We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not disappointed” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
222 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 165 helpful votes
“Not disappointed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Booking hotels on-line can be a trial, all too often the pictures and the descriptions can be misleading, usually suspiciously seductive, sometimes surprisingly off-putting. In the case of the Spadari the moment we saw it we knew it was the one we wanted.

Located wonderfully close to the centre of Milan, it is intimate, stylish and comfortable. The staff were welcoming, charming and helpful – the latter ideal when it comes to finding and booking restaurants in a strange city.

Though situated in the old part of the city, the interior is modern and something of show place for contemporary art and design. It feels a little like a branch of the nearby Museo del Novecentro. If the painting on our bedroom wall was not exactly restful, the work displayed elsewhere made up for it.

The painting apart (and that’s highly personal judgement) the room was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was well appointed. No problems with inadequate pillows here. Soft drinks and savouries in the mini bar were free. There was personal safe. And a nice touch: a beautifully produced complementary little book of two short stories.

The lounge is relaxing and leads into the dining room. Breakfasts were excellent with an extensive savoury and sweet cold buffet; hot dishes were cooked to order. A table was laid with fruit and biscuits to grazing during the day. Early evening drinks came with generous dishes of nuts, olives and crisps.

The perfect place to stay. The web site definitely has it right and we were not disappointed.

Room Tip: Front rooms have a view over the street. Sound insulation is good, so there is no disturbance from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian_Human
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,488
    380
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
324
981
106
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

i thought Spadari was my secret discovery, a magnificent boutique hotel right off Piazza Duomo, until I just noticed it is #2 on the Milan list , LOL. Oh,well, the secret is obviously out. I have been here repeatedly, always for the unbeatable location, as well as for the ambiance and the exquisite service, which this time included reserving railway tickets and packaging and mailing out cumbersome objects (no charge except postage due). This year our visit fell on Fashion week and the whole was full of fashionistas. Prices were at their maximum but we scored a giant room , 2 beds and a couch, with a perfect view of Spadari street below and great art on the wall in front of our eyes. Art is everywhere at Spadari and do ask to hear about the hotel's founder and history. Breakfast is the best of Milan's gourmet delicacies , and we noticed the breakfast area expanded from the last visit. Don't miss the famous Peck gormet next door, great for an elegant lunch upstairs (we just saw a branch of Peck's in Tokyo at Takashimaya), as well as all other food emporiums around, can't miss. It was fashion circus all around as soon as we stepped out the door from Spadari, Galeria Vittorio Emanuele and the Duomo piazza are just around the corner, and we could not have had a better stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salem, MA.
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

This is the place to stay to see the sights in Milan. Literally a minute walk to the Duomo. The staff is great, all their recommendations were spot on. The breakfast is very nice. The room was quiet and comfortable, though nothing outstanding.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rometohongkong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We were delighted with the hotel. The staff had spent a great of time with us prior to our arrival, including finding the perfect New Year's Eve restaurant. Breakfast was delicious and everyone was extremely professional and accommodating. We have been fortunate to travel extensively and can say that this a special place! We look forward to returning and would not hesitate to recommend it to anyone,

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nisba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013

I spent a long weekend recently in Milan and chose Spadari al Duomo based on Tripadvisor reviews and comparing prices of hotels available.

The location was even better than I had imagined. Duomo practically across the corner, shops and restaurants in the vicinity.

Staff was very friendly and accommodating.

Breakfast selection was not that extensive perhaps but everything offered was of high quality and delicious.

The room was slightly on the small side but during a rather short stay this was not a problem.

Soft drinks (water, juice, cola...) from the minibar were offered free of charge which was a nice surprise.

The property itself is beginning to look a bit old and I do hope they will have the opportunity to modernise the rooms within the next couple of years. I usually appreciate a more modern and "fresh" look.

Milan being an expensive city I feel the hotel met my expectations and that it is something I can recommend.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank synnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2013

agree with previous reviews. 3 of us stayed here for 2 nights on arriving after 24h flight from Australia. were able to get our room very early (10am). desk staff was fantastic during the whole stay. we couldnt register for BikeMi using the english version website so the staff helped us use the italian webpages.
buffet breakfast was superb with excellent service, ham cheese and pastries from Peck next door. room was small-ish for 3 people but adequate, and definitely 4+ star comfort with large bathroom. room service was great. location was amazing a few seconds to duomo (and Mcdonalds for 14yo son), nearby Via Torino excellent for supermarket (near FNAC) and less touristy/ pricey restaurants. this was our 2nd trip to Milan in 12 months and would def. return to this hotel because of location and wonderful staff (all areas).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gohawks23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
412 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location - very close to the Duomo. All the staff were extremely helpful and breakfast was a treat. The room featured a comfortable bed, satellite tv and amazing shower - including a waterfall feature!

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Tom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#6 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,531 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Property: Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing