We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Vantaa, Finland
Level Contributor
100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great location, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The hotel is very centrally located, only around two blocks from the Duomo square. This is naturally reflected on the room rates, which aren't cheap (but still in line with other central hotels in the city). So expectations were quite high; but I really tried to think of something negative to say or something that went wrong during our 4 night stay, but really could not think of anything.

We had the special room on the top floor (7th) that overlooks the Duomo and Galleria. It does not have an elevator service all the way to the top, instead it goes to the sixth floor but walking the few steps is not a problem, especially when the staff had arranged our bags to the room while we were scouting the city. The advertised views from this "penthouse" room are nice, but nothing to die for. You can see the top of Duomo, which especially in night lighting is great, but there is one a bit taller building blocking parts of the view. The other room choice would be a lower room with a small balcony which can be also nice - it does not have the views but you can have your breakfast on the balcony. In my mind you can't go wrong with either of those, depending on what you like since the prices were nearly identical.

The rooms are not that large, but not that small either. We had enough space for two persons, though some more space to lay down the suitcases would be needed since I usually do not fully unpack on these few night stays (lazy..). The decor of the rooms (ours at least) is perhaps a bit gloomy and dark like others have suggested, but to my eye it didn't bother - perhaps it is just in a bit of a contrast to other modern hotels with light and minimalistic design (but yes, in a few years some minor renovations are needed in this hotel too).

There was absolutely zero noise in our room, nothing from outside nor from other rooms. There was also an adjustable a/c unit available and you could choose the exact temperature and cooling mode you wanted (though for some an explanation of the remote controller's symbols would be needed, I was familiar with that). Bed was comfy and room was well cleaned.

One thing worth mentioning is the free minibar service. All non-alcoholic drinks are free - you have a set of colas, waters and juices that are refreshed each day. Very good when you walk around the city and need a drink. For your own additional drinks bought from the city, if any, the minibar is unfortunately a tad small.

The breakfast service is a typical Italian one with only cold items available, but still very ample. The kitchen staff does make you a great omelette (with toppings of your choice) upon request. But I would actually compliment the breakfast and especially the service here - the ladies at the breakfast service were very welcoming each morning and very fast to deliver what ever you wanted to have. Special diets also taken care of very nicely. The breakfast area is not that large, but there are not that many rooms either so it really wasn't crowded on any day, even though the hotel was nearly full. Note that since this is a small hotel, there are no other facilities available for the guests apart from breakfast and a small computer corner.

Otherwise too the staff was very nice an helpful, though we didn't need to bother them that much since the in-room Wifi worked without problems and internet is the best friend of modern traveller these days. Connection was fast enough to watch some movies late night too. (there were a plenty of TV channels, also in English, but you can't beat Netflix ;) ).

Reaching the hotel from Malpensa airport is easy with the Malpensa Express train (30 minutes). It goes to the Cadorna station where you will have a 15-20 minute walk which is no problem at all if your luggage isn't very big. You can also take the subway from the station to central (á 1 eur, Malpensa Express ticket is NOT valid in subway).

Anyway, if you wish to stroll around the city and your budget is not the tightest possible then stay here.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SPu-FI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,486
    380
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
324
979
106
206
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

The Hotel Spadari was our first place to stay on our first Italy trip and we are very pleased. The overall service was excellent as the staff was very kind and helpful. The complementary breakfast was one of our best ever. Our room was extremely clean and the shower simply wonderful to use after a warm humid day touring about. The price of stay was met with equal value.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ccmarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

This was a great experience. Although the hotel is 4 star it is better than some 5 star hotels we stayed at. The rooms are so large in comparison to other European hotels. Breakfast was amazing. Luxury everywhere. The location is ubeatable.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank darijaognjenovic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
294 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

We started our 3 weeks in Italy by first staying here for 3 nights. It was wonderful. Wife and I loved our comfortable room and bed and they set the bed for our 21 year old daughter which was quite comfortable. Only slight negative was that sometimes the wifi was a challenge to connect during what I assume were peak periods. The room as pretty and large. We loved the breakfast which is included, wonderful each morning. All staff were extremely friendly and helpful in suggestions for dinner, gaining taxi service, any questions on location, etc. Location is great as you are so close to the Duomo, subway, etc. We would certainly stay here again if we were in Milan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ivytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2014

The location of the Hotel Spadari is excellent, and the staff are very nice and helpful, but I was quite disappointed in the room. It was very dark. The lights highlighted the artwork, but did not really light the room enough for me. There was no place to store our clothes except a small cabinet with hangers. Since there was no drawer space, we had to live out of our suitcases while we were there. The bed was okay, but I am used to luxury beds, and luxury hotels. This is not a luxury hotel. The furniture is pretty well worn, and not very comfortable. The only mirror was in the bathroom, and that was not easy to use for makeup and hair arranging. Once again, the location, and staff are a plus, but there are much more comfortable hotel rooms in Milan.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OldCritical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Spadari al Duomo is an excellent place: the rooms are clean and the bed and the pillows very comfortable.
The breakfast is complete and complimentary, as well as the soft drinks. Bruna and Mara, including the whole staff, are great!
Few steps to the Duomo, Galleria Vittorio Emanuele II and the subway station. A lot of restaurants and cafes nearby.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rafa_BR2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Great location, couldn´t be better, near Duomo, and Galeria Vittorio Emanuele. Nice places to eat around and also in the same block or across the street.
Very cozy hotel.
The executive room is very nice, as well as the bathroom.
Breakfast is great, it really makes the difference.
All in all, for me is the best place to stay in Milan.

Room Tip: I´ve been in a superior room and it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth11111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#1 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 493 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#6 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#5 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,524 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Property: Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing