We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, District of Columbia, District of Columbia, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
Reviewed 1 September 2014

I stayed at the Spadari for one night. I was on my way back home from a conference in Switzerland, and had to leave from Malpensa the following morning. I chose the Spadari because it was very well ranked on trip advisors, had very good reviews, and was still at a reasonable price. The hotel was a wonderful choice. Location is excellent (less than 4 minutes walk to the Duomo). Although the hotel is very small, the staff has been very helpful and pleasant. The bed was very comfortable and I loved the equipment in the bathroom. The room was also very clean (trust me on that, that is an important factor to me ;-). My room did not have much light, which was definitely a minus. The balcony was not useful to me because (i) when you are in Milan you want to be outside whenever you can--especially if you just stay one day--to see the city and meet its residents, and (ii) little light, so the balcony was not that pleasant (although nicely quiet) to me anyway. I would say the same about the breakfast area, the room is tiny, and there is no light / no view. I would much rather have had breakfast outside (complimentary breakfast is useless). All in all, however, I highly recommend it. It is a lovely hotel and I will stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Estelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,951 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,504
    382
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
330
990
106
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

All these other reviewers aren't kidding when they talk about great service here. The people at the front desk went above and beyond when pointing out places where we could visit or eat. In particular, Letizia was extremely helpful and cheerful. As for the hotel itself, it has a strikingly modern lobby and a spacious and appealing breakfast area. The design elements carry over to the rooms. One thing that must be noted is that there is some outre artwork in the rooms, corridors, and stairways, which at times gave some guests pause. Our room was modern but with a couple of issues, one of which they graciously discounted the room price for. We had a small terrace from which we could see the top of the Duomo, although it was a bit buggy in the summer and you couldn't close the terrace door completely behind you lest it lock you out. The location is excellent - a very short stroll to the Duomo or Metro. It's a pretty expensive hotel, but we thought it was worth it.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ems_jls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
109 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2014

If you want to be close to the centre of the City (<200 meters to Duomo) but in an area of calm away from the tourists, this is ideal. Hotel has the 'style' factor that Milan is famous for. The artwork will keep you interested - someone has taken a lot of care about the fit out of the hotel. Our room overlooked street - great to watch what was going by, could open windows, but double glazing eliminates all the noise if you don't want the atmosphere. Staff excellent and have language skills to make English speakers very comfortable. Breakfast is fine, and small bar and lounge area perfect for a break. The little street where the hotel is located has a lot to offer - right next door is the best food emporium in northern Italy.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel doesn't look much from the outside but it is a little gem. The location is fantastic - just around the corner from Duomo square but the staff are the stars of the show here. Helpful and friendly from the moment I booked, the girls made sure the room was exactly what I wanted (I traveled with my mother who likes a balcony and view), provided me with a list of options for restaurants and booked us in for dinner once I'd made my choices.

The breakfast was a quality spread with eggs made to order and served with a smile. The day before departure the girls checked the train times for us and booked and printed off our tickets - nothing was too much trouble. They made us feel so welcome and really did make our stay extremely comfortable and relaxing. The only minor downsides were the lack of bottles water and that the wifi logged me out every time my screen locked. At least it worked though, I came to learn that wifi in Italy is consistently poor.

The room (62) was lovely, comfortable with a very modern bathroom and a small balcony from which you can see the top spike of the Duomo (I did think you may be able to see a bit more of it from the description). I would definitely stay here again when in Milan.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CandyMountain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Lovely hotel on a quaint street with beautiful shops. Great location and super value. Staff is extremely friendly and very helpful. Our room was smallish but we had a charming balcony. Will definitely come back.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hwatkins1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2014

We stayed here for one night after Lake Como and before flying home. The location was perfect for our needs, just a few minutes walk from the Duomo, the Last Supper, and the shopping district. The property was just a three minute or so walk from the Duomo metro station (M3, i think). The staff was super friendly and helpful. We were shown our room options before deciding- we didn't have a reservation, just saw online that they had availability and showed up.

The room, number 53, was a decent size, though not huge. It had a balcony overlooking the back of the hotel. To make it more appealing, it was planted with greenery and plants. The bathroom was a very good size and the amenities were very well thought out. In addition to the usual soaps, robe and slippers, there were toiletries kits and even hair ties.

Breakfast was included and consisted of cold meats and cheeses, fruit, yogurt, cereal, breads and baked goods, as well as eggs and omelettes made to your liking. The breakfast staff was very attentive.

The front desk staff was very helpful in recommending things to see around Milan, as well as places to eat.

If you are headed to Malpensa from the hotel, you should know it is a 5 minute taxi to the Malpensa Express train station. It was a very easy transfer. The train from that location is just under 40 minutes, and you are guaranteed not to hit traffic. Conversely, if you prefer a taxi, it is a flat rate 90 euro from Milan to Malpensa (train/taxi combo was approx 40 euro)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycadventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
89 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

The Hotel Spadari, as is the case with most European tourist cities, is expensive.

Finding the hotel is an adventure. Be prepared, if driving to take the odd one-way street the wrong way.

Rooms are fair size and fair condition. Lift is small. wW were on 4th floor and Mrs1960 was on a get fit kick, so we used the stairs. Large bed. Firm enough to give good nights sleep to one with a bad back.

Breakfast's very good indeed. Lots of choice and everything fresh. All nations present.

Location for Doumo and city centre brilliant. Recommendations for dinner from staff turned out pretty good.

No real criticisms, but for the cost. Would consider returning altho' a little underwhelmed by Milan. Florence is prettier.

Room Tip: Try and get a deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank timbo1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#10 of 431 in Milan
284 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
1,549 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#11 of 431 in Milan
1,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Property: Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing