We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a stay”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #36 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We checked in on their very first day. It is an odd way to experience a hotel as everything was pristine and the front desk staff a bit unprepared for the reality of guests. The location is great, literally across the street from the train station (although not so grand for great restaurants). The room is lovely and the bathroom with the rainforest shower head, delightful. If you are passing through Milan and need to be near the train station, this is the place for you. The breakfast is plentiful and the patio is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,342)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

541 - 547 of 1,343 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have a 4-person non-refundable family room available at this hotel for the next two nights (28-30 Sept) that I can no longer use. If anyone is arriving in Milan in the night of 26 September or morning of 27 September and needs a room then I can on-sell my room at a greatly reduced rate. Please contact me at italytrip19@gmail.com and I am able to meet you at the hotel by before 11am on 27 September.

In terms of review for my stay over the last two nights, this was a very good hotel and newly refurbished in September 2011. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2011

Great hotel, located in a very good location. We stayed here only one night and absolutely loved it. The hotel is very stylish and modern.
This hotel is newly renovated. This hotel is highly recommended. It was a real value for the money deal.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank upop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Nice hotel location - near the big shopping street and many restaurants.
In hotel is very silent. The fine buffet and premise where is spent a breakfast. The friendly personnel of hotel on Reception.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maxim_vu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2010

A bit faded, in a back street, but comfy and soundproof. Helpful staff and a good breakfast available. Ideal for what we wanted, travelling around Europe.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kwalea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2010

I found this hotel chic and comfortable. The staff made us feel like we were the king and queen of a country and all our needs were met with courtesy and professionalism. The location is perfect....the heart of Milan...and I would recommend this hotel to anyone who travels to Italy. In fact, we stayed at all StarHotels throughout our Italian getaway and all lived up to 5 Star standards!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mshell1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I booked this hotel for my last night in Italy for its proximity to the airport buses. I was a little leery about this choice of hotel because of the many negative reviews here at Trip Advisor. But I am happy to say that I suffered none of the negative experiences at the Splendido that others pointed out.

A) My room was not in the least bit small. I was in Room 430 which was the last one at the end of the hall of the wing to the right from the elevators. It wasn't the least bit noisy.

B) The bathroom was large enough with a bath tub with a shower (Not a narrow shower stall). The bathroom also included a small TV and a phone. Ample towels including bath-mat and washcloths.

C) I had requested a double bed (King or queen) because of my height. It turned out to be two twins pushed together but the bed had enough length and was very comfortable.

D) I arrived by train in Milano Central at about 1145 but they checked me in right away. I was not required to wait.

E) One couple in an earlier review stated that they had left money in the room and a small amount was taken. My room came equipped with a safe which was situated in the closet. The problem with the safe was that the room did not have an indirect ceiling light - just lamps on the bedstands and desk - so I wasn't able to read the instructions on how to use the safe. It looked like you'd have to create a combination.

F) Check in staff very nice and welcoming. Had no problem with them at all.

G) Breakfast was ample with tasty brioche or croissants. There were scrambled eggs with bacon available, plus hot and cold cereals, breads, cakes, fruits, yogurt, and juices. On the whole Europe still doesn't come close to Asia for the breakfast buffets, but this hotel's breakfast selection was quite worthwhile.

H) I requested a wake-up and while I didn't need it as I had already awakened, it did come at the requested time.

I) Dinner - as many have said the train station area doesn't have notable restaurants. Their either quite costly or you have to resort to McDonald's, pizza, or sandwiches bought in the railroad station. For what ever reason, I hadn't left myself with enough euros (I did have plenty of US $ on me, but didn't want to have to convert again) to spend on a good expensive dinner and I wanted something more than fast food, so I decided to have a nice dinner at the hotel which I would sign for and have it charged to the room. A small appetizer appeared gratis, then I had a mushroom salad, a pasta main course, a bottle of water, and a beer came to 30 ($42 US dollars) Euros including the cover charge. I don't think it was worth 42 US dollars but at least it was pretty good.

J) Check out was hassle free.

Summary: I was pleased with the hotel and was sorry that I hadn't stayed there upon my arrival (I bookended Milan at the beginning and end of my travels in Italy). I asked about the internet and yes it was expensive, but it always is at a hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarasotaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#67 of 428 in Milan
1,434 reviews
Stazione Centrale
c-hotels Atlantic
c-hotels Atlantic
#62 of 428 in Milan
996 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#11 of 428 in Milan
6,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#49 of 428 in Milan
1,319 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#38 of 428 in Milan
783 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#79 of 428 in Milan
1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#30 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £104 - £283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing