We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice staff, nice room, nice area, great city.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice staff, nice room, nice area, great city.”
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We splurged and got one of the two special suites the hotel offers - ours was the upstairs downstairs unit at the back of the hotel. It was nice enough - very well appointed and quiet as it was off the street completely (though I'm guessing even front side rooms are quiet at night). However, honestly the design was a bit too much form over function for me. A massive wall of windows made for beautiful natural light during the day but left you feeling on display at night as only the bedroom had full curtains - the living room just had sheers. Oddly, the upstairs section is used for a massive bathroom - which I'm not sure I gathered from the website. To me it would have made more sense to put the bedroom upstairs and the massive bathroom down but either way - you had two water closets, and large soaker tub and a walk-in shower so one can't complain. The sofa and chair were decorative but not easy to be comfortable in. The hotel staff were fantastic - very helpful and knowledgeable. Morning breakfast was great - lots of selection - great tasting, and served daily until 11am which is so nice when on vacation - no running down stairs to get breakfast that ends at 9am or some crazy business traveler time. You can't beat the location - steps from the Piazza Duomo and a million great shops. Long story short - when I go back to Milan (and hopefully that's soon), I'll be staying at the Hotel Spadari again.

Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sector9Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,503
    382
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
329
990
106
209
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I cannot stress enough how gracious and kind every single hotel proprietor in Italy was because my husband and I received unsolicited complimentary upgrades at all five of the hotels in which we stayed. Hotel Spadari al Duomo was no different.

Milan was our last stop on our honeymoon, and I have to say that the front desk clerk made it extremely memorable. From the moment we arrived, she went out of her way to insure that we were happy. She mentioned they had their penthouse suite free and upgraded us on the spot . Then when we said we absolutely did not want a touristy dinner but somewhere authentic, she recommended her favorite restaurant in her own neighborhood, a dinner spot off of the beaten path (which reminded us so much of our beloved West Village home in NYC..but even better because the streets were closed to traffic). When we arrived back to the hotel on our last night and discovered the hotel bar was closed, we heard a knock at our door only five minutes later. A bellman was standing there with a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne. "For the last night of your honeymoon and your last night in our country." It was truly a stunning gesture. I would recommend this hotel one thousand times over. The staff and the atmosphere were like a dream.

  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank militantmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Great location, fair price, great room and bathroom and fantastic front desk. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
91 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2009

An arty but friendly small hotel. Stayed three nights. Not cheap, but has a lot of modern artwork and painting, all in a blue background, nicely representative of a very image conscious city. Close to the Duomo. Next door to Peck, a fancy enoteca and deli. Breakfasts are included, and nicely appointed. Internet in lobby.

Front desk helped us book a concert, and find a restaurant on the Saturday before Easter (which wasn't easy). Couldn't help locate a self-service laundry (there aren't any nearby). All are quite English conversant.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scsilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Good location, very close to duomo, but not right across duomo so there wont be too much of the noisy traffic at night. Its about 1-2 mins walk to Duomo, the hotel is located right next to PECK ( this supermarket thing), and is easily accessible to taxi's and tram.

Nothing to complain, the hotel is very new, modern, the wall is blue and is very comfortable feeling. The receiptionists are very very nice, good english and good recommendations. Free internet and the rooms are quite spacious. The only thing to mention is that the housekeeping is a bit not organized. The bin was left on top of my suitcase after cleaning and i guess she forgotten to place it back on the floor... the tooth brush n other things in the toilet were all misplaced.. etc etc. but thats not a big problem.

everything else is perfect! oh the breakfast and the service lady was veryyy great and nice !
love the hotel!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jwylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2009

Hotel have excellent location few minutes from Duomo.
Before check in ( we get the room early morning ) they offer us welcome drink ( best capuccino what we had ). Stuff is very helpful and nice. By the booking, we ask for nice room, because of weddind anniversary. We have king size room with special shower. This room was very nice, bathroom was amazing. When we went from the city centre in the afternoon, we had in the room bottle of sparkling wine and strawberries. This was very nice surprise for us :)
Breakfast is also perfectly,with a lot of parma ham.
I highly recommend this hotel to everyone, who want to stay in perfect hotel, with perfect service.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HanaPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2,801 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We stayed for three nights at the Spadari to attend a conference and for some leisure time. It was the perfect choice. The greeting was friendly and super-efficient; we were offerred drinks whilst we awaited the servicing of our room for ten minutes - it was a very early check-in. We had a room (No. 74) on the top floor as requested, looking over rooftops towards the Duomo, with the Alps in the distance. The eight foot bed was brilliant as was the bathroom and sitting area.
Room service and breakfast was faultless. Highly recommeded. Should be Numero Uno.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CIARB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 431 in Milan
527 reviews
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#10 of 431 in Milan
284 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 431 in Milan
1,016 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
1,548 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#11 of 431 in Milan
1,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Property: Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing