We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shoebox size room, 2* quality !!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
Ranked #125 of 427 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Shoebox size room, 2* quality !!”
Reviewed 23 December 2013

Have stayed at UNA Hotel Mediterraneo many a times as my office had a special rates with this hotel.

the hotel has one of the smallest rooms I have ever stayed in with little space to move around and with 2 people in the room it felt like we were competing for breathing air in the room (slight exaggeration)... In winters the heating system of the hotel was tremendously under pressure resulting in very cold rooms... Also the lights used in the room was highly energy saving which basically meant extremely low lighting in the room... Overall many a shortcomings !!

Breakfast very basic with limited choice of fresh food, a lot of bakery (cakes etc) were on display but seriously who would want to eat cakes in the morning....

Only decent thing about the hotel was the staff who were nice and polite ....

Even after the special rate, the hotel was almost as expensive as any other 4 star hotel around.. This hotel claims to be a 4 star but I would give it no more than 2 star having stayed at a number of 4 and 3 star hotels in Milan..

I wouldn't want to stay here ever if I had a choice !!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AV_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UnaMediterraneo, Direttore at UNA Hotel Mediterraneo, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Dear AV Surrey,
I would like to thank you to have left your opinion on TripAdvisor. This will help us to monitor the quality of our services.
I apologize for the negative impression you had about the room, the temperature in all our rooms is usually setted on 20° C. and are all equipped with 5/6 lighting points; I invite you to try the comfort of one of the Superior Rooms that are all of 21 sq. m.
I want to apologize as well for the negative impression you had on the buffet breakfast that usually is very appreciated by our guests, in fact in addition to fresh bakery products, we offer 4 kind of bread, toastes, scramble eggs, hard-boiled eggs, bacon, 4 different kind of cold cuts, 4 different kind of cheese, fresh mozzarella, fresh salad, fresh tomatoes and fresh carrots.
I thank you very much on behalf of all the staff for the good words you spent about them.
We hope to see you soon at UNA Hotel Mediterraneo to offer you a new experience in our hotel.
Best Regards.

Luca Giuliano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    257
    113
    23
    15
See reviews for
84
121
25
195
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 December 2013

I stayed here for 2 nights during an academic conference. The room was small but clean. The walls didn't protect from the street or corridor noises. However, the street does not have much traffic and the hotel was quite quiet anyway. I had no problems with the noises although they could be heard occasionally.

The location is really good for the subway and trams. The neighborhood isn't anything special but you can get quite easily to Duomo and central station.

The breakfast was great. Fresh breads, hams, cheeses, bacon and eggs. Especially delicious cakes, croissants and coffee were luxurious compared to many of the other hotels I have visited during last few months. Of course, there was also a lot of healthy fruits. After having visited three weeks USA hotels this breakfast was a fantastic. In USA you pay twice as much for the room and you still get food that can't be eaten even by European street dogs.

In general, nice and clean hotel in a good location. Nothing special except finally good European breakfasts. The quality of the food is simply so much better than in USA that its worth of the 4th star.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SurffariLarusta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We had a rather small room but it was just big enough. The hotel was very well located near a metro station. Parking was good - just outside the hotel - there were pleasant local bars for aperatif! Staff were helpful and breakfast was adequate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RosaBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel has a modern feel to it and it is in quite good shape. The breakfast food was good: eggs, fresh fruits, breads, cereals, fresh cheese. There is a metro stop about 2 blocks away called Porta Romana and from there you can hop on the metro to the Duomo and other key points in Milan. The hotel staff was friendly.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Born_yesterday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb, Croatia
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

I was surprised how lovely is this hotel! Everybody was very kind and helpfull, the breakfast is very good and tasty, but the ham and croissant with vanilla cream are the best choice for me! The single room is enough comfortable and very clean! Hope, i'll be back!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Lorina7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Great location of this hotel near several restaurants. The staff is helpful, at the same time several aspects are out of date (free wifi for one hour, not available independent heater in the room - I was freezing in the room-, restaurant that at 9,30 pm just can prepare sandwiches).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renato28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This is a modern, bright, efficient hotel in Milan with a somewhat "corporate" feel, but none the worse for that. Air conditioned, good breakfast including cooked food. Our rooms were small but well-designed with ample hanging space in the wardrobes and a good sized bathroom. Safe in bedroom. Hairdryer in bathroom. Situated four stops from the Duomo/town centre by metro/subway (Porta Romana station), also walkable if you feel so inclined. The whole hotel was clean, and the staff were without exception friendly and helpful. The breakfast area does convert to a small bar in the evenings and evening meals are provided, but we didnt see anyone using this facility whilst we were there. As others have commented, there is no iron and a short flight of stairs to Reception from street level. The bed was very comfortable indeed and I found our room on the third floor to be quiet at night. On the final day we got unlimited wi-fi and minibar for 12 euros. We felt it was good, if not exceptiona, value overall.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MKFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Five
Hotel Five
#86 of 427 in Milan
544 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Major
Best Western Hotel Major
#172 of 427 in Milan
384 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Palladio
Hotel Palladio
#62 of 427 in Milan
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Visconti Palace
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,819 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Piacenza
Hotel Piacenza
#227 of 427 in Milan
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crivis Hotel
Crivis Hotel
#245 of 427 in Milan
153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to UNA Hotel Mediterraneo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about UNA Hotel Mediterraneo

Property: UNA Hotel Mediterraneo
Address: Via Ludovico Muratori 14, 20135 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#100 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#102 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — UNA Hotel Mediterraneo 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A modern and efficient structure, this hotel has 93 newly renovated rooms and 3 meeting rooms with natural light accommodating up to 70 people. The restaurant provides a comfortable and cozy atmosphere, offering a Mediterranean cuisine. Parking nearby the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your UNA Hotel Mediterraneo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Una Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing