We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close proximity to Milano Centrale + Modern Hotel”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #35 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The Echo is very close to Milano Centrale, which makes this hotel a great choice for a quick overnight stay. If you are visiting Milan for tourism, stay closer to the Duomo as the Echo is about a 45 minute walk (although it is metro accessible). There are not many restaurant options in this area.

The hotel itself is clean and modern. Service is helpful enough and breakfast is pretty standard. The rooms are updated and some even have balconies. The Wifi worked well.

In sum, a very solid hotel that I would stay at again if I was doing a 1 night turnaround and needed quick access to Milano Centrale. Otherwise, you are better off staying in a more central location and closer to the Duomo. I have nothing negative to say about my stay, other than the surrounding area is lacking in some respects noted above.

Room Tip: Request a room with a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DCA-IAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Aaron R,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan.
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon in Milan!

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,386)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

324 - 330 of 1,386 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Most people avoid the Milan Centrale area because of the pick pockets and sketchy nature of the neighborhood, but you'd miss this great hotel. Recently renovated and eco-friendly we enjoyed our stay. I had paid for breakfast but our tours left before we could have the breakfast, when I spoke to the front desk to drop the breakfast because of our schedule, they provided us a breakfast bag instead with juice, water, croissant, and a biscuit with fresh fruit. That was great. The restaurant downstairs was also an enjoyable experience, especially the cordial wait staff. Overall we'd recommend the hotel for those of you who want a hotel close to the Milan Centrale. By the way the station has a number of eateries as well as metro stations so it is very convenient. Also there is a Carrefour two blocks or so where you can pick up snacks.

Room Tip: check your tour itineraries before selecting the breakfast option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Rick T,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan. I will make sure all the staff will be aware of the good job done!
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Very clean hotel, the linen was amazing, and the size of the room was good.
Internet connection was complicated and the tv system in the room was annoying and not simple enough.
Breakfast was nice and I enjoyed the surroundings of the breakfast room.
Would definetly stay there again and tell my friends about it.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baggissimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Baggissimo,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay and for choosing our hotel in Milan.
Thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon in Milan!

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed just one night to catch the train. This hotel is newly refurbished and very nicely done too. It is very comfortable, with huge bathrooms. A wonderful breakfast and for the price i thought it represented fantastic value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank andthenthey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear andthenth,

It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Starhotels E.C.Ho.
Thank you for all your positive comments. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Milan.
Hoping to welcome you again to our hotel we send you our

Best regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

They are really close to Milan Centtral Station and Malpensa Airport bus stop. My room was big, clean and comfortable. Also liked that small but nice gym opened 24 hours. The breakfast was above average with a lot to chose from. The free and fast wi-fi in the room was a bonus, thanks for that. Unfortunately, a late checkout wasn't available but I really liked this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JohnEsc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear JohnEsc,

thank you so much for taking the time to leave your comment about your stay.
Also I would like to thank you for your kind review and I really hope to welcome you back soon!

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We selected this hotel due to its location- literally 5 mins of leisurely walk from Milan Central Station. The front desk persons were good and just professional, but check in took longer. However, the room was too good- quite large for 3 of us- a Junior Suite. Bathroom was very good, plus point being the bathtub. Breakfast was fantastic- made our last day in Italy!
Next time, for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lazy_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear lazy_1970,

It has been a pleasure to welcome you at Starhotels E.C.Ho.
We are pleased to know that you enjoyed your stay in Milan.
Hoping to welcome you again to our hotel we send you our

Best regards.
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

When during my stay I am dissuaded not only from ever again staying in the hotel, but from ever again staying in any Starhotels hotel, they must be doing something wrong... To start with the positive, the facility is nice enough. Were it run independently or under a different network, it would work. But despite what the brochure and website says, that guests should be treated as friends, they do everything but that.
Firstly, when you advertise free wifi, that means free wifi. It doesnt have to be super fast, but it cannot be limited to one device per guest. Trying to squeeze extra money out of guests for more devices, that is not being friendly.
Secondly, stop using swisscom. I travel a lot and the swisscom wifi system in hotels is the worst, I even talked to a Swiss guy here in your hotel and he agreed.
More, when the football world cup is on, trying to squeeze extra money from guest by putting it on pay tv only, again, not friendly at all.
Another thing, the minibar prices are ridiculous. If you really wanted to be friendly as you advertise, you could put the minibar for free with the charge of the room. There are hotels doing that, really, and I come back to them because they are friendly. But you dont have to go so far. Just stick to the rule, that the minibar prices should be similar to those of the nearest kiosk, in your place the kiosks in the train station - that still means hundreds of percept markup and someone might actually take something from the minibar.
And lastly, please listen to your employees. I have discussed these issues with several of them, and the reply was always "Sorry sir, we know sir, we agree but it is Starhotels policy sir". They are the ones in contact with your customers, so if you really want to treat your guests as friends, try to listen to what they have to say, and that means talk to your employees. Then you actually might get people to come back to stay with you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager E, Direttore at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2014

Dear Jan S,

Thank you for staying at the Starhotels E.C.Ho. and sharing your feedback.
We would like to assure you that your comments are taken in very high considerations, and we regret to learn our failure in meeting your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back in the future during your next stay in Milan.

Best regards
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#67 of 430 in Milan
1,459 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#9 of 430 in Milan
6,830 reviews
nhow Milano
#29 of 430 in Milan
2,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Hilton Milan
Hilton Milan
#74 of 430 in Milan
2,767 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#51 of 430 in Milan
1,363 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#59 of 430 in Milan
1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#22 Family Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £99 - £329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing