We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our stay at Starhotels E.c.h.o. was so disapponting”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #35 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 22 October 2011

Thanks to their presentation in the internet, we expected a lot from our stay at Starhotels Echo : special opening rates (that we didnt get, why?); beautiful rooms with Starbeds and Pillowmania (that we got); a spacious fitness (that wasnt ready and thus not open), WLAN (that didnt work), SKYTV (which meant that only Italian channels were freely available: all English channels were pay-TV - this the personnell told us only night 2). On top of this, other details were very disturbing: the first night we had problems falling asleep due to the subway underneath the hotel that passed every 5 minutes til 4 am; we were furtermore continously woken up by returning hotel-guests; the second night we were in addition woken up by the TV turnig on and off severel times by itself....

Room Tip: Maybe the rooms on the top floors dont hear the subway beneath the hotel?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annasofia_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

551 - 557 of 1,390 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

Very close to train station - service was excellent -rooms small but modern and comfortable and for the price I was very impressed .We asked for and got a late check out -2 pm.Breakfast was very impressive .

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pabsie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2011

The StarHotel chain is the largest 4 star hotel in Italy. This hotel was the chain's newest hotel in Milan. The style is eco-design.

I was impressed by the huge room that had a balcony facing Milan, the beautiful design of the hotel and the young modern and design feeling. Location is excellent right across from the Central Station, allowing for easy access to metro and to trains for trips to Florence Rome and other places in Italy.

The fitness room on the roof has a spectacular view of Milan. There was no TV in the fitness room but this was compensated by the breathtaking views. The breakfast was enormous and it felt like we were in a garden and not in a major metropolis. Rate vs. quality of the hotel was good. Very hospitable and courteous service from the staff.

The only negative is that there is no wifi in the rooms but the lobby wifi is free. I look forward to returning.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank parisianangel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2011

First time to Milan and stayed there for 3 nights. The front desk didn't really pay attention to my reservation request. But the second staff corrected it.

Pros
- the main train station and subway is across the street, a short subway ride to the Duomo and other places
- clean and renovated hotel
- good size and quiet room
- good size bathroom
- good breakfast selections and plenty of refills
- friendly staff
- free gym (but the gym was under renovation so they sent me to their sister hotel next door to use their gym. Simple and not a whole lot but better than nothing


Cons
- shower too small
- on two mornings, the staff members took forever to bring people coffee and tea. I had mine delivered to me AFTER my breakfast was finished
- charge for wifi! And the wifi you pay per day only works on one device. I had my laptop and iPhone with me and paid for wifi to use on iPhone only. Had to request free 30 mins wifi access for laptop in lobby

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cuteasianjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Have been to Milan many many times. This year I noticed the price of the hotels close to Milan Centrale all went up!
From the map I wasn't sure if this hotel would be close enough for me to drag my super big and heavy luggages. But it turned out that I just had to walk to the back side of the hotel (where people waited for taxi), and it's right there.

Hotel staff all very, very friendly. Speak ok/good English.

Breakfast was nice. Loved the fact they had nice and fresh salad leaves and fruit.

Overall I enjoyed my stay. But I feel the CP value of this hotel is not great.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LanaWood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We checked in on their very first day. It is an odd way to experience a hotel as everything was pristine and the front desk staff a bit unprepared for the reality of guests. The location is great, literally across the street from the train station (although not so grand for great restaurants). The room is lovely and the bathroom with the rainforest shower head, delightful. If you are passing through Milan and need to be near the train station, this is the place for you. The breakfast is plentiful and the patio is delightful.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Consultanttraveler55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

I have a 4-person non-refundable family room available at this hotel for the next two nights (28-30 Sept) that I can no longer use. If anyone is arriving in Milan in the night of 26 September or morning of 27 September and needs a room then I can on-sell my room at a greatly reduced rate. Please contact me at italytrip19@gmail.com and I am able to meet you at the hotel by before 11am on 27 September.

In terms of review for my stay over the last two nights, this was a very good hotel and newly refurbished in September 2011. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Milantrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#66 of 431 in Milan
1,470 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#10 of 431 in Milan
6,868 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#60 of 431 in Milan
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#48 of 431 in Milan
1,378 reviews
nhow Milano
#28 of 431 in Milan
2,074 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#76 of 431 in Milan
2,800 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#22 Family Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £104 - £382 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing