We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a business hotel but not for families”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Ranked #42 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good as a business hotel but not for families”
Reviewed 1 September 2011

The star of this hotel is its location, that's why we picked it. We are a family with two kids, aged 11 and 8 and we wanted a walking-distance hotel to the Duoumo and Cathedral. This hotel is right there. However, it is a business hotel and not a holiday/family hotel, our mistake. I guess most hotels in Milano are the same. It has the basic of everything, clean, calm, etc...But the kids didn't like it because it had no pool, entertainment, etc... Just clean bed to sleep and a nice shower. Their breakasf was very basic in variety and taste with lots of non-fresh items such as canned fruits. The room we took was for 4 poeple, spacious but we had to walk around 70 meters from the elevator to reach it, turning left then right , then left, then right, etc...

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DubaiConsultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Guest Relations Manager at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Dear Dubaiconsultant,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor.

We hope you and your family enjoyed your trip to Milan and we are pleased to learn about your overall satisfaction with our Hotel.
Thanks to our location along with a genuine four- star service, we are confident our luxury Hotel can meet Guests’ needs on various levels. In fact we have no swimming pool or entertainment facilities inside our property, except for the fitness room, but you do have several attractions like the one you were looking for nearby.
Our colleagues from Concierge are always pleased to advise you about the best solution!
We are sorry if you felt your family room was too far from the lifts or the stairs, we always do our best to accommodate our Guests preferences as soon as we have the opportunity to know them.
Breakfast is a very important part of the day as a way to renew your energies before setting out for a new day. Your comment will be taken into consideration in order to improve our service!
We really hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our Hotel.

Warmest regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    702
    726
    203
    74
    40
See reviews for
338
510
59
498
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2011

Nice hotel--perfect location for walking around Milan. It is not overly pricey so was perfect for our one night stay in between Lake Como and Venice. The tickets for The Last Supper were sold out but I did get to see the Duomo which is beautiful! The Galleria indoor/outdoor shopping mall to the side of the Duomo was also fun.
Unfortunately, most of the shops and great restaurants are closed in August. So, the list I made up was useless and we ended up eating at a restaurant nearby that was not good at all.
Milan is full of expensive shops and restaurants--but we were in the area so I just had to see it and stay over one night! My husband spent his time at the park nearby catching some rays!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Guest Relations Manager at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 29 September 2011
Dear JJ416,

Thank you for choosing our Hotel for your stay in Milan and posting your review on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your short trip in our beautiful city and we would be very glad to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the Rosa Grand.
We hope you will have the chance to visit Milan again and stay longer!
We will be very glad to show you more of our Hotel. Most of our rooms offer external views, such as our Deluxe room category with a view to the spires of the Duomo, or Executive rooms type facing Fontana square. Furthermore we will be pleased to welcome you to our Roses Restaurant, where you can choose between innovative dishes or fine traditional recipes, Gran Lounge Bar with its happy hour appointment or Tar Tar Bar for a very tasty green lunch. Last but not least you are invited to relax in our new elegant alfresco areas where you can sit comfortably in the open while and taste colourful, delicious meals.
All our Staff is looking forward to helping you discover the city!
Yours sincerely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Bloomfield, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2011

The service at the Rosa Grand in Milan and the Metropole in Rome was very impressive! Everyone was very accommodating and friendly. We stayed during their holiday so the hotel wasn't booked and the management offered upgraded rooms for us and the other couple we traveled with for our entire 7 night trip! Not to mention free wi-fi and a plentiful free breakfast everyday that did not end until 10:30a.m. along with complimentary hors d'oeuvres for dinner. I definitely will recommend and revisit!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank India S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear India S,

Thank you very much for choosing Starhotels for your trip and, in particular, for having stayed at two of our properties and for having appreciated them!

We are extremely happy to have been able to upgrade you and that you have been satisfied by the services we provide, on a daily basis, in our Hotel.

Thank you for all of your positive comments! We truly appreciate knowing that our guest’s have been well served so we can celebrate our success and work towards even better service in the future.

We really hope to welcome you back in the next future.

Your faithfully,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CapeTown
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Friendly doormen direct you to a reception area which is, quite oddly, far away and to one side from the front door.It seems, as elsewhere in hotels we have stayed at in Italy, the receptionists and concierge work very hard. Whenever we went by, they were attending to a queue. Only 2 were at the counter when we checked in, so we had to wait quite a while to be served. They were friendly and efficient, as were all the staff we encountered during our 4 night stay. A special mention must be made of Fabio Neri, a concierge who was exceptionally helpful with his advice and recommendations. We had a no-view connecting room with our teen daughter which was clean, modern and functioned well. Nice to have tea/coffee facilities which were filled every day and a twice-a-day cleaning service, replenishing towels when necessary. The burgers and pasta we had from room service after one long hot day was of a high standard. Breakfast was good with a wide choice. Would definitely stay here again when in Milan.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaysjournal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 13 September 2011
Dear Jaysjournal,

Thank you very much for having shared your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to learn that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were satisfied with the services provided by our staff.
Your words are the best compliments we can receive as we constantly strive to deliver the highest level of customer service.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warmest regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newtown, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

My family and I were ready to go to dinner so we stopped to ask the concierge where to go for a "medium priced" meal and the place he sent us was 30$ for pasta so we spent the rest of the night looking for a better place to eat. On the other hand the location and the rooms were very nice but the staff was rude

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A1PHABET
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Guest Relations Manager at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 2 September 2011
Dear A1PHABET,

Thank you for staying at the Rosa Grand and sharing your feedback.

This is for us a very important opportunity to constantly improve our level of service.

We are extremely happy to read that you appreciated the style of the rooms of our property which is located right behind the Milan’s breathtaking Duomo. On the other hand, we have also seriously taken into consideration your comment about our staff. We’d like to apologize if you feel that a member of our staff did not behave appropriately and giving you the utmost attention which are indeed the basis of our Customer Care philosophy.

As far as the prices of the Restaurant are concerned, the mentioned amount corresponds to the average of the rates of our local restaurants. We are sorry if the Concierge did not understand the kind of restaurant you were looking for and for not having suggested a place more suitable to your expectations.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future during your next stay in Milan.

With our best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Moritz, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

New hotel with a great location just behind Piazza Duomo. Hard to find a better location in Milan. Near to shopping streets. Trendy, modern design and spacious lobby area and bar.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter778899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We had a terrible experience with this hotel. We stayed for two nights and after our first night we were happy as the hotel itself and the rooms are nice and clean. But at 12pm on our last night in Italy my friends camera was stolen from the computer area.

She went down to send a few emails around midnight (this was on a monday night and there was no one around the computer/conference area). The first computer she tried was slow and not working properly so she was looking at pics on her camera. An employee came in at this time and began cleaning. She put her camera down and moved to another computer to see if it was better. After finishing her emails she walked down the hallway to the elevator. Upon entering the elevator she realized she did not have her camera and went directly back to the computer area. The camera was gone. She came to our room and told me what happened so we went to the front desk to report the stolen camera and to ask that they check the video cameras at the end of the hallway so that they could see that it was only her and the employee in the computer area so they could search him or whatever. The night auditor lied to me and told me that there were not video cameras down there. Once I said I know what video cameras look like and you have two down there he had to admit that they did. He then went in a room behind the desk to look at the videos. After 30 min he came out and said unfortunately he did not know what was going on but the camera at the end of the hallway to the computer room was not working and that he would have maintenance look into it. We said that it was unacceptable and we wanted something done about it because it was obvious that no one else had taken it. I said look at all the video footage and you will see her get in the elevator with her camera in her had to go down, come back to the elevator 30 min later without it and turn right around. He then went to review the cameras again. After another long wait he came out and said that what we said was true but because the did not have him on camera actually putting it in his pocket there was nothing he could do. After a lengthy discussion he said he agreed that it was very suspicous and that he likely did take the camera but would still do nothing. We went to bed at this point (3 am) and were told that the manager would contact us in the morning.

When she called she said we would have to file a police report so that they could get insurance money to pay for the camera. We were on our way to the airport to leave Italy at this point so this was a very inconvienent task. My friend did file the report and when she followed up with the hotel they said that their insurance provider said that it was a common area so she would not be reimbursed. They then offered her a free night at their hotel! Wow! Like we would ever stay there again!!

What a disappointing way to end our trip to Italy! All her pictures and her camera gone (most importantly the pictures) and a very frustrating, time consuming experience with customer service with no satisfaction in the end.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelnaturelover2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Dear Mrs Lauranat,

Thank you for your time dedicated to us and, although we are very glad to know that you liked our structure, we are deeply sorry to read about your unfortunate experience suffered during your stay with us. As you know our staff took immediate action following the mishap and assisted you as much as possible, trying to find a solution. Please understand that we find it inappropriate to wrongly accuse our staff regarding the theft and explicitly lying to you during the matter. Our intention was in no way aimed in offending you or ignoring this very crucial event. We sincerely apologize if our efforts were not satisfactory.
As we had explained to you in person, the hotel cannot be held responsible of your missing camera as it was left unattended in a public area, such as Business Centre, Meeting Rooms and Restrooms. In regards to the insurance, the latter covers only entrusted items stolen while in the hotel staffs’ possession. As written and stated to you many times please consider us at your complete disposal for your future stay in Milan. We will be delighted to have the possibility to confirm what promised in our letter and we will do our utmost to show you our best care and attention.
We look forward to welcoming you back at Rosa Grand.
Sincerely,
the General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 428 in Milan
1,057 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Rosa Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Rosa Grand

Property: Starhotels Rosa Grand
Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Rosa Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, Preferred Hotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Nozio Netplan srl, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Starhotels Rosa Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing