We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall Il Marchesino was good for pre theatre dining.”

Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino
Ranked #32 of 126 Coffee & Tea in Milan
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
Bray-on-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Overall Il Marchesino was good for pre theatre dining.”
Reviewed 12 December 2012

With a performance of La Boheme beckoning at La Scala at 8pm, we had booked at table at the, relatively small, restaurant that bears the name of a 'god father' of Italian (relatively) fine dining, relatively early at 6pm. We were glad we had, because although the restaurant clearly knows how to effectvely service the pre-theatre (mainly non-Italian at that time of day!) diners, it seemed (perhaps unfairly judged) somewhat disorganised but, after all, this is Italy! The restaurant was in fact recommended (for good food and location, adjacent to La Scala) by an Italian (origin), 'high profile' restaurant figure and friend and certainly the food was very good, although the choice of dishes, if you adhere to the pre/post theatre menu was really quite limited and not that exciting. The staff, in particular the maitre d, were friendly, the decor/environment was pleasant and overall Il Marchesino was good for pre theatre dining.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RSSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    127
    71
    53
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A must after an opera or a concert at La Scala theatre”
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We have come back to this restaurant after the summer break. Apparently it is the only place in Milano where to enjoy a late dinner of quality after an opera or a concert at La Scala theatre.
We were welcomed back by the staff and the friendly and exuberant chef Daniel. We dined with a perfect 'Milanese' risotto with safron and fresh steamed cod fish together with a bottle of champenois from Franciacorta. The service was very attentive and polite.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gianpaolo b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Expensive but worth it”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

Gualtiero's restaurant offers the diner an interpretation of traditional dishes that never fail to delight. We ordered black squid risotto, topped with gold leaf which was amazing during our last visit to the restaurant. Staff are attentive and professional. A good option post theatre.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank JohnFud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Any other location, you wouldn't go in - so don't do it here.”
Reviewed 27 April 2012

This was our worst experience in Milan. We had booked tickets for Tosca at La Scala, starting at 8pm, and as we'd been on an afternoon tour of Milan including the Last Supper, hadn't got back to our hotel till after 6.30. We changed quickly and went to the area round the opera house to find a pre-theatre supper, accepting we would pay over the odds for the location.
Our initial impression of Il Marchesino was that it was a slick operation, well used to catering for pre-opera meals. They found us a table and we had given in our order within five minutes. Twenty minutes later, we had bread and water and two rather small glasses of wine. Forty minutes later, after we complained, the food was forthcoming. My husband's veal was ok, but was overwhelmed by a brown gravy: his mixed vegetables all tasted the same. My sorrel salmon was under-cooked for my taste - I like my fish opaque - and my vegetables were two slices of courgette, both cut in three.
For this feast, plus three glasses of house red and a bottle of water, we were charged 94 euros.
A complete rip-off, and to be avoided at all costs.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AGVAUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le Tignet, France
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Adequate but overpriced.”
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We ate there before a performance of Don Giovanni at La Scala. They are well used to serving dinner at 6.30 so one is in plenty of time for the opera. However, the food is really nothing special and the portions are meant for midget mice. My wife's had tortellini in broth that was no better than you can buy in any Italian supermarket. My Stinko (knuckle of pork) was served with an ill fitting salad of fennel. My wife's tiramisu was just about ok and, still feeling hungry, I had the cheese of which there was plenty. The cheapest half bottle of red wine was 16 Euros. The service was just about acceptable. Altogether the bill came to an excessive104 Euros. You can eat much better for half the price in Milan though if you're going to La Scala afterwards no other restaurant will be as conveniently situated.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino also viewed

 

Been to Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing