We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #2 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2009

Wow. What a great hotel. This is a prime location. Peck is right next door, as well as many other great restaurants. Don’t forget that Il Duomo is just around the corner, as well as La Scala Opera House. The rooms were decent size and the best A/C of any of the other hotels we stayed in during our visit. The beds were comfortable, but I would recommend bringing your own pillow if you want something softer to put your head on. The bath and shower were fantastic. The breakfasts were very good, but my one little pet peeve: Don’t order the soft boiled eggs. The whites of our eggs weren’t fully cooked. Maybe it’s a European thing, but we couldn’t eat it. All of our other breakfast choices were great, and I knew a soft boiled egg was a risk.

For a great meal in Milan, here’s a hint (I won’t publish the name of the restaurant for selfish reasons): Ask Natalie at the front desk for a recommendation for great Tuscan food. I hope she recommends the same place she recommended to us.

This brings me to another point: The staff at this hotel can’t be beat. They are extremely courteous and very helpful. We had a viewing for The Last Supper on our arrival and our train was 30 minutes late. Thanks to a great cab driver and a very attentive staff at Hotel Spadari we were able to check in with all of our bags (four adults, two rooms) and make our reservation with plenty of time to spare. If the Hotel Spadari staff hadn’t been so attentive, we may not have made it (the cabbie can’t be understated in his help either).

You can stay at a more expensive hotel in Milan, but you won’t stay at a better one than the Hotel Spadari. Thanks again to Natalie for all of her help with our stay. The whole staff was great, but Natalie was a standout among giants. Good job Hotel Spadari.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Snoweman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,478 - 1,484 of 2,191 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2009

Stayed for 3 nights during temperatures of over 30 degrees. Had a great stay at this small stylish hotel. Firstly it is located very centrally but in a quiet elgant street. All the staff were extremely helpful and friendly from the arrival where they sorted us a quiet room (despite being full ) and arranged a coffee during the short wait for our room The rooms themselves are modern and well designed with excellent showers extremely comfortable beds and top quality linen The air conditioning was also very efficient and quiet and made a huge difference given the heat . Breakfast along with all soft drinks was included in the price and was also of a good quality and variety . If i could have a minor quibble i would suggest that they offer a softer pillow option as the pillows were firm and also perhaps a toaster so guests could make some proper toast . These are however minor quibbles as we found this hotel one of the nicest hotels we have styed in for a long time

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chris p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2009

We splurged and got one of the two special suites the hotel offers - ours was the upstairs downstairs unit at the back of the hotel. It was nice enough - very well appointed and quiet as it was off the street completely (though I'm guessing even front side rooms are quiet at night). However, honestly the design was a bit too much form over function for me. A massive wall of windows made for beautiful natural light during the day but left you feeling on display at night as only the bedroom had full curtains - the living room just had sheers. Oddly, the upstairs section is used for a massive bathroom - which I'm not sure I gathered from the website. To me it would have made more sense to put the bedroom upstairs and the massive bathroom down but either way - you had two water closets, and large soaker tub and a walk-in shower so one can't complain. The sofa and chair were decorative but not easy to be comfortable in. The hotel staff were fantastic - very helpful and knowledgeable. Morning breakfast was great - lots of selection - great tasting, and served daily until 11am which is so nice when on vacation - no running down stairs to get breakfast that ends at 9am or some crazy business traveler time. You can't beat the location - steps from the Piazza Duomo and a million great shops. Long story short - when I go back to Milan (and hopefully that's soon), I'll be staying at the Hotel Spadari again.

Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sector9Boy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2009

I cannot stress enough how gracious and kind every single hotel proprietor in Italy was because my husband and I received unsolicited complimentary upgrades at all five of the hotels in which we stayed. Hotel Spadari al Duomo was no different.

Milan was our last stop on our honeymoon, and I have to say that the front desk clerk made it extremely memorable. From the moment we arrived, she went out of her way to insure that we were happy. She mentioned they had their penthouse suite free and upgraded us on the spot . Then when we said we absolutely did not want a touristy dinner but somewhere authentic, she recommended her favorite restaurant in her own neighborhood, a dinner spot off of the beaten path (which reminded us so much of our beloved West Village home in NYC..but even better because the streets were closed to traffic). When we arrived back to the hotel on our last night and discovered the hotel bar was closed, we heard a knock at our door only five minutes later. A bellman was standing there with a complimentary chilled bottle of champagne. "For the last night of your honeymoon and your last night in our country." It was truly a stunning gesture. I would recommend this hotel one thousand times over. The staff and the atmosphere were like a dream.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank militantmuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2009

Great location, fair price, great room and bathroom and fantastic front desk. Nothing negative to say. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jersey1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2009

An arty but friendly small hotel. Stayed three nights. Not cheap, but has a lot of modern artwork and painting, all in a blue background, nicely representative of a very image conscious city. Close to the Duomo. Next door to Peck, a fancy enoteca and deli. Breakfasts are included, and nicely appointed. Internet in lobby.

Front desk helped us book a concert, and find a restaurant on the Saturday before Easter (which wasn't easy). Couldn't help locate a self-service laundry (there aren't any nearby). All are quite English conversant.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scsilveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Good location, very close to duomo, but not right across duomo so there wont be too much of the noisy traffic at night. Its about 1-2 mins walk to Duomo, the hotel is located right next to PECK ( this supermarket thing), and is easily accessible to taxi's and tram.

Nothing to complain, the hotel is very new, modern, the wall is blue and is very comfortable feeling. The receiptionists are very very nice, good english and good recommendations. Free internet and the rooms are quite spacious. The only thing to mention is that the housekeeping is a bit not organized. The bin was left on top of my suitcase after cleaning and i guess she forgotten to place it back on the floor... the tooth brush n other things in the toilet were all misplaced.. etc etc. but thats not a big problem.

everything else is perfect! oh the breakfast and the service lady was veryyy great and nice !
love the hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jwylam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#3 of 430 in Milan
778 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 430 in Milan
1,094 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Chateau Monfort
#9 of 430 in Milan
1,510 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#2 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £193 - £290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing