We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History of music and dance”
Review of La Scala Opera

La Scala Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.41*
and up
La Scala Theatre and Museum Tour in Milan
More Info
US$100.85*
and up
Discovering Milan Walking Tour
More Info
US$48.64*
and up
Skip the Line: Duomo Cathedral and La Scala Theatre
Ranked #15 of 822 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-renowned opera house was built in 1778, where many composers wrote and conducted works including such greats as Rossini, Puccini, Verdi and Toscanini.
Bucharest, Romania
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“History of music and dance”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

La Scala in Milan! The place where masterpieces of Verdi were performed for the first time, where all the important opera singers and ballet dancers played one of their life's performaces is a building which doesn't impress when seeing it from outside, but which transfers you in another time and space by entering it and taking part together with other 2199 persons in a show (it was a ballet with Natalia Osipova dancing in L'histoire de Manon). It is elegant, full of history, with a perfect acustic and very nice decorated. The place can be also visited entering the La Scala museum, only if there are no rehersals, but the magic of this place is for sure to take part in a performance. I reserved my tickets 4 months in advance using an austrian ticket company. It worked very well. I was so lucky to sit next to Natalia Osipova's dance teacher!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gabriela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,693 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,449
    1,378
    639
    148
    79
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful La Scala”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The outside of the theatre is not impressive but the inside is magnificent. I was sitting way up in the second row from the top but my view was still good and the acoustics here are amazing. Try to book your seats well ahead of time. Tickets can be expensive and hard to get if you are close to your chosen date. La Scala was the highlight of my trip to Italy.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Stellanew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
totnes
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“buying tickets”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Be VERY careful buying tickets on La Scala's website. We ordered two tickets in the stalls at 252 euros each. They were mailed to us. When we arrived at La Scala we discovered that the tickets we had been sent were actually for a box, four floors up with a view of only half the stage! There was no indication sent with the tickets to explain that we had not been successful in our choice of seats. Additionally we were sharing this box with three other people who had to peer over our shoulders to catch a glimpse of the stage - a very comfortable experience!.
Just buy the cd and save yourselves much frustration and expense.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank whytotnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We spent around 200Eur and we do not regret it! Would definitely go again! Worth every penny! We got good seating and the sound was absolutely grand.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alexia_MT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breivikbotn Norway
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing atmosphere very bad sitting”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Was planning this trip with my wife to Milano half a year and my wife was dreaming about visiting La Scala. Bought tickets in boxes for 240 eur and the sight from box was not same as was shown on web while buying ticket. We were lucky that 2 other seats in box where empty so we could enjoy the whole view. But if the box is full and you are older its no chance to you to see something if you got back seats. I will definetly come back to there but now I know- if you cant afford good seats simply don't go there!!!! And that's sure!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Darius I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala Opera also viewed

 

Been to La Scala Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing