We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing atmosphere very bad sitting”
Review of La Scala Opera

La Scala Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$89.82*
and up
Discovering Milan Walking Tour
Ranked #15 of 807 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-renowned opera house was built in 1778, where many composers wrote and conducted works including such greats as Rossini, Puccini, Verdi and Toscanini.
Breivikbotn Norway
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere very bad sitting”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Was planning this trip with my wife to Milano half a year and my wife was dreaming about visiting La Scala. Bought tickets in boxes for 240 eur and the sight from box was not same as was shown on web while buying ticket. We were lucky that 2 other seats in box where empty so we could enjoy the whole view. But if the box is full and you are older its no chance to you to see something if you got back seats. I will definetly come back to there but now I know- if you cant afford good seats simply don't go there!!!! And that's sure!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Darius I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,372
    1,347
    623
    144
    78
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Le Havre, France
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“music changing experience”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

if you are info music, opera history and hear the different between do and fa - silly go there or you can't call yourself a melomaniac!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KVM2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portarlington, Ireland
Level Contributor
168 reviews
76 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Beautiful Theatre”
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Went as part of a half day tour of Milan. The building isn't so interesting from outside but the actual theatre itself is certainly worth visiting. There is an interesting museum as well.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pjmsimmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
154 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Great show- crap seating”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

Went to see Aida- Magnifico! One of the five must- things to do before you die. BUT staff are not friendly, seating is attrocious and seriously unconfortable, our box was unbelievably small- after nearly 4 hours of Opera I had a seriously sore back. During the pause the sandwiches on offer were very poor- I would have loved to eat some posh canapeés with salmon and caviar- nope! Had a cheese sandwich. If there is a next time, I will bring pain killers and my own food and ear plugs to overhear the imploite staff. To be improved

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jionkan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
725 reviews
190 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 536 helpful votes
“Aida - Visually-stunning Production”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

During a brief stay in Milan I checked if there were any tickets for my last night. For whatever reason, I got lucky and there was a seat available in a box, so I took it despite the dizzying price.

Though I know next to nothing about opera, I thought that a lot of expense and effort had gone into the set and props, which were on a majestic scale and yet still were executed with meticulous detail. Rich colors and textures, ornate furnishings and backdrops, even the whole stage was on hydraulics so that the closing scenes could be shown bi-level (priestesses above, entombed lovers below) - all a feast for the eyes. (The patrons, by the way, were very well-dressed, and it was enjoyable to look at them, too. If you do go to a performance here, consider a business suit for men - no one was in black tie - and a cocktail dress with pearls for ladies - no one was in long gown.)

The music (again, an uneducated opinion here) was not to the same standard. The chorus was weak, and Aida's voice faded abruptly, breathless, on a couple of occasions. The Triumphal March (the music that most people associate with this opera) was somehow disjoint, lacking oomph.

Other reviewers have complained about high prices and poor viewing from the boxes. They were right. In the boxes closer in, if you are in the back two seats, your viewing angle is sideways and you have to both stand and crane your neck to see more than a third of the stage. Keep in mind, these seats cost close to US$ 300, so I can understand how some people are upset.

That said, if you have the slightest interest in music, a visit to La Scala is a kind of pilgrimage that you should make. Pay for whatever seat you can get, tolerate the impaired sight-lines, and just enjoy it as a Total Experience.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MannyG2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala Opera also viewed

 

Been to La Scala Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing