We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top end chic hotel”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Birmingham
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Top end chic hotel”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Visited this hotel for my anniversary with my wife and it was very special - This hotel fits in with the chic style of Milan, the room decor is of a very high standard, modern and clean - the bathroom especially was amazing. The reception staff were very helpful but wifi was only available in the reception for free.

The location is fairly central - the walk in to town was a bit longer than I imagined but being next to the main train station meant the metro was a better idea. The bus from all the airports including Bergamo where we flew in was literally over the road. It was about an hour coach ride from the airport.

Overall a nice stay at a chic and trendy city.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1crew_hss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    583
    549
    95
    35
    40
See reviews for
200
486
54
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

Hotel is located a short walk from the central station. It's also where the metro station is located so getting in around the city, to other cities or to the Malpensa airport is extremely convenient. The staff of the hotel were professional and courteous and spoke English well (even housekeeping!). We chose this hotel mainly because it was one of the few that has a Family room, essentially 2 interconnecting rooms, each with its own bathroom. The rooms were modern, clean and had wooden floors (something we look for in all hotels). The bathrooms were a a good size, modern and also extremely clean. Everything worked well so we didnt have any complaints. In fact we enjoyed it so much that we booked to stay at this hotel again on our return to Milan.
Breakfast was good and had quite a wide selection of items.

One drawback is that the rooms do not have free wifi. If you want it in your room fork out Eur6 per day. Free wifi is only available in the lobby although i had trouble connecting to it. Another drawback is that there aren't alot of restaurants nor grocery stories around the hotel. For us it wasn't an issue because we were out and about in other areas anyways. Other than these 2 drawbacks this is a great 4 star hotel. I highly recommend it to anyone who wish for a relaxing, comforting stay in busy Milan

Room Tip: For a family of 4 make sure you book a Family room. It's well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prickycritic05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Nice, modern hotel right across the Central Station. Room was clean, spacious and modern, as was the bathroom. Location was excellent. Rate was reasonable. We did not take advantage of its proximity to the metro and train stations though as we drove, but we understand the Duomo and Via Montenapoleone were only a couple of stations away (and only a 5 minutes drive by car). For those who are considering driving to the hotel and are worried about finding parking, there are plenty of off-street parking spaces just outside the hotel which are free on Sunday all day, and for around a euro an hour during other times. Otherwise you may park at the hotel's garage for 25 euros per day. Internet is free in the lobby, and you have the option of paying 6 euros for 24 hours of unlimited access (note this is per device only) which I thought was pretty reasonable. Overall a very good choice and I would recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Milan.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JC_sakura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

We are a couple with a baby. We booked a junior suit. We found out that it is only two connected rooms with a common door. I spoke to the hotel when arrived that it is just a waste because i dont need two rooms for 4 adults and wondered we can change to a standard room and i dont mind paying for the baby cot. The staff at the reception just told me ' it is what you booked and it is what it is . It is okay that you dont use the other room but you still need to pay....."

I had no issue with other hotels across the world with staying in a standard room with a baby cot. This one is the only exception ! I dont mind paying for a real suit ( this is what i did a few days ago in Paris) but i do mind paying double for a second room simply because i have a baby. In fact, a standard room can accommdate a baby cot (and was available) and i believe my request is a sensible one. The hotel charged me directly and thus technically, it is not difficult for the

Speaking of a baby cot, we requested a baby cot upfront. We arrived at 12pm and they did not allow us to check in ( i know it is their policy but i feel they dont care about that we have a baby.....). We finally checked in at 5pm and there was no baby cot set up in the room. We ended up with waiting for the baby cot for 90 mins ( i chased 4 times).

The next morning, we went down for breakfast and went back to the room at 9am only to find out that our "suit' was being cleaned even though i have put up "do not disturb" on the door.

The attitude of the staff is far below par. I dont feel like they treat us as a guess.

The breakfast is bad (quality and quantity)

So, this is not a right place for vacation ! If location is the ONLY factor you care, you may consider this hotel as it is close to the train station.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MacMini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

After spending a week in Bellagio and Stresa, we needed a comfortable clean room handy to the
Centrale train station in Milan to fly out early 2 days later. Star Echo was it!

The rooms are super clean, and the bed was so very comfortable after sleeping on the hard beds throughout Italy. Great décor for small rooms, every comfort you could ask for, especially for a European hotel with 3 stars.The bus is easier to take to the airport and leaves from outside the train station, right across the street. In fact, there are busses lined up which seemed to leave every 30 minutes or more without reservation and very easy to walk over with rolling luggage from the hotel. Free wi fi is available for limited time frames, but the desk person was happy to allow me to extend my wifi longer if needed. He recommended great local restaurants as well. This place was a great surprise to end our stay for cleanliness, comfort and convenience.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jan w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This hotel is opposite the bus terminal at Milan Central station. A very convenient location for airport buses and trains, and walking distance to the historic and shopping centres of Milan.

Most people were staying for one night or so. A number of guests were from Asia, and I think that the hotel tries to get to the top of the internet booking listings so that it becomes the default choice. So, room prices are a bit higher than the nearby competitors.

Best points: 1. hotel is new. 2. Location. 3. Wi-fi works and is included in price.

Not so good points:
1. small rooms (except for junior suites).
2. balconies are useless: too narrow, concrete walls.
3. public areas are a bit lacking in ambiance but the hotel provides a nice selection of finger food to accompany drinks bought at the bar in the evening. However most guests disappear in the day and evening.

Room Tip: Room #03 is a junior suite and has the best aspect Avoid rooms #21 and upwards - due to poor view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

If you want to enjoy a stopover in Milano, look no further. E.c.ho., Eco Contemporary Hotel, boasts stunning structure and is exclusively eco-friendly. Next to the railway station and few minutes from the city centre, this innovative hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low ecological footprint, so as well as enjoying yourself, you know you are helping the environment.

The look and feel is natural and elegant, with visually striking elements and plenty of natural light everywhere. Bold and cool yet comfortable and convenient so you can relax after busy day shopping or sightseeing.

The hotel staff is somewhat reserved but polite and efficient, rooms are clean and functional, buffet breakfast with plenty of choices. Good value for money, well recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#59 of 428 in Milan
1,401 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#54 of 428 in Milan
1,287 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,484 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#36 of 428 in Milan
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing