We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mediolanum a must for Milan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Ranked #45 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Mediolanum a must for Milan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2009

Our stay in Milan was very enjoyable and the Mediolanum provided the accommodation we needed for our city break. Arriving by train at Centrale we walked the short distance to the hotel, were greeted by a friendly receptionist and from there to our fourth floor triple room. A good size room with comfortable beds and a smart tiled shower room. The theme is comfortable modern, with interesting colour change lighting in the rooms. Breakfast is taken in the typical continental basement breakfast room, with the best hotel scrambled eggs ever! A good range a cheese, ham and cereal all included.
We stayed four nights at the Mediolanum and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable value conveniently located and modern hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

695 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    247
    312
    109
    16
    11
See reviews for
80
274
38
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, once at the beginning and once at the end of our trip in Italy as we were flying in/out of the country from Milan. Overall I thought it was a good hotel, a bit pricey but that seems to be the case with all hotels in Milan. The first night as a bonus we must've got some sort of upgrade as the room we got had 2 bedrooms in it. It is located a 5 - 10 min walk from the central station, 15 - 20 min cab ride from Cardona station (if you are taking the Malpensa Express and want to avoid the extra subway ride to central station). Some things however. It is located in a farily noisy location, one should likely bring ear plugs to get a good sleep. Also the major downer was that the AC did not work? We called the lobby at around midnight when we discovered the AC was really just recyling the air and not cooling it. The response we got was that it was likely disabled because it wasn't the season for AC. The guy on the other end was courteous and I do respect the fact that at that hour he likely couldn't do anything. But I do think Hotel management is making a serious mistake in disabling the AC and therefore making the decision for their customers on whether they need AC or not. Obviously done for cost cutting purposes. It was a generally warm day in Milan when we stayed and although the nights were fairly cool we ended up not having a pleasant stay as the humidity in the room lingered in the room after we showered. Opening the windows was out of the question as we didn't want to get any bugs into the room.
Overall a decent hotel, good location and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, manager at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 12 October 2009
Dear sir ,

thank you so much for your comment , we really would like to apologize with you for the a.c. problem at the night I can guaranteed you that the problem have been fixed as soon as we receive your comment.
However I would like to explain you and future guest how it work our a.c. system during spring or autumn season :
as we are obljed to preserve the world to the future we have a very new automatic a.c. system that in case of the outside temperature is below 15 degree the system interrupt the cooling system from 1 am to 6 am , that means that you should have receive in your room a fresh air filtrated coming from the top of the building .
probably this system did not work properly during your stay and as soon as you let us know we manage to fix it.
Hoping to see you soon again in out hotel , I wish you a nice day.

Mauro Troisi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

The Mediolanum is perfectly located for a city trip. It is 5 minutes from the main railway station and Metro and close enough to the cetre to walk.

The staff were very polite and pleasant at all times.

The decoration is, well, unusual. Someone was keen on rather pretty bold colours and in places it looked like it was completed by a keen DIYer, but inoffensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_West_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, manager at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Dear Sirs

thank you so much for your comment , we appreciate.

best regards

mauro Toisi
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2009

This is a nice hotel, very clean one, very convenient location, good breakfast, very helpful staff both at the reception and in the restaurant. I read some reviews below about the allegedly not quite safe area around the hotel - I arrived via bus from Malpensa to Grand Centrale late at night (around 1 am) and went by foot to the hotel and did not feel unsafe at all. There were some bars along via Napo Torriani, which were full of public ( people are sitting outside, have some drinks/coffee or dinner) so please don't think that it is some dark desereted area. Along with that this is not noisy, all these bars are rather for relax and having some light drinks/coffee/dinner than for hardly partying - so no drunk loud companies, etc))

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amon_Shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, manager at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
dear guest ,
we really appreciate your honest comment to the area and to the Hotel , I hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in MIlan.
yours faithfully
Mauro Troisi
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2009

Nice hotel, small elevator...breakfast is nice and the staff is very helpfull. Location of the hotel is really nice as well, walking distance from the central railway station

  • Liked — staff, really nice and friendly
  • Disliked — the streets to the hotels at some point on the way are dark, the street light is minimal
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank RuchiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, direttore at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 3 July 2009
Dear sir

Thank you so much for your comment and suggestions .

Hope to see you soon I wish you a nice day

mauro Troisi
direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2009

Booked the hotel with some trepidation after reading some of the reviews. I need not have been worried. The hotel was fabulous. We didn't arrive until 1:30am and the man on reception was very friendly and helpful.

The room was spotless, yes it's not massive but how big does the room really need to be? The bathroom had a really good shower, complimentary shampoo and conditioner. The hairdryer wasn't the fastest though.

The bedroom had plenty of wardrobe space, had a massive mirror, well stocked mini bar and the blinds outside the window are great - total blackout blinds. All operated electronically. There are also funky lights on the ceiling, can pick which colour you want.
Breakfast was what I expected - continental, which was more than adequate. Only hot food I saw was scrambled eggs.

Staff on reception very friendly and approachable. one picked out a really lovely Italian restaurant for the evening (Serafino, real Italian, we were the only English in there, beautiful food). The next day we missed breakfast and the man on reception offered to get the kitchen staff to bring us up a plate of food and some coffee or tea! Now how many hotels offer that kind of service.

All in all, a really trendy hotel, great location (only 5 mins walk to Central station) and my only criticisms would be the bed was a bit too hard for me and the hairdryer wasn't very good. But that would not stop me from booking there next time I go to Milan.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterMeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, direttore at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 3 July 2009
DEAR SIRS,

I would like to thank you for your positive comment and suggestions , I think it will help us to improve our atttention to all our clients.

Hoping to see you soon again in Milan , I wish you a nice day

mauro Troisi
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2008

We stayed at the Mediolanum for 5 nights in November this year. The rooms are very clean, bathroom is adequate / The design was modern, with art deco interior. We had the first two nights problems with VERY (till 4 am) noisy neighbours (walls are a bit thin) - after complaining, the staff tried their best to reason with the neighbours ... but in the end they offered us a diffrent room ... with slippers, robe & fruit waiting for us ... :) Breakfast was good and had everything what you can expect of a continental breakfast. .... The hotel is situated 7 mins away from the train station & 15 mins away from the city centre (duomo) ... but trams or metro were easy to reach ...! Finally we really enjoyed our stay in Mediolanum and would go back!!!

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pupsiber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, direttore at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 3 July 2009
Dear Sir

Thank you so much for your patient , we really apolozige for the first two night noise coming from other clients on the same floor.

Hoping to welcome you again in Milan ,I wish you a nice day

Mauro Troisi

direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#49 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,027 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#59 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,676 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#63 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#39 of 430 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediolanum Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Property: Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Address: Via Mauro Macchi 1 | Stazione centrale area, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#97 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediolanum Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediolanum is a modern 4 stars business hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel has been recently renovated following the last trends of the international hotellerie. The common spaces show bright colours as prevailing and shapes inspired by the contemporary design: the interiors recall the style of famous architects like Zanuso and Le Corbusier.The Hotel is located in a strategic position thanks to the closeness of the Central Station (MM2 Green Subway Line): fulcrum of the city of Milano and Air Terminal. At a small range of few hundred of meters from Via Mauro Macchi you can find the subway stations of Porta Venezia (MM1 Red Line with direct connection to the congress center and exhibition quarter) and Repubblica (MM3 Yellow Line). The railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The heart of the city is reachable on foot: in 10 minutes you can arrive to the historical part of the town where the Duomo (Cathedral) and the Teatro La Scala (Opera House) stand.In the hotel's surroundings you can find the Garibaldi Station (high speed train terminal).The 51 Mediolanum rooms will put you in direct contact with the emotions caused by the colours: the light fills up the interiors which get painted of lively, passionate, relaxing colours. On this trail the Superior and Deluxe rooms were realized following the principles of the chromotherapy. This science links the psychical and physical wellbeing to the tones. The buttonhole flower of this rooms is the remote controller placed next to the bed thanks to which you can change the lighting in red, blue, green or yellow or mix them up. According to your mood and needs you can switch to a relaxing green, or to a concentrating purple. All the rooms All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and safe.Inside the hotel the guests can have a seat in the elegant lounge bar where a pleasant appetizer is served together with refreshing cocktails. At the light restaurant you can taste a special selection of the best Italian dishes enriched by refined wines. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. In addition at the Hotel Sanpi, located just 300 mt away under the same management, you have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness and to the meeting room Venezia.The Hotel Mediolanum Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or via gds or internet.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mediolanum Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediolanum Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing