We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Good hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

This is my second stay at this hotel and I can say I am happy to return, the service and rooms were excellent, very spacious room. Regarding the restaurant I was a bit disappointing with the quality of the food, during my previous stay it was much better, could be that they changed the chef. Besides that the hotel is in good location very convenient to the train station

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beatriztrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,256 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    563
    530
    92
    32
    39
See reviews for
185
474
52
315
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio TX
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We spent a night in Milan at Starhotels E.c.ho. to get over jet lag before continuing on to Lake Como. The staff was friendly and the room was immaculately clean. Ultra-modern decor and a great breakfast buffet. It's right across the street from Milan Centrale and easy to find (look up for the marquee)....even if you're jet-lagged. Due to a train strike on our departure day, we ended up spending the afternoon in the hotel lobby. A great find.

Room Tip: All rooms are really quiet....even in Milan!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flavorchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

This nicely contemporary hotel is a short walk from the train station. We flew into Milan on our way to other spots in Italy and spent the night. A mile walk to the Galleria and Catherdral, with nearby restaurants (get off the tourist track and find La Baita for a nice meal), this is a convenient way to see Milan. Great breakfast buffet.

They also let us wait out a train strike (welcome to Italy!) in their lobby on our departure day. It was much appreciated as we were exhausted.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper
Level Contributor
36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

Starhotels Echo Milan is located steps from the Centrale train and metro station, making it especially convenient for day trips or short stays. The hotel’s Green Globe Certification may also appeal to the environmentally-conscious traveller. But the eco theme is taken a bit too literally in the decor and not seriously enough in other aspects. The backlit nature scene throughout the lobby and dining area is a real eyesore, and the use of disposable plastic cups and toiletry packaging is inconsistent with planet-friendly practices. Other annoyances include limits on guest Wi-Fi, poor shower drainage, as well as a non-intuitive room safe and TV system. A few issues aside, the breakfast buffet had excellent croissants and the view from the fitness room is worth a gander.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank monkeyface09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed in a deluxe room for 3 nights. The décor was modern and fresh. Minibar was well stocked. Bed was comfortable. Our bathroom was a disabled friendly room, so quite large, I'm not if other rooms would have such a large bathroom (so big, we put our daughters cot in there so she could have her own space :)).

Breakfast was included and was overall quite good, however the hot foods were basic (just powdered eggs, bacon and sausages) and not particularly nice. Fruit, pastries and coffee were great.

Staff were friendly and helpful, we had a few technical issues with our room, which were attended to promptly.

Overall a great hotel, an a good location, highly recommended.

Room Tip: We were given a disabled friendly room, which had a very large bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Y0ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

We have stayed one night but will come back.
the location is ideal the train station is just opposite. hbut very convinient if you have car . parking is available and the hotel staff park the car for you at aditional price.
The room is rather small but very nice and so is the bathroom.
The front desk is extremly nice- especially Luigi....
Breakfast was very good.
All in all was a very good experience

Room Tip: non amoking one bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank osnat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

The Starhotels ECHO is conveniently located a stone's throw from the Central Station of Milan. It makes a convenient transit stay for travelers heading out to other parts of Italy if Milan does not make your main itinerary. There are of course hotels closer to the city centre or shopping streets of Montenapoleone or the Duomo but Starhotels Echo is only a few Metro stops away from these areas again through the train station.

The hotel is modern and adequate. I wouldn't say it is top class in modern design but it makes a good effort by staying non cheesy and honest in their aesthetic approach.

The rooms are also simple and do their job. The hot water is amazingly fast and ready and everything works.

The staff however is not always at their best and I suppose it is the Milanese way of playing hosts. There is a particular female restaurant captain who will gladly insist that she's not the person bringing you your coffee. The one that does though is a very friendly and tireless waitress though.

Starhotels Echo is a no nonsense good clean place to be in. Just don't expect staff that'll go all out of their way to serve or connect with you or start that friendly chitchat. Just get in, pay and get out. There's no free wifi other than a measly one hour free. But hey, try finding another place that'll include breakfast in your stay. Even the Bvlgari or Armani Hotels stinge on that!

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Benny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#60 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,361 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#68 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#46 of 431 in Milan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Stazione Centrale
BEST WESTERN Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#14 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing