We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spent My Last Night in Italy Here”
Review of Starhotels E.c.ho.

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Ranked #37 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Spent My Last Night in Italy Here”
Reviewed 30 October 2010

I booked this hotel for my last night in Italy for its proximity to the airport buses. I was a little leery about this choice of hotel because of the many negative reviews here at Trip Advisor. But I am happy to say that I suffered none of the negative experiences at the Splendido that others pointed out.

A) My room was not in the least bit small. I was in Room 430 which was the last one at the end of the hall of the wing to the right from the elevators. It wasn't the least bit noisy.

B) The bathroom was large enough with a bath tub with a shower (Not a narrow shower stall). The bathroom also included a small TV and a phone. Ample towels including bath-mat and washcloths.

C) I had requested a double bed (King or queen) because of my height. It turned out to be two twins pushed together but the bed had enough length and was very comfortable.

D) I arrived by train in Milano Central at about 1145 but they checked me in right away. I was not required to wait.

E) One couple in an earlier review stated that they had left money in the room and a small amount was taken. My room came equipped with a safe which was situated in the closet. The problem with the safe was that the room did not have an indirect ceiling light - just lamps on the bedstands and desk - so I wasn't able to read the instructions on how to use the safe. It looked like you'd have to create a combination.

F) Check in staff very nice and welcoming. Had no problem with them at all.

G) Breakfast was ample with tasty brioche or croissants. There were scrambled eggs with bacon available, plus hot and cold cereals, breads, cakes, fruits, yogurt, and juices. On the whole Europe still doesn't come close to Asia for the breakfast buffets, but this hotel's breakfast selection was quite worthwhile.

H) I requested a wake-up and while I didn't need it as I had already awakened, it did come at the requested time.

I) Dinner - as many have said the train station area doesn't have notable restaurants. Their either quite costly or you have to resort to McDonald's, pizza, or sandwiches bought in the railroad station. For what ever reason, I hadn't left myself with enough euros (I did have plenty of US $ on me, but didn't want to have to convert again) to spend on a good expensive dinner and I wanted something more than fast food, so I decided to have a nice dinner at the hotel which I would sign for and have it charged to the room. A small appetizer appeared gratis, then I had a mushroom salad, a pasta main course, a bottle of water, and a beer came to 30 ($42 US dollars) Euros including the cover charge. I don't think it was worth 42 US dollars but at least it was pretty good.

J) Check out was hassle free.

Summary: I was pleased with the hotel and was sorry that I hadn't stayed there upon my arrival (I bookended Milan at the beginning and end of my travels in Italy). I asked about the internet and yes it was expensive, but it always is at a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SarasotaMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    544
    94
    35
    40
See reviews for
196
483
54
325
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2010

We were very happy at this hotel and it was a wonderful way to begin our trip through Italy. The staff were very helpful and everything was great. Our room was clean as was the lovely breakfast room which served a generous breakfast. It's a great location near the station and we would stay again. This was our experience.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrypie64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 October 2010

I traveled to Italy and decided to spend at least one night in Milan. I searched for hotels close to the train station and found this one (Splendido). It was rated as a 4 star hotel and it comes from a brand or chain of hotels, which for the most part, are quite attractive and cozy, so imagine my surprise to see the dated stature of the room; cracked and water marked ceilings, chipped paint on the walls and worst of all, the shower curtain in the bathroom reeked of urine! There are other hotels in the vicinity and as a result I encourage anyone looking for a hotel in Milan, with quick access to the train station to NOT stay here. I could not wait to leave - and staying there one night felt like a lifetime.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jennys_trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I was in this hotel in september for a business trip, and i tought to find the same quality of other star hotels i was. It wasn't so: breackfast was only for a three star hotel, and the room was not very clean. The room was noisy , with the windows on the street.
The people on the concierge were very nice and helpful, and they give me an umbrella in the morning ( it was raining ). I have to say that , in the same zone ( near the station ) for nearly same price it is possible to have better hotels.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2010

Pros: About 200 metres from Central Station, this hotel is good for people travelling by train. The breakfast room is pleasant, the staff courteous and the food selection reasonably good.
Cons: Our room was very plain, the shower stall was small and its entrance very narrow. We found only one decent restaurant in the vicinity. This is a 3-star hotel at a 4-star price. It's best feature is the proximity to the station.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wonkyknees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2010

The hotel had some good points and bad points and overall I think we got what we paid for.

Good points - The hotel was really easy to find from the Statione Centrale, the breakfast was good and the staff were friendly.

Bad points - You could hear the metro going past every 10 minutes until late which was so loud it shook the room.

It was a great location, however if I was to visit Milan again I would maybe look at staying further out of the city.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris_laura28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2010

My hubby and I took a 2 weeks trip to Italy and this was the worst hotel of all. The wallpaper was completely coming off, literally peeling off the wall, the carpet was nasty and stained. Both of us wore shoes to walk around. The bathroom ceilling had like a crate so you could see right through it and you could see all the wires and pipers etc. Nasty!!!! It was really cose to the train station so perfect location, otherwise waste of money.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank diamondie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diego N, Manager at Starhotels E.c.ho., responded to this review, 24 October 2011
Dear "diamondie"

In November 2010 Starhotels Splendido closed and after approximately nine months had been completely renovated from basement to roof top ! With a new name , Starhotels E.c.ho. , and a new concept, ECOLOGY, it is located near Milan’s Central Train Station and easily connected to all the city’s main sites. The hotel’s acronym E.c.ho. stands for Eco Contemporary Hotel and is a perfect place to experience eco-friendly hospitality.
The hotel offers 143 accommodations, including 13 suites and junior suites, 5 meeting rooms able to welcome a total of 240 participants, a fitness room with a panoramic view, bar, restaurant and courtyard facing the garden.
Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#56 of 428 in Milan
1,388 reviews
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#47 of 428 in Milan
1,275 reviews
Stazione Centrale
LaGare Hotel Milano Centrale - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#13 of 428 in Milan
6,419 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#83 of 428 in Milan
769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels E.c.ho.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels E.c.ho.

Property: Starhotels E.c.ho.
Address: Viale Andrea Doria 4, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Milan
#27 Business Hotel in Milan
#30 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#31 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#47 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels E.c.ho. 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our striking 4 star hotel in Milan is next to the Central railway station, a few minutes from the city centre. Our innovative green hotel in Milan features intelligent design and low energy consumption, so as well as enjoying yourself, you'll know you are helping the environment. The look and feel is natural and elegant, with plenty of natural light everywhere thanks to the ample windows, terraces and other outdoor spaces. The new Starhotels E.C.Ho. Has 143 contemporary rooms and suites, a restaurant and bar (the Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels’ offering.)5 meeting rooms, fitness room and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels E.c.ho. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels e.c.Ho. Hotel Milan
Starhotels Splendido Milan
Starhotels Splendido Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing