We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over rated hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Me and my wife just return from Europe winter vacation . We choose Spadari al Duomo Milan hotel after reading a highly credited hotel with 95% fine rating and the no. 2 best recommonded hotel in Milan , Italy.

The room was clean, reception was nice , the breakfast are presented with good quality foods but just only with limited choice . The room was too small with a tiny shower room. There is a big ( half rounded bath tube ) in the toilet. It looks grand but there is no bath salts provided if you wish to enjoy a warm bath relaxation. So, it is just good for looking and a waste of previous space. I just can not imaging how can you stand and take your shower in the extra tiny shower room if your size was big as mostly American and European have,.

The hotel was claimed as " 4 stars " properties. If you compare with 4stars hotels in Asia. You would automatically increase the rating of 4 stars Asian hotel to 5 stars . The stars rating was over rated.

They charge our room for almost Eur. 300 / night . This is of course an over rated charge as well if you rate this hotel from the low winter season and the quality of this hotel.

The only positive point of this hotel is the location , which is near to Duomo and other tourist spots.

Finally, it is really over rated if Tripadvisor classifed this hotel as the number 2 best hotel in Milan.

Room Tip: Book only if you need a convenience location and shopping and when the room charge was reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julchenyh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,150)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 2,150 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

This is a gem of a hotel in Milan: unbeatable location, very friendly and courteous staff, lovely rooms, excellent food, decent price. The breakfast buffet is especially wonderful, with fresh fruit juices, and great cheese and ham from Peck's which is just next door. We will stay again next time we visit Milan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kongski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

I stayed 5 nights in June as part of a business trip. Location was just perfect, very close to the Duomo and Gallerie Vittorio Emannuelle, la Scala and all the main attractions.The staff was very friendly and gave practical tips and recommendations as to places to visit, restaurants, etc. Very good breakfast and nice lounge. My room was small with a modern, neat design. Will book it again next time I visit Milano.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Iris Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This is our second time that we have stayed at Hotel Spadari al Duomo. Perfectly located within a short walk to the Duomo. The staff are really friendly, the rooms spacious, comfortable and modern. We'll be back in Milan again, so booking here again will be a 'no-brainer'! Enjoy your stay. It's amazing!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JockPrivateGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this comfortable hotel just minutes from Duomo. Helpful and friendly staff, great breakfast and not far from Via Montenapoleone and tearo La Scala. Everything was within walking distance. It is a very nice boutique hotel suitable for business or leisure.
The rooms were spacious, clean and it was quiet at night. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank josh m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January, this hotels appears to be very modest upon entry in the foyer, but the rooms were such a surprise, large and spacious with great bathrooms, ours had a double rain shower.

The location is perfect only 3 minutes walk to il Duomo and Gallerie Vittorio Emanuale II.
With lots of museum nearby.
Via Montenapoleone is only a 20 minutes walk.

Breakfast is excellent, with great service, good food and fresh squeezed orange juice.
the front desk staff is very helpful and vert friendly, and many thanks to Leticia, who gave us some great tips for where to eat.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marina88-60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2014

The beautiful small hotel 3 min walk from Fairy-tale Duomo and the majestic Galleria Vittorio Emmanuele II, not far from the famous Alla Scala and Leonardo da Vinci Monument, 10 min. walk from Sforza Castle. A lot of cafes, trattoria, pizzeria and restaurants are situated in the nearest area (I reccommend to try Tiramissu in pasticceria left from the hotel - fantastic taste, and you can buy some sweet souvenirs there as well). The hotel itself is very cosy. Small tidy rooms, well-equipped bathroom with all the facilities incl robes and sleepers. A bit noisy if you are going to stay in the New Year' Night - everybody celebrates, it's natural, but the other nights everything was just great! The staff is marvelous - precise, careful, obliging, helpful and very-very-very respectful. The breakfast is great - hundred types of eggs, fruits (even strawberry in winter), vegetabes, sweets, jam, honey, cereal, appetizers etc. Free mineral and sweet water, coffee, tea, snacks and fruits all day and night long. Our New Year Holidays were marvelous in this hotel!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alla90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 427 in Milan
721 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 427 in Milan
1,082 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 427 in Milan
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 427 in Milan
1,399 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £203 - £366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing