We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mythical Opera House”
Review of La Scala Opera

La Scala Opera
Book In Advance
More Info
US$34.82*
and up
La Scala Theatre and Museum Tour in Milan
More Info
US$102.06*
and up
Discovering Milan Walking Tour
More Info
US$49.23*
and up
Skip the Line: Duomo Cathedral and La Scala Theatre
Ranked #15 of 858 things to do in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: This world-renowned opera house was built in 1778, where many composers wrote and conducted works including such greats as Rossini, Puccini, Verdi and Toscanini.
Moncton, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mythical Opera House”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We went to the Scala for a recital by Rolando Villazon. The concert was great and the accoustic of the venue is fabulous. However, we we a little surprise to see the seating inside the galerie stalls. Maybe it's commun but we had never seen it. There are chairs in the front but stools of various heights for the remainder of the seats in the back. It is for better view but very hard on the back for a long show.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank mrduguay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,756 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3,480
    1,399
    647
    150
    80
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Longwood, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ballet Gala.....maybe one should stick to opera at La Scala!”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We traveled to Milan from Rome to attend this performance. The main ballet was the Pink Floyd Ballet. A modern piece which only succeeds in being enjoyable if it is executed with complete precision. We thought that it was a little surprising that the house was only about 1/3 full until we were experiencing the performance. I expected a much better level of execution from the Corps de Ballet at a venue of the calibre of La Scala. This ballet is fairly repetitive and actually became boring..... the gentleman next to me fell asleep! There are many precise moves which must be done in unison and there were just to many times that more than one dancer was off by more than one count. Considering the price of the tickets (Over $200.00 each) I expected to be wowed, I also did not expect canned music. I clearly was not, and my God child who is a ballet dancer and who we made the trip to celebrate her 19th birthday did not applaud once simply made the comment that it was "painful to watch".

The Opera House is lovely and well worth seeing. It was thrilling to see a performance in such a historic venue, I only hope that the next one warrants the price of admission!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank GlamourMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A unique experience”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

How can you visit Milan and not go to La Scala. We saw the Pink Floyd Ballet and only the creative, wild Italians could execute such a program. The music was splendid and the dancing was inspiring.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“An absolute must for art lovers ....”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Whether is an opera or a ballet or a concert, whatever you enjoy at the Scala Theater in Milan will be a majestic show in itself ... try to make an effort and pay the somewhat over-priced tickets, it's worth it ... specially fantastic have been the late representations of arias by tenor Rolando Villazon who is arguably the next Pavarotti ... the Nutcraker in Christmas and Così Fan Tutte in Summertime are also classicals of this fantastic venue ... do go !!! ( beware of the over-priced bar ... a simple glass of Prosecco would cost you € 12 euros, which for Milan is brutally over-priced )

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ricardo-s-serrano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Pink Floyd Ballet at La Scala!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We were given a box on the first level at a vastly discounted price (probably because it was on the same night of a free concert in the Duomo Square with 70,000 visitors!) La Scala is a lovely Opera House, smaller than expected, and I was not certain why the doors were never open until 30 minutes before the programme starts, unlike our Covent Garden Opera House in London or the Met in New York!
The Ballet was modern with excellent performance to Pink Floyd's music that followed a short piece to Bach's music. On the whole, I enjoyed a super evening that was not detracted from when we had to fight our way through the concert crowds to find the metro!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Scala Opera also viewed

 

Been to La Scala Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing