We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous location and extremely helpful staff + free wifi”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Ranked #3 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous location and extremely helpful staff + free wifi”
Reviewed 1 November 2010

This hotel is minutes from the Duomo and the major shopping district in Milan and so ideally located. Moreover, it is right next door to the famous Peck 'food hall' and their two associated restaurants are just across the street (lunch at Italian Bar was fabulous and we bought wine daily from Peck). The reception staff are extremely friendly and helpful and speak excellent English. Their restaurant recommendations were outstanding and all were within easy walking distance. Free wifi and bottled juice and water in rooms very much appreciated. Breakfast excellent.

We stayed in a superior room which was clean, comfortable, but not 'over the top'. Two very minor quibbles associated with the design of the hotel/rooms. Why no towel hooks to hang large bathrobes and towels? An odd omission. Also, soundproofing could be improved as bathroom noise from adjoining rooms could be an irritant for light sleepers.

In summary, an excellent hotel and I would happily stay there again.

One quick additional tip for travelers to Milan, if you want to see Da Vinci's 'The Last Supper' you need to book weeks in advance and so remember to do it before you leave home.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank possiblyaprincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,567
    393
    46
    13
    6
See reviews for
342
1,036
108
214
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville
Level Contributor
119 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

We wanted nice, and we needed close, but not the over the top price that you can get near the Duomo. We absolutely found it in hotel spadari al Duomo. Small to medium sized, friendly, effiecient, multilingual staff. Location 1 1/2 blocks from Duomo plaza on a quiet street- BONUS- right next to the wonderful deli/food mecca Peck! Room was comfortable, reasonably sized for Europe, clean, decor bright but not obtrusive, bathroom good sized. King sized bed (not two twins that keep sliding apart). Breakfast not spectacular, but good, includes eggs if you ask for them. Staff eager to help with directions, map, recommendations. I don't think we could have done better balancing location, quality and price in this area. Would definitely stay here again.
Go the the 7th floor market/cafe of La Rinascente for a treat.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klgmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We have come to rely upon Trip Advisor reviews as a resouce in choosing our hotels, guest houses, etc. Based on the reviews for the hotel and the location we chose Hotel Spadari - we were not disappointed. We had room 53, a king size room with a beautiful garden terrace, that was perfect in the late afternoon to sit on, sip a glass of wine, read a book, write in your journal and reflect on the days exploration of the city. The level of service was excellent from the moment we checked in to when we departed two days later. Breakfast was excellent - you could order eggs whatever way you wished, great croissants, fresh fruit, cereals, juice, coffee, tea - whatever you wished. The hotel decor is very modern, with beautiful art not only in the lobby area, breakfast room but in every single room. Our bathroom was large, with glass blocks on the outside wall that faced on to the terrace which made the bathroom light and airy. Our room was on the back side of the hotel and was exceptionally quiet and the bed extremely comfortable.

Many other reviewers have commented on the location - close to the Duomo, La Scala, the Gallery shopping area, etc. Even closer (almost next door) is 'Peck' gastronomie - a gastronomy experience that you just have to experience - from the wine cellar in the basement floor, to the gourmet meat counters, sea food counters, cheese and deli areas on the first floor to the tea room/delicatessant/wine bar on the third floor. We stopped for a glass of wine, early afternoon, as the lunch crowd arrived to pick up lunch from the delicatessant or to order lunch at one of the many tables. As we sat sipping our wine, the waiter brought us first a sandwich and as i ordered a second glass of wine, olives and crackers - just for us to sample - what class. We had only wished that we had had more time to spend in Milan.

We highly recommend Hotel Spadari - it is the hotel we will stay at the next time we are in Milan.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ErskineLane61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
283 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

Hotel Spadari is very well located within walking distance of many of the main sights of Milan.
Staff are great - enthusiastic, well trained, helpful, friendly. Check in/out was a breeze.
Rooms are very good indeed - best bed/pillows we had in 5 weeks in Italy. Plenty of room, very good bathroom/showers.
Breakfast is good quality, BUT the breakfast area is very small, so be prepared to wait. A better option is to have breakfast in your room.
Excellent free WiFi.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernWanderer0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2010

I had booked this hotel after reading reviews from TripAdvisor and am glad I did.
The hotel was easy to find. I arrived at 7am, way too early to check in. Mara, who was handling the front desk offered to look for an available room for me (there was unfortunately none) and also a cappucino & croissant. I read the newspapers and decided to walk around. Location was central and I walked to Duomo, Castello Sforzesco and the weekend markets easily.
When I came back, my luggage was already in my room. Seeing a takeaway pizza in my hand, Mara sent one of the girls up with cutlery, plate and napkin.
My room is spacious and clean and the bathroom a good size one. The room has a balcony and look into the streets but it was not noisy. I can also see the Madonna on Duomo.
The mini bar has several selection, of which water, juices, soft drinks and chocolates were free.
In the evening, I received fruits and sweets - a nice surprise.
Breakfast was excellent. The ladies working at the breakfast area were efficient and friendly. I ordered scrambled eggs with cheese and mushroom and it turned out to be superb. The buffet selection was small but the quality was good.
I stayed in 4 different hotels in Milan during the same period and readily rates this one as Number 1.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dy1ngy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2010

We were very favorably impressed with our room at Spadari al Duomo. Our queen-size room was quite stylish, with furnishings in a pleasant baby blue (a color one doesn't see frequently at hotels). The style did not detract from either comfort or functionality. The room was also quiet although it overlooked a downtown street. Bathroom was very impressive. Other pleasing features included free wi-fi (which sometimes worked more reliably in the attractive and spacious reception area than in the room) and a variety of free snacks and non-alcoholic drinks from the minibar.
The hotel's location is excellent: two blocks from the Duomo; which, notwithstanding that it is the venue for the city's cathedral, is also a shopping and transit hub.
We found the hotel's staff to be quite helpful. They provided a good recommendation for an excellent reasonably-priced restaurant in a part of the city where most eating establishments tend towards the high-end.
Our sole regret is that we were not able to try the hotel''s breakfast because of our early morning flight.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otberbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2010

Everything is trendy in Milan so as"Spadari Al Duomo" .Rooms are done in beautiful colors with such taste. We stayed in room King size bedded. It was just perfect. Lots of space, good lightning and a wonderful view on the quiet street of Milan. It also had an amazing shower with it's own waterfall in it. Most of the time during our trip we staid at another hotel called "Straf",but when we decided to stay for one more day they were already fully booked.That is how we got to check " Spadari". I fell in love with it and would not look for anything else.Awesome location.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen34438
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
596 reviews
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 428 in Milan
1,623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,046 reviews
Brera
Mandarin Oriental, Milan
Centro Storico
Santa Marta Suites
Santa Marta Suites
#15 of 428 in Milan
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spadari al Duomo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spadari al Duomo

Property: Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Address: Via Spadari,11, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#1 Family Hotel in Milan
#3 Business Hotel in Milan
#3 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Spadari al Duomo 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Spadari al Duomo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spadari Al Duomo Hotel
Spadari Al Duomo Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing