We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only go if you are not hungry”

Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino
Ranked #35 of 157 Coffee & Tea in Milan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Centro Storico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Only go if you are not hungry”
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

This is a restaurant next to Scala. Well located. Food is ok, but very tiny portions. Main meal courses are smaller than a starter.

I ordered the Tartara di Manzo (beef tartare) for 29 euro received around 30 grams (two spoons) nothing else was served (no salad nothing).

After finishing my 'main meal' I felt as hungry as before the meal!

Would not recommend this restaurant, it felt like an overrated tourist trap, due to its good location.

Helpful?
2 Thank niels b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    117
    68
    50
    49
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
218 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Classic italian, not as expected , but Best Lobster!!”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Another reccomended one right in the centre , Scala de Milan, ambiance poor and too classic, not crowded even on a saturday night, at fashion week, staff friendly and helpful, dishes very traditional italian but said that is one of the best in Milan.... sorry we wont take again..... Best was the lobster , very delicious, nicely cooked and well performed!!! But generally is not a place we ll visit again and i dont reccomended really.... we 've been to more beautiful restaurants in the fashion queen city of Milan...

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kikola12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
229 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good food before the ballet show”
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

The place is very convenient for those who is going to Alla Scala - it's the same building.
The veal cheek was soft mild and tasty (30€), wine selection is not big but carefully chosen.
Service is excellent!

Helpful?
1 Thank poleff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
207 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Not so good as expected”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We ate there after a performance at La Scala Theater. Good menu, and great location, with direct sight on the kitchen, which is always a good sign. BUT: Service not very competent, a very pale Risotto alla Milanese, the Veal was quite average, so we were not really happy.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FLuisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
67 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Thanks but no thanks”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We have been there before and were not impressed, tried it again and it failed to impress again.
Yes, sure, we are spoiled, live in Dubai (born in Amsterdam), all clean, organized, people service minded...and then Europe...Milan..used to be my favorite town...Malpensa..dirty...Milan..dirty..people poorly dressed...taxis dirty...no english...time stood still and the crisis hit. Now the restaurant: we were 4 going for lunch. Nice gadget, ipad as menu, allergies addressed etc. Starter for me artichoke, old style, on spinach..light cheese sauce..nice.
Main course ravioli with pumpkin..and sort of amaretto in there...horrible..taste of chocolate..a chef with too much creativity..over the top...almost a desert...My daughter had chicken Kiev..c'mon guys I don`t want to taste the oil when something is fried...Male servant very willing and friendly..but two female "student, Gothic looking " servants..not a smile..nothing..hey ladies...work somewhere else if you don`t like the job...I can`t help it if your life is miserable..
Wine was decent...interior friendly...Bill for lunch for 4..a stiff 275 Euro....I am afraid the crisis will last a little bit longer in Italy..
.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Erwin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino also viewed

 

Been to Teatro alla Scala Il Marchesino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing