We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Mediolanum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Ranked #35 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 July 2014

I am just home from milan and had stayed at this hotel and thought i would write a review which could help others if they are considering this hotel.

Tourist tax - There were some reviews of people mentioning tourist tax and how it had to be paid when checking in however we were given the bill which was 5 euro's per person per night whilst checking out, the tax is reduced by 50% in august however, if they don't ask for it when checking in be prepared to pay on checking out.

Restaurant across the road - This is a really expensive place, if you just want a pasta from the prima platta menu (first course) and a glass bottle of water then it is fairly cheap, otherwise it is pretty extortionate and not very good value for money.

Hotel WiFi - A few problems with this lets start by mentioning that it uses an open connection but requires you to log in, you can get a user name and password from reception, it expires after around 5 days but you can ask for another one. The connectivity is the main problem, despite there begin a wireless access point protruding from the ceiling in the corridor outside of the room our reception was absolutely abysmal and the internet is pretty slow. Also it cuts off connections after a period of time to free up bandwidth. That is if you get connected...we kept getting an authentication error constantly and the only way we could connect almost every time was to go down to reception and loiter around to get a direct connection to the router then go back upstairs. The wifi is okay for reading text based websites and sending emails but if you want to stream videos forget it, there just simply isnt enough available bandwidth.

Stazione Centrale - Come out the hotel, turn left, second left, walk up about 70 metres and the station is on your right behind the flea markets. There are a lot of down and outs hanging around there 24/7 so be on your guard and if you are using the station DO NOT let anyone try to help you with the ticket machines or get close to you.

Breakfast - Down stairs from 7-10.30 its pretty quiet up until around 9ish so if you want to have a peaceful breakfast get up early however it is quite small and the staff are standing there constantly to help seat people and get them drinks so because of the small proximity it can be slightly awkward although they are all nice people. I found it easier to go down when it was busier so the staff weren't just standing there with nothing to do except watch you eat.

Sights - History museum is around a 10 minute walk away from the hotel on corso buenos aires. You can continue walking straight down which will take you to the centro citta (city centre) and the duomo di milano. You need to cover your arms and legs if you are going inside the cathedral which is free but there are no restrictions for going onto the roof which costs 7 euros to climb the stairs or more if you want to take the lift. Once again the centre is just like anywhere, rife with pickpockets and thief's so be on your guard.

Hotel - The room was a bit smaller than i anticipated but that wasn't really a problem, the bathroom was nice, there is a small fridge and safety deposit box in the room and there are wooden electric shutter behind the window which helps keep the sun out there isn't an iron or hairdryer in the room so you will need to take your own. All in all this hotel was a pleasure to stay in minus the horrendous almost non existent wifi. If i were to go again i would have no problem staying here.

Tips - If your italian is not very good or you dont speak any, downloading the google translator app and the italian language pack will be a life saver as not many people understand english well enough to communicate fully with you. It can translate from italian to english too if you arent sure about something. Use google maps and save the part of the city you are visiting on your phone to use as a map. Doing these two things will save you a lot of problems.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Mr D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (818)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 818 reviews

Reviewed 10 July 2014

The hotel is better than the pictures :-) Excellent place. The Centrale Station is 3 to 5 minutes by walk. With google drive was looking more!

There is a tram station also in 50 meters away. You can use it for going to the Duomo etc. The 1st day we walk from the hotel to the Duomo via, Corso Buenos Aires. Very nice walk, about 30 minutes long.

Nice modern decoration in the room, but little small. The breakfast wasn't something special, but it had quality. The stuff was quite helpful and kind.
The bed was not to soft for me, but overall was ok.

I would going again to that hotel if I was going to Milano.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com
Thank Christos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed at the Mediolanum hotel on a recent visit with Milan as a belated Honeymoon.

We got an upgrade to a superior room which was very much appreciated.

The room were quite spacious and colourful we were given the purple and pink room.

Our room overlooked the street and have to admit it was really noisy during the night with bin collections taking place around 1am every morning.

The breakfast was good and had a good selection of cereal, pastries, cold meats and fruit etc

Coffee was brought to your table by staff.

The hotel has a bar cannot comment on the price of beers as didn't drink in the hotel.

We found the staff nice and polite.

On one occasion we had been out sight seeing all day from 9am to 3pm and our room had not been cleaned on our return and it was nearly 4pm until the room was cleaned which was frustrating.

We did attempt to use the hotels Wifi but reception was really poor and we gave up

The location is good if your arriving to Milan by train as is just around the corner.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LouiseNeil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I stayed at the Mediolanum hotel for four nights in June when I was attending a conference in Milan. The room was beautiful, modern and clean. The bed was comfortable and I appreciated the nice bed lights (good reading lights). The shampoo/shower gel etc. in the bathroom were also nice features. The complementary breakfast was good and served in a elegant setting. Overall the hotel staff was very friendly and helpful and gave some good advice regarding transport etc. They even shipped a pair of shoes that I left behind to my home (>1500 miles). I warmly recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HalldOrs2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We arrived and were warmly greeted by the greatest asset of the hotel, Carmelo "of Sicily". Our room was perfect for our stay. It was clean and comfortable. Internet is easily accessible and the lobby is large, beautiful and very cozy. The hotel offers great drinks and snacks at the bar. Breakfast on a separate floor was an elegant affair in a beautifully appointed room. We were served our coffee by tuxedoed waitstaff. I highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2014
Thank MargieRotchford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Stayed here two nights in June 2014. Perfect for what we needed -- a great hotel near the train station since we were returning to the States in the early morning hours. (Tip: If you enter the metro from the train station and walk to the exit Via Torriani, you avoid the chaotic and homeless-filled piazza in front of the station.) Although I speak Italian, the hotel staff all spoke English and were very professional and personable. Breakfast was above par for most hotels in Italy of this class and I'd say one of the better ones on my 6-week trip. Room was modern, a/c worked very well, and the bathroom was great -- Amercian style tub with shower. The only issue was that Wifi was spotty but it's the rare hotel that doesn't have some problem with wifi -- it's the nature of the technology. There are two restaurants nearby that are fantastic -- the one across the street and Mamma Rosa's just two blocks further away. The latter is more downscale but the food is better. Although others here complain about the neighborhood, I found it to be just like any other in Milan. Definitely staying here again if I need a place close to the station. Oh and one last thing: they partner with a hotel with a fitness center nearby. BIG plus!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorisz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

I was greatly impressed by the Hotel, from the quality of service, helpfulness of staff in all aspects of my stay, to the cleanliness and impressive value of the rooms. A "must stay". FIVE STARS, THANK YOUUUU!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jazzy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#37 of 431 in Milan
1,194 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#60 of 431 in Milan
1,034 reviews
Città Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#22 of 431 in Milan
533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#10 of 431 in Milan
6,867 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#20 of 431 in Milan
708 reviews
Stazione Centrale
WORLDHOTEL Cristoforo Colombo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediolanum Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Address: Via Mauro Macchi 1 | Stazione centrale area, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £80 - £675 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediolanum Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediolanum is a modern 4 stars business hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel has been recently renovated following the last trends of the international hotellerie. The common spaces show bright colours as prevailing and shapes inspired by the contemporary design: the interiors recall the style of famous architects like Zanuso and Le Corbusier.The Hotel is located in a strategic position thanks to the closeness of the Central Station (MM2 Green Subway Line): fulcrum of the city of Milano and Air Terminal. At a small range of few hundred of meters from Via Mauro Macchi you can find the subway stations of Porta Venezia (MM1 Red Line with direct connection to the congress center and exhibition quarter) and Repubblica (MM3 Yellow Line). The railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The heart of the city is reachable on foot: in 10 minutes you can arrive to the historical part of the town where the Duomo (Cathedral) and the Teatro La Scala (Opera House) stand.In the hotel's surroundings you can find the Garibaldi Station (high speed train terminal).The 51 Mediolanum rooms will put you in direct contact with the emotions caused by the colours: the light fills up the interiors which get painted of lively, passionate, relaxing colours. On this trail the Superior and Deluxe rooms were realized following the principles of the chromotherapy. This science links the psychical and physical wellbeing to the tones. The buttonhole flower of this rooms is the remote controller placed next to the bed thanks to which you can change the lighting in red, blue, green or yellow or mix them up. According to your mood and needs you can switch to a relaxing green, or to a concentrating purple. All the rooms All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and safe.Inside the hotel the guests can have a seat in the elegant lounge bar where a pleasant appetizer is served together with refreshing cocktails. At the light restaurant you can taste a special selection of the best Italian dishes enriched by refined wines. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. In addition at the Hotel Sanpi, located just 300 mt away under the same management, you have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness and to the meeting room Venezia.The Hotel Mediolanum Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or via gds or internet.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Mediolanum Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediolanum Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing