We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal hotel for a short stay stop-over.”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 September 2012

We selected this hotel based on the Trip Advisor reviews and due to its close proximity to the Central Station. We were only in Milan on a stop-over so this was an ideal choice. It is a modern hotel with comfortable bed, in room safe and mini bar and an excellent en-suite. The rooms are small however and there is no in-room kettle which we found is quite common in Europe. The room we were allocated even had a nice balcony with table and chairs which was an unexpected bonus. The breakfast was very good with the usual selection of cereals, fruit, breads etc. We would stay again if in Milan, and if you are only looking for a hotel for a short stay I would recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bluemantraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,360)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

486 - 492 of 1,360 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2012

I stayed here for four nights on business. There's a lot about this hotel that was really great, the rooms are newly refurbished to a very high standard, the beds are comfortable, rooms are very quiet (even when the hotel is full) and the location is convenient. The hotel is situated in a comparatively quiet road almost opposite Milan's central station, a magnificent building which is a tourist attraction in its own right, and although there is very little of interest nearby (no shops other than at the station and only a few restaurants) you are only a 4-stop, 1.50 Euro metro trip from the Duomo and historic city centre. However, there were some problems too. The staff were always friendly and did their best, but the restaurant and bar service was chaotic and everyone serving food seemed hassled and over-stretched. There were always 2 or 3 people at reception and 2 people at the door, even if there were no guests around, but at most one or 2 people serving breakfast to a full restaurant, with predictable results. You usually had to ask at least twice for everything and there was little or no flexibility if an unexpected request was made of the kitchen, even when we were the only people having dinner. Food quality was variable, from excellent to inedible. The shower thermostat in the bathroom had a mind of its own, and the water either freezing or boiling, often changing from one to the other without warning. Overall I'd say it's not a bad choice in Milan and there is much that's good or very good about the hotel, but they really need to improve the restaurant staffing levels and sort out the hot water system.

Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
Thank traveller_constant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The obvious selling point for this hotel is the proximity to the Central Station for train, bus and metro connections. This is why we chose it for our first two nights in Italy.

The newly appointed rooms were a wonderful surprise. It's very clean and eco friendly. We would absolutely choose this hotel again when in Milan.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rdskolars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2012

The hotel has obviously been totally modernised and looks very nice. However, at breakfast the bacon was undercooked and the scrambled egg didn't taste right and most people left it on their plates. If you have a shower beware - the water suddenly goes cold and we weren't the only ones that experienced this. Also I heard the person in the adjoining room using the toilet. Not nice! However, as I run my own business the most annoying thing was the lack of wifi. Yes they have free wifi but only downstairs in the reception area and you only get 30 minutes at at time and then it cuts off and you have to go to reception for another code. To add to this when attempting to address any requirements, we had problems with the staff's lack of command of the English language, which was very limited. One would not expect this in a major European city.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012 via mobile

Beautiful, well-appointed room. Beautiful hotel.
Dinner was excellent. Service a little slow.
The breakfast buffet was also really good in terms of the choice but the service was a little lacking again. All in all it was friendly but a little slow.
Would stay here again.

Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We booked this hotel due to its proximity to where the bus to the airport left in the morning. We had a very early flight so needed to be at the bus stop for 7am.

The hotel is modern, exceptionally sparkly and clean. Lots of smart looking staff looking efficient.

The hairdryer I had didn't work - but just rang down and they sent another one up straight away. But then before we were about to retire for the evening, we noticed a very annoying beeping. The slots for the keycards beep at you if you don't put the card in when you enter the room, but it wasn't ours beeping - it was next doors.

A chap came up from reception, took a while for him to figure out what we were telling him - he started looking in the wardrobe (quite odd - nowhere near the door!) but eventually twigged what we were on about. After half an hour he'd sussed it - and gave us a knock to ensure we were happy with things.

Great staff, great hotel, wonderful breakfast (actually serving from 6.30am when we were there - but advertised as 7am) - highly recommended and not that far from the centre if you don't mind a stroll (or a couple of Metro stops if you prefer).

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LizzieBHalifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

Echo was our final hotel and Milan was our final destination of our holiday.

The hotel is in a fantastic location being close to the train station and only a short walk to major shops and a nice 20-30 minute walk to the Duomo. This walk is easy and while walking you can shop! Sounds far but really isn’t!

The staff were very helpful and the hotel was presented beautifully.

Our room was stunning, my partner and I actually discussed making our bathroom/bedroom similar if we had the money!!! Both our room and the entire hotel were very beautiful and kept in greater (clean) condition.

It was a good sign when about 6 people were checking in when we were and the same for each morning we walked out of the hotel. There were always a lot of people checking in but the staff handle everything very well and attend to everyone with 100% attention.


I will definitely be staying at Echo hotel again if I go to Milan. I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carla110490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#68 of 428 in Milan
1,443 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#11 of 428 in Milan
6,758 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 428 in Milan
2,732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
nhow Milano
#28 of 428 in Milan
1,996 reviews
Centro Storico
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Stazione Centrale
c-hotels Atlantic
c-hotels Atlantic
#59 of 428 in Milan
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £101 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing