We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Scala!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of La Scala Opera

La Scala Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$86.26*
and up
Discovering Milan Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 784 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-renowned opera house was built in 1778, where many composers wrote and conducted works including such greats as Rossini, Puccini, Verdi and Toscanini.
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“La Scala!”
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I loved the history shared while on a tour of the La Scala Opera House. There is a small museum attached, if you love music history, stop in a check it out. Beautiful paintings, memorabilia from past operas etc. Liszt's piano is there, too. Don't miss it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gail K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,220
    1,287
    601
    139
    72
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Enjoyable”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My husband insisted we visit La Scala for a performance of Aida, and I was prepared to fall asleep. Surprisingly, I loved it! The actual theater is iconic, and the production was lavish, with amazing sets and costumes. At one time there were about 120 performers on stage, and the orchestra was at least 70 pieces. I understood why the tickets were so expensive - we paid about $250 US each for mid-range seats through the venue's website (purchased at midnight US time the moment they went on sale.) The fact that our box included couples from Prague and Russia suggests the experience might be more popular with tourists than locals. It's a once-in-a-lifetime memory for certain.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank stellar2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Such a beautiful place”
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This was the second time I visited Milan. The first time La Scala was under refurbishing so disappointing. I was lucky enough this time to tour this fantastic place. At the time it was not so busy so the atmosphere was so spiritual to think so many famous people have been and performed there.Just stop and imagine what it used to be like when it was a its peak (still is a landmark) I recommend a visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank marjucca100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Poor view”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

I followed the website and when tickets became available to the general public for a performance of Aida I was ready. I was pleased to get tickets in the back of a box on the 4th level. I carried a jacket and tie for 5 weeks around Europe in anticipation of the big night which was the second last night away.
We were horrified upon entering the box that we had no view at all. Another gentleman who had the other seat at the back took one look, uttered an expletive and disappeared never to be seen again.I spent the evening standing on the fruitbox in an attempt to see the stage. My partner also had to stand in an attempt to see anything.
We also attended Covent Garden whose website provides clear details of any limitations and a mockup of the view. La Scala should be upfront with its customers that they can expect little in respect of a view even whilst paying reasomable money for seats.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank DemonJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
316 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We especcially went to Milan for enjoying an opera in La Scala. And wow, what a fantastic experience. We were in black tie, and many people were beautifully dressed. A overwhelming atmosphere. And Verid's Don Carlo sounded fantastic. Only Italian singers en musician can bring Verdi as it belongs to be.,

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank harry_puts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala Opera also viewed

 

Been to La Scala Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing