We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Ranked #37 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Wirral
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super”
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Staying here was a real treat. Our room was perfect, the breakfast was second to none and the staff could not have been more helpful or welcoming. The hotel was very convenient for the station. We couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    339
    111
    16
    12
See reviews for
88
302
43
167
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2012

We had 5 nights at the Mediolanum. The hotel is close to the central station in a reasonably quiet part of the city, though there was some noise at night. One of the main shopping areas is 10 minutes walk away. We arrived before check in time but our room was ready.

The room was a good size for three people, the third bed was a built in unit that folded down from the wall and was quite comfortable. There was no separate shower and the bath was very narrow so that when showering you felt like you could easily lose your balance. There were two basins in the bathroom, which was handy.

Free wifi was included but reception and bandwidth were lousy, you had to be positioned near the door for it to work at all.

Breakfast was just ok. Could have done with fewer cakes and more healthy options.

Staff were generally friendly and helpful, especially the waiters in the breakfast room. Coffee was very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LostKnights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2012

We were routing through Milan and spent one night here as it was close to the train station. The hotel is pretty basic and not located in the historic centre (maybe a 30 min walk). We happened to be staying here during fashion week last year and the hotel prices in Milan were crazy.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TTTraveller76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this Hotel. It is within walking distance (approx. 15 minutes) to Central station and its metro station (we had 2 big suitcases and it was ok) and to a great shopping street - Corso Buenos Aires where you can also find a metro station (red line station name is Lima).
At the time of our stay part of the 3rd floor was being refurbished, but since we stayed on a weekend until Monday midday, we were not troubled by noise of workers. However, our hotel room (number 308) was facing the street and the acoustic insulation is terrible - you hear every noise on the street below! We especially had a big problem throughout the night of Sunday to Monday as all the garbage, glass etc. was being collected and we had constant noise from the garbage trucks! That was the only real downpoint of the hotel.
Our room was quite spacious and above all, very clean! You have a safe inside the closet, a kettle with coffee, tea, milk & sugar, the bathroom even had a bidet and a nice big bathtub with showerhead. The A/C was adjustable and barely audible which was good and the windows could be opened, but since it was sunny and hot the blinds were always down. The lighting is fun - our ceiling lighting was blue (looked very romantic) and/or white.
Breakfast was just ok - we have had much better ones in other 4 star hotels but in Italy it is not the most important meal of the day...
The receptionists were a mixed bunch - some of them extremely nice, others not too helpful. But still we were able to use the internet lounge free of charge for 10 minutes, even though a sign there showed a rate of 5 Euros for 15 minutes.
Would rate the hotel somewhere between average and very good - ie. good, because of the noisy street problem...

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper do not ask for room 308!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rawaspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Me my wife sister in law brother and 18 month old twin children stayed At the Mediolanum Hotel on the 5th July 2012.
Our morning started terribly by loosing all our passports at Cental station 10am on the 5th
We were due to fly that afternoon back Thailand where we live.
We only realized when we got to the airport we would not be able to fly
We had to report passports stolen at Malpensa airport.
The police could not have helped us more very helpful and for no fee.
The Thai airways agent could not have gone out of her way more for us she was a angel
The staff at the Thai And British cosul went out of there way for us.
I have sent e mails thanking all involved
The mediolanum hotel had been informed we would be arriving with no passports only a police report stating we had lost our passports.
Bear in mind it was gone 6 pm when we arrived after obviously a grueling and very trying day
We had booked two rooms for 2nights at a price of 456.00euros
What was greeted with a very rude and totally unhelpful young man behind the desk.
That could not of made us feel more uncomfortable .
If my memory serves me his name was Marco..not sur but both evenings he started at about 3'4 ish pm..all the other staff we dealt with behind the desk was very professional and could not of helped us more .
Marco if that's his name talked down at us did not even send a porter to help us with luggage.
Just what we needed after the day we had.
I,m sorry to say this gentleman spoils your 4 star rating

Not happy customer
Mr Joseph Curotto

Room Tip: Don't deal with the rude young pretender Marco..
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Italiangrotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, Direttore at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Mr. Curotto ,
I would like to thank you for your stay in our hotel in Milan and for your comment you left to tripadvisor.com , In the meantime I personal apologize for you for the problem you have mentioned regarding the communication between you and our receptionist Marco , we have already started with him a formal discussion in order to avoid problem with other guests in the future , we will use also your comment like a case history for the next train session for concierges.
I have also well noted that the whole stay was good , the rest of the hotel staff was professional and helpful, the room were clean and the location perfect.
However in order to let the others reviewers understand I would like also to say something more regarding your comment in order to give all a complete overview:
- We were informed by phone before your arrival that you will not travel with passport , however in order to do what the Italian low ask us we need to register all hotel guests in to the Policy extranet with all details : (name , family name , date and place of birth , nationality , passport number and more….those information need it fill by us on line that why we ask you to let us have some more details even if you were not able to show us the passport , probably Marco was rude or probably you do not expect it , but all the guest and all hotels in Italy need to do it at check in.
- Regarding the check in and price you mentioned 456,00 Euro , this price was charged for the whole stay 2 double rooms for 2 days that means that you have paid euro 114.00 per room per night inclusive of 10 % vat , American breakfast , Wi-Fi , service, commission to the travel agent you have used for the reservation and credit card commission; you had also some discussion at check in because you have booked 2 dbl room (we expect 4 people ) but at check in you where 6 people , we should charge something more for the extra bed and breakfast but at the end we have decide to not charge you nothing more , we also gave you not a standard room as booked but 2 dlx rooms with light therapy .
- Regarding the porter for luggage’s assistance , we have it sometimes the porter is busy but if some guests need help we are ready for that.

Dear Mr. Curotto , I really apologize again for the rude welcome done By Mr. Marco I think this day for all of us was a bad day , it started with the problem you had at the airport and it end with the concierge Marco at Mediolanum, unfortunately we are not perfect , our team is very young and normally helpfully , Marco is only 22 years old and he need to improve his attitude with guests , the whole management including myself needs also to find out a solution in order to avoid that problem like this happen again , we have started it already.

Looking forward to see you again in Milan in our hotels, I wish you a nice summer.

Mauro Triose
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Old building, but the room is huge, clean, super king-size bed & big bathroom. 2 major disappointments: expensive Wifi and lousy breakfast. Poor variety of choices, same options everyday! Food quality is average. No appetite to eat on third day morning seeing the same thing again!

Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jiny88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

This hotel is pretty basic for 4 star standard. It is like an old hotel brightened up with some loud colors to make it seem trendy. The rooms are clean and fresh. The windows and air con are good so it is quiet and the temperature is good.
Breakfast is fine but nothing makes it stand out.
If you get this for under 100 euro - it is good value, but don't pay more for it as it is nothing special.
The guy at reception ranges from very helpful to brusque depending on his mood. The girl seemed very pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#43 of 427 in Milan
1,114 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#38 of 427 in Milan
1,318 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,546 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#52 of 427 in Milan
1,303 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#23 of 427 in Milan
472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediolanum Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Property: Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Address: Via Mauro Macchi 1 | Stazione centrale area, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#32 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#97 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediolanum Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediolanum is a modern 4 stars business hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel has been recently renovated following the last trends of the international hotellerie. The common spaces show bright colours as prevailing and shapes inspired by the contemporary design: the interiors recall the style of famous architects like Zanuso and Le Corbusier.The Hotel is located in a strategic position thanks to the closeness of the Central Station (MM2 Green Subway Line): fulcrum of the city of Milano and Air Terminal. At a small range of few hundred of meters from Via Mauro Macchi you can find the subway stations of Porta Venezia (MM1 Red Line with direct connection to the congress center and exhibition quarter) and Repubblica (MM3 Yellow Line). The railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The heart of the city is reachable on foot: in 10 minutes you can arrive to the historical part of the town where the Duomo (Cathedral) and the Teatro La Scala (Opera House) stand.In the hotel's surroundings you can find the Garibaldi Station (high speed train terminal).The 51 Mediolanum rooms will put you in direct contact with the emotions caused by the colours: the light fills up the interiors which get painted of lively, passionate, relaxing colours. On this trail the Superior and Deluxe rooms were realized following the principles of the chromotherapy. This science links the psychical and physical wellbeing to the tones. The buttonhole flower of this rooms is the remote controller placed next to the bed thanks to which you can change the lighting in red, blue, green or yellow or mix them up. According to your mood and needs you can switch to a relaxing green, or to a concentrating purple. All the rooms All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and safe.Inside the hotel the guests can have a seat in the elegant lounge bar where a pleasant appetizer is served together with refreshing cocktails. At the light restaurant you can taste a special selection of the best Italian dishes enriched by refined wines. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. In addition at the Hotel Sanpi, located just 300 mt away under the same management, you have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness and to the meeting room Venezia.The Hotel Mediolanum Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or via gds or internet.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Mediolanum Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediolanum Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing