We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2009

Stayed two nights on business and found this hotel just perfect. Charming, helpful staff, no unnecessary fuss and very nice, quiet rooms at the back of the hotel. The location is great, very near the Duomo, La Scala, shopping etc. Lovely breakfast, and very good value for money. Thoroughly recommended for business or a holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,114)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spadari al Duomo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,404 - 1,410 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2009

This hotel is wonderful. The staff is mulit-lingual and could not be nicer or more helpful. The breakfast is AMAZING and included in the price of your room. They have, eggs (made to order), ham, cheeses, cereal, etc. This "boutique" hotel is truly a refreshing "family owned" business that cares about its customers. Clean, comfortable and a really nice find. I recommend a room with a balcony, it's nice to step out and look over the spire of Duomo and the street below. You can't miss with this little gem!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beaniehurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2009

Stayed two nights in August. Very modern hotel, samll rooms but all mod cons, right next to the duomo. Air conditioning which was essential was superb. Nice balacony with view of duomo spires. Small breakfast room with adequate food included in price

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

This hotel stay was great from the beginning. Be mindful, the Spadari is a small hotel, with only 36 rooms. However, the staff is far better than many of the larger hotels where I have stayed. The only downside is the elevator, which is quite small, and can only accommodate 3-4 persons. Everything else was wonderful, from the room accommodations, to the bathroom furnishings, to the morning breakfast and complimentary mini-bar items, and the free wi-fi access and complimentary use of the computer and printer in the lobby. Besides, you are only two short blocks from the heart of Milan, the Duomo, two underground lines and at least ten street car and bus lines. As a matter of fact, the number 19 street car stops in front of the hotel.
Dinner options are plentiful, from the golden arches, to cafes and bistros, to a wonderful high-end deli next door to the hotel, to all other sorts of eating establishments. Plus, shopping is right outside the hotel, around the corner, and in the general and wide vicinity. Since it's in the middle of the tourist center, the shop prices are not the best. If you walk 10-15 minutes or take the underground, street car, or a taxi, you will have better prices and shopping options. The staff speaks perfect English, and is willing to teach you some Italian phrases, if you'd like. Ask for Mateo at the front desk. He was most helpful. Milan is a walking city and the location of this hotel couldn't be better.

Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank dangerpre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2009

We arrived in a heat wave. 95 degrees at the Duomo. I was so hot i could cry. The hotel room was cold, air conditioning was great and staff was great especially Julie.
The bed was sooooooooooo comfy, nice linens and pillows.
We had a fine experience.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolamia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2009

arrived saturday 15th. was expecting great things due to reviews read in advance. Room supposed to be a superior...........cant see why really! Overlooking main street so quite noisy and beside lift shaft. What concerned me the most was the smell of damp in the room and the constant flow of water from what seemed like a cistern. Damp patch on outside room wall also. Complained the next day.Receptionist said she knew nothing of it.
Breakfast room MINUTE and reminded me of a canteen...........one long bench on one side and very cramped. A private conversation out of the question! Breakfast ok but not enough choice.
I note fellow travellers thought service excellent.............depends what we mean by service.If it means someone at the reception class saying good morning and good evening well fair enough but I didnt feel it had the professional touch I am used to. The manager did not approcah me re the damp or loss of sleep from cistern flow. Many travellers complained to him re the cramped breakfast room and having to queue to get in! Also no welcome pack............................in a city such as this a pack with information re public transit system is a taken as essential. Poor service.
Lobby long and small. Couldnt see who was behind reception desk til one approached it.Some nice Art pieces in sitting room area which for two mornings was taken up with people waiting to get in for breakfast !
This hotel is but doable. Avoid room at front and avoid 21 22 23 24 for a start. The lift noise is such an irriitant. The smell of damp in 24 is clearly an issue dispite the hotel saying there wasnt a leak. anywhere.
Location excellent mind you and if you are solely looking for location then this hotel is great. If like me you want more than that then I would ensure you take the rose coloured spectacle reviews and marry then with realisitic ones. This hotel is supposed to be a four star.............in my opinion it is not and it is overpriced to say the least.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank weanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My husband and I were touring Italy and visited 4 cities, staying at 4 different hotels.
We spent one night only in Milan at the Spadari hotel - it was by far the best hotel on our entire trip!
It's location is super; walking distance to all the important attractions, right next to El Duomo, the shopping area, and a metro station is just around the corner.
The staff are very friendly, helpful, always cheerful and smiling, and they all speak English.
The breakfast was delicious and very diverse.
Our room was very spacious and luxurious. The toilet is spotless and comes complete with all the usual accessories plus bathrobe and slippers.
Due to the limited number of rooms in the hotel, it is very cosy and homey, and the staff takes good care of every little detail without being too imposing.
Worth every cent!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nermine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 426 in Milan
693 reviews
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 426 in Milan
1,075 reviews
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 426 in Milan
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
Gran Duca di York
Gran Duca di York
#9 of 426 in Milan
1,371 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £207 - £383 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing