We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“faultless hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Ranked #39 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
devon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“faultless hotel”
Reviewed 29 January 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Mediolanum from 22nd to 25th January and found the hotel to be excellent in every way. This is a very modern hotel and at first the rooms look a little bare in comparison to the usual hotel furnishings, but actually are very comfortable. The rooms are warm, the beds are comfortable and the bathrooms modern. (It was bitterly cold while we were there and we really appreciated coming back to a lovely warm room.) The hotel is literally a 5 minute walk from the central station where the transfer buses from the airport drop you off. We found it to be a perfect spot as the hotel was easy to find when we arrived, but far enough away from the station to be in a more pleasant, less busy street. The staff were always friendly helpful and courteous and when we asked for information on trains to Lake Como the man on reception not only looked it up, but printed out a copy of the timetable for us. Breakfast is the usual continental breakfast you find in most european hotels, perfectly adequate to set you up for the day and the coffee was lovely! All in all we had a most enjoyable stay and would definitely choose this hotel again.
To the manager, who often reads and replies to these reviews, well done! The Mediolanum is a lovely hotel and the staff are a credit yo you. Thank you all for making our trip to Milan so enjoyable.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twoofusDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    316
    109
    16
    11
See reviews for
81
280
40
152
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Catalunya
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2010

The hotel is located in a quiet place, no noisy street. The hotel by itself is nice, confortable and well located. The best of it has been the Staff, Andrea at breackfast room took care of me and my colleagues every morning, realy kind: Felipe at the bar, was also very kind and pleasant and also, Marco the recepcionist was really patient, smily and gave us really good reccommendations. They are probably the best. In general good place for a weekend and not expensive at all.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank klikpasion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2009

My daughter, who is spending her junior year abroad in Florence, stayed with me at the Mediolanum. I thought she would enjoy all the bright colors and sure enough, it was a hit. It's a really cheerful hotel. The staff--from the people at the front desk to the bell hops--were helpful, courteous, and always professional. It's a well-run hotel. We liked the location as we had heavy bags and it was an easy walk from the train station. The neighborhood is safe and the street the hotel is on is many beautiful old buildings in it. We walked as far as the Cathedral and Castle while sightseeing and didn't find the hotel out of the way at all!

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mermaid929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2009

Our stay in Milan was very enjoyable and the Mediolanum provided the accommodation we needed for our city break. Arriving by train at Centrale we walked the short distance to the hotel, were greeted by a friendly receptionist and from there to our fourth floor triple room. A good size room with comfortable beds and a smart tiled shower room. The theme is comfortable modern, with interesting colour change lighting in the rooms. Breakfast is taken in the typical continental basement breakfast room, with the best hotel scrambled eggs ever! A good range a cheese, ham and cereal all included.
We stayed four nights at the Mediolanum and would recommend it to anyone looking for a reasonable value conveniently located and modern hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shentone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokyo
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, once at the beginning and once at the end of our trip in Italy as we were flying in/out of the country from Milan. Overall I thought it was a good hotel, a bit pricey but that seems to be the case with all hotels in Milan. The first night as a bonus we must've got some sort of upgrade as the room we got had 2 bedrooms in it. It is located a 5 - 10 min walk from the central station, 15 - 20 min cab ride from Cardona station (if you are taking the Malpensa Express and want to avoid the extra subway ride to central station). Some things however. It is located in a farily noisy location, one should likely bring ear plugs to get a good sleep. Also the major downer was that the AC did not work? We called the lobby at around midnight when we discovered the AC was really just recyling the air and not cooling it. The response we got was that it was likely disabled because it wasn't the season for AC. The guy on the other end was courteous and I do respect the fact that at that hour he likely couldn't do anything. But I do think Hotel management is making a serious mistake in disabling the AC and therefore making the decision for their customers on whether they need AC or not. Obviously done for cost cutting purposes. It was a generally warm day in Milan when we stayed and although the nights were fairly cool we ended up not having a pleasant stay as the humidity in the room lingered in the room after we showered. Opening the windows was out of the question as we didn't want to get any bugs into the room.
Overall a decent hotel, good location and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shawnth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, manager at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 12 October 2009
Dear sir ,

thank you so much for your comment , we really would like to apologize with you for the a.c. problem at the night I can guaranteed you that the problem have been fixed as soon as we receive your comment.
However I would like to explain you and future guest how it work our a.c. system during spring or autumn season :
as we are obljed to preserve the world to the future we have a very new automatic a.c. system that in case of the outside temperature is below 15 degree the system interrupt the cooling system from 1 am to 6 am , that means that you should have receive in your room a fresh air filtrated coming from the top of the building .
probably this system did not work properly during your stay and as soon as you let us know we manage to fix it.
Hoping to see you soon again in out hotel , I wish you a nice day.

Mauro Troisi
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2009

The Mediolanum is perfectly located for a city trip. It is 5 minutes from the main railway station and Metro and close enough to the cetre to walk.

The staff were very polite and pleasant at all times.

The decoration is, well, unusual. Someone was keen on rather pretty bold colours and in places it looked like it was completed by a keen DIYer, but inoffensive.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim_West_Sussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, manager at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 18 September 2009
Dear Sirs

thank you so much for your comment , we appreciate.

best regards

mauro Toisi
manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2009

This is a nice hotel, very clean one, very convenient location, good breakfast, very helpful staff both at the reception and in the restaurant. I read some reviews below about the allegedly not quite safe area around the hotel - I arrived via bus from Malpensa to Grand Centrale late at night (around 1 am) and went by foot to the hotel and did not feel unsafe at all. There were some bars along via Napo Torriani, which were full of public ( people are sitting outside, have some drinks/coffee or dinner) so please don't think that it is some dark desereted area. Along with that this is not noisy, all these bars are rather for relax and having some light drinks/coffee/dinner than for hardly partying - so no drunk loud companies, etc))

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amon_Shi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
troisi, manager at Hotel Mediolanum Milan, responded to this review, 22 July 2009
dear guest ,
we really appreciate your honest comment to the area and to the Hotel , I hope to be able to welcome you again in our hotel in MIlan.
yours faithfully
Mauro Troisi
general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#46 of 431 in Milan
1,047 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#35 of 431 in Milan
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
6,196 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Windsor Hotel Milano
Windsor Hotel Milano
#61 of 431 in Milan
1,722 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#67 of 431 in Milan
694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mediolanum Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mediolanum Milan

Property: Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Address: Via Mauro Macchi 1 | Stazione centrale area, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#82 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#97 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mediolanum Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Mediolanum is a modern 4 stars business hotel member of the international chain Worldhotels. The hotel has been recently renovated following the last trends of the international hotellerie. The common spaces show bright colours as prevailing and shapes inspired by the contemporary design: the interiors recall the style of famous architects like Zanuso and Le Corbusier.The Hotel is located in a strategic position thanks to the closeness of the Central Station (MM2 Green Subway Line): fulcrum of the city of Milano and Air Terminal. At a small range of few hundred of meters from Via Mauro Macchi you can find the subway stations of Porta Venezia (MM1 Red Line with direct connection to the congress center and exhibition quarter) and Repubblica (MM3 Yellow Line). The railway link stops in both and it connects with the nearby cities. The heart of the city is reachable on foot: in 10 minutes you can arrive to the historical part of the town where the Duomo (Cathedral) and the Teatro La Scala (Opera House) stand.In the hotel's surroundings you can find the Garibaldi Station (high speed train terminal).The 51 Mediolanum rooms will put you in direct contact with the emotions caused by the colours: the light fills up the interiors which get painted of lively, passionate, relaxing colours. On this trail the Superior and Deluxe rooms were realized following the principles of the chromotherapy. This science links the psychical and physical wellbeing to the tones. The buttonhole flower of this rooms is the remote controller placed next to the bed thanks to which you can change the lighting in red, blue, green or yellow or mix them up. According to your mood and needs you can switch to a relaxing green, or to a concentrating purple. All the rooms All the rooms are soundproof and equipped with air conditioning, parquet floor, free satellite TV, telephone, Wi-Fi and safe.Inside the hotel the guests can have a seat in the elegant lounge bar where a pleasant appetizer is served together with refreshing cocktails. At the light restaurant you can taste a special selection of the best Italian dishes enriched by refined wines. The Business corner is equipped with a PC with internet connection, a printer, fax and a photocopier and it is always at the guests' disposal. In addition at the Hotel Sanpi, located just 300 mt away under the same management, you have access to the modern fitness room Technogym wellness and to the meeting room Venezia.The Hotel Mediolanum Milano is member of the international hotel chain Worldhotels and it is identified by the code WW in the GDS systems. The reservations can be done directly or via gds or internet.thank you for your attention and time. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mediolanum Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mediolanum Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing