We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely modern and quirky hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Ranked #39 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely modern and quirky hotel”
Reviewed 11 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for a total of 3 nights. The hotel was in a great location; right next to central station, and about a 30 minute stroll into the city centre. The area the hotel was in was peaceful but not too far away from the attractions. We chose a Superior/Deluxe room, which was really clean and modern. The bathroom was really nice, we got new towels and accessories (e.g. shower cap, shower gel etc.) everyday. The room had electric shutters and blinds which was good to keep the light out when taking a nap after a long day. The bed was also very comfortable, and the use of the mini fridge was very helpful. We loved the idea of the chromotherapy, we thought this was a very unique selling point for the hotel. The room we stayed in was on the top floor and at the front of the hotel, I think we were quite lucky with this as when reading other peoples reviews they said it was quite noisy, but we did not experience this. When booking through an online travel agent we were able to leave a comment on our preference, so we asked for double bed as the rooms were advertised as twin/double, so I would advise you do do that as well. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The bar area and lobby looked really funky, although we didn't have time to use these spaces. The breakfast was delicious; there was plenty to chose from. All in all we thought this hotel was great value for money and really enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend to friends and anyone else looking to stay in a boutique style hotel.

Room Tip: Go for a superior/deluxe room because I think these are the ones which include the interesting use o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SianAlexandria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    324
    109
    16
    11
See reviews for
81
286
42
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed in this hotel for a week. The hotel is located in a safe clean area close to the main station. It offers good value for the money. The receptionists were very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast was good with many options and a friendly server. The hotel is not that fancy and the rooms are not that spacious, but we expected that. The hotel lived to our expectations.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lillie_Mc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Very nice hotel in a quiet street. Close (5-7 min walk) to the Central Station and other Metro station. Room and bathroom were very clean, comfortable bed, clean shower, every day new towels,... Breakfast was very good with the most friendly waiter ever.

I'd recommend this to all of my friends.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dieter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Although the rooms are too close together- making it noisy, the CHROMOTHERAPY (Superior and deluxe rooms only) really helps you switch off. Lovely surprise and original idea.
The staff are friendly and my room was very clean.
Sadly, my fridge was not cold!

Room Tip: If it were not for the splendid bathroom and the in-room light therapy, I would not have thought I w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LiseScott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2012

A small hotel good for biz traveller. WiFi reception is good. Breakfast is noy bad when you know how much you pay. Someone may not like it as it is somehow noisy during the night. Well maybe it is in the city center but for me it us totally minor. Of course you have plenty of choice for a similar deal in Milan. Yet, this is one of its best.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcoTsanginHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2012

this is the best hotel that I've ever stayed in. I was looking for hotels where we (me and my girlfriend) could cap are night off as part of her birthday celebration. I walked in the hotel to booked on the same night and to my luck there was a room available. right then and there they offered an early check in (and it was only 8 in the morning) it was great because it gave me time to set up the room. I checked the room and was a bit disappointed to how small it was so I asked if they could move me into a bigger room and to my delight, not only did they said yes...they upgraded us from a standard room into a deluxe double room free of charge!!

I started setting up the room. bringing some balloons, flowers and cake etc. but i noticed the sheet didn't quite mix with the theme, i called reception and asked if they have anything red the receptionist said no so that was that but after a few minutes the receptionist called me and said he checked, they don't have red but if I want...someone will bring up some sheets closer to red and I can choose which bed sheets suited to my liking.

even after the receptionist said no, he made sure that he did everything he could, he double checked for me.... and if what the customer wants is not available he offered an alternative solution.

everything was set....we spent the night and my girlfriend had a splendid night. the room is very modern, and very lively! they have mixed the colors and furniture set up quite perfectly.

the following morning there was a breakfast buffet downstairs, they offer quite a selection and they are fresh! I love the pastries they offered. my girlfriend and I were a bit embarrassed to get another cup of coffee cause it was like our nth time, Domenico noticed our dilemma and came to our tabled asked us if we wanted something else. we told him about our silly argument about who shall get the cup of coffee. he smiled and said he'll see what he can do, he left for awhile and came back with a pitcher. i thought he will just a pour us a cup but instead he left us the pot of hot steaming coffee and another pot for steamed milk! talk about world class customer service!

to cap everything off they also offered us a late check out.

it just seems to good to be true....but it's not. good is an understatement.

not only is it good but they made our stay even for just a night a perfect one. i will definitely comeback and will refer it to everyone who would listen cause I'll never get tired telling this perfect experience.

P.S. they are a gay/lesbian friendly facility (base solely on our experience)

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nakedtraveller0001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2012

I have just returned from an overnight stay in Milan with a friend. We stayed at the Hotel Mediolanum, 10 mins walk from the central station where the bus dropped us from Bergamo Airport, and a very pleasant 30 minute walk through a park & along an interesting road to the Duomo in the centre of Milan, passing lots of little bars & cafes for good stop-offs and great clothes shopping. The hotel was well modernised with bright colours & mood lighting. The hotel staff were particularly helpful and they served a very reasonable breakfast with hot English tea. They recommended 2 good restaurants very nearby. We went to the Settembrini 18 for a decent meal in the evening, with the biggest ham & melon starter I've ever eaten and Mamma Rosa for lunch the next day for scrummy pasta & prosecco. Would recommend hotel & restaurants highly.

Room Tip: We chose a high-up room which was not noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjuliad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#45 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,070 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#37 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,304 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#58 of 427 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,769 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#26 of 427 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediolanum Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Property: Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Address: Via Mauro Macchi 1 | Stazione centrale area, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#97 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediolanum Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediolanum is a modern 4 stars business hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel has been recently renovated following the last trends of the international hotellerie. The common spaces show bright colours as prevailing and shapes inspired by the contemporary design: the interiors recall the style of famous architects like Zanuso and Le Corbusier.The Hotel is located in a strategic position thanks to the closeness of the Central Station (MM2 Green Subway Line): fulcrum of the city of Milano and Air Terminal. At a small range of few hundred of meters from Via Mauro Macchi you can find the subway stations of Porta Venezia (MM1 Red Line with direct connection to the congress center and exhibition quarter) and Repubblica (MM3 Yellow Line). The railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The heart of the city is reachable on foot: in 10 minutes you can arrive to the historical part of the town where the Duomo (Cathedral) and the Teatro La Scala (Opera House) stand.In the hotel's surroundings you can find the Garibaldi Station (high speed train terminal).The 51 Mediolanum rooms will put you in direct contact with the emotions caused by the colours: the light fills up the interiors which get painted of lively, passionate, relaxing colours. On this trail the Superior and Deluxe rooms were realized following the principles of the chromotherapy. This science links the psychical and physical wellbeing to the tones. The buttonhole flower of this rooms is the remote controller placed next to the bed thanks to which you can change the lighting in red, blue, green or yellow or mix them up. According to your mood and needs you can switch to a relaxing green, or to a concentrating purple. All the rooms All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and safe.Inside the hotel the guests can have a seat in the elegant lounge bar where a pleasant appetizer is served together with refreshing cocktails. At the light restaurant you can taste a special selection of the best Italian dishes enriched by refined wines. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. In addition at the Hotel Sanpi, located just 300 mt away under the same management, you have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness and to the meeting room Venezia.The Hotel Mediolanum Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or via gds or internet.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediolanum Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediolanum Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing