each while the reception staff finalised our check in and checked to see our room was ready, which it was.

In summary:
- The room was very clean, and the bathroom really modern and quite large, and a separate shower. We had a superior room, number 45, at the back of the building (no scenic view, but we knew this when we booked from the room type we selected) and really quiet.
- Good range of drinks in the mini bar, non alcoholic ones included in our package.
- The range at Breakfast was good, hot food made to order (eggs, bacon, mushroom and lovely sweet cherry tomatoes), a range of pastries, including filled and plain croissants, fruit salad, yogurt, cold prosciutto and ham, cheeses, toast and cereals. Coffees also made to order and included if you have the breakfast package.
- Staff were great and couldn't do enough to assist with transfers and other queries, or with service in the breakfast room.
- 2 minute walk to Duomo, Designer shopping and Via Dante (restaurants), plenty of key Tram route stops also within 1-2 minutes, such as trams to Last Supper, Canal district and running past Brera (which is actually walking distance if you aren't too tired from sight seeing).
- We had cappuccinos in our room on two nights, delivered from the kitchen at a great price.

The mattress was firm, but no more so than other hotels we stayed with in Italy.

We recommend the hotel without hesitation. We'd stay again.

Just note that in August many of the smaller shops are closed for holidays, e.g. the unique shops in the Brera district. Also, some of the bars and restaurants we had earmarked to try we're also closed. However, we knew this could be the case from advance research, and there were plenty of other options open. If you are traveling in August and have a specific shop/restaurant you want to visit, I'd suggest checking with them in advance on opening times and dates.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Dinks93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We spent one night at the Spadari Hotel prior to returning home after a bike trip in the Lakes district. The staff were really terrific; they were very helpful in making a dinner recommendation and reservation for us and arranging a private car for the trip to Malpensa airport the following morning. The serving staff were also very helpful and friendly. The complimentary breakfast was excellent and the staff offered items not on display (why do scrambled eggs taste so much better in Italy?). The location is perfect, a short two blocks from the center of everything, but located in a quiet area. The rooms are soundproof and the bed was excellent. This was our first trip through Milan, and we didn't plan enough time because we didn't know how much there was to see in Milan. We'll be back and we'll certainly stay at the Spadari again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ed 'n Sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
725 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,083 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 428 in Milan
1,745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 428 in Milan
1,400 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £206 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing