We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality/Price not good”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Quality/Price not good”
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I was in this hotel in september for a business trip, and i tought to find the same quality of other star hotels i was. It wasn't so: breackfast was only for a three star hotel, and the room was not very clean. The room was noisy , with the windows on the street.
The people on the concierge were very nice and helpful, and they give me an umbrella in the morning ( it was raining ). I have to say that , in the same zone ( near the station ) for nearly same price it is possible to have better hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    544
    94
    35
    40
See reviews for
196
483
54
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Pros: About 200 metres from Central Station, this hotel is good for people travelling by train. The breakfast room is pleasant, the staff courteous and the food selection reasonably good.
Cons: Our room was very plain, the shower stall was small and its entrance very narrow. We found only one decent restaurant in the vicinity. This is a 3-star hotel at a 4-star price. It's best feature is the proximity to the station.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The hotel had some good points and bad points and overall I think we got what we paid for.

Good points - The hotel was really easy to find from the Statione Centrale, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

Bad points - You could hear the metro going past every 10 minutes until late which was so loud it shook the room.

It was a great location, however if I was to visit Milan again I would maybe look at staying further out of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_laura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My hubby and I took a 2 weeks trip to Italy and this was the worst hotel of all. The wallpaper was completely coming off, literally peeling off the wall, the carpet was nasty and stained. Both of us wore shoes to walk around. The bathroom ceilling had like a crate so you could see right through it and you could see all the wires and pipers etc. Nasty!!!! It was really cose to the train station so perfect location, otherwise waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego N, Manager at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear "diamondie"

In November 2010 Starhotels Splendido closed and after approximately nine months had been completely renovated from basement to roof top ! With a new name , Starhotels E.c.ho. , and a new concept, ECOLOGY, it is located near Milan’s Central Train Station and easily connected to all the city’s main sites. The hotel’s acronym E.c.ho. stands for Eco Contemporary Hotel and is a perfect place to experience eco-friendly hospitality.
The hotel offers 143 accommodations, including 13 suites and junior suites, 5 meeting rooms able to welcome a total of 240 participants, a fitness room with a panoramic view, bar, restaurant and courtyard facing the garden.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2010

We only stayed in Milan one night on our way to Cinque Terre and picked this hotel because it is across from the train station. We saw the nightly rates online, but didn't book the room in advance. When we arrived the rate they told us was 40 euro more, so I mentioned it and negotiated a slightly better rate.

The hotel lobby is really nice, but as we approached our room, we noticed that all the doors had carpeting on them...The room itself was fine and beds were comfortable, but I didn't feel comfortable walking on the carpet without my shoes. The breakfast buffet was great! This is a good place to stay if you are stopping through Milan. There is a Starhotels Anderson next door that might be worth the extra $$.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paris
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2010

upon arriving at the hotel we were accompanied by a foreign employee who happened to be from the same area than us.very ashamed of the room he was showing us ,he said in a breath : i am sorry for the hotel but we are planning to restructure it this summer.that said it all: no internet though we paid for the connection,no AC ,no electricity.......... the list would be much shorter if we said about what was good or decent ! NOTHING AT ALL so avoid that rip of as long as they did not fix it............

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bambou13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2010

We’ve seen a couple of rooms here and neither one looked like the picture is being advertised by the hotel.

We prepaid the classical room, which has not been updated by any stretch of the imagination. The room featured a dark green carpet on the wall (about 1 ft tall, all throughout the room). The carpet that covers the floor is soiled all throughout. If the rating system would allow this would be below zero.

Because the lobby looks so dingy we asked to see the room before checking in, altough it wasn’t much we could do at this point because we already prepaid through the online system for 3 nights. The first room we have seen it had a small shower stall and the floor was dirty. After complaining we were shown a larger room which had a bath tub that was at least half way clean (same dirty carpet on the floor and same wall carpet). If you are forced staying here, we recommend that you pack your own towels. The ones from the hotel look like rugs that and would not recommend using.

The hallway carpet is also soiled and same goes for the chairs in the restaurant.

The only upside on this was the location which is only 5 minutes walking distance to the train station.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ship44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#56 of 428 in Milan
1,387 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#47 of 428 in Milan
1,274 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,418 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#83 of 428 in Milan
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing