We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“disgusting rooms and terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Ranked #41 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“disgusting rooms and terrible service”
Reviewed 25 August 2012

We booked a non smoking room witha a view for our anniversary for 4 nights ,, the lobby was very good .. But when we walked inour room it was terrible ,, it smells like someone has just smoked in then we contacted the reciption and they were so inpolite and told us that this is only the room with view they have ,, so we told them to forget about the view and give us a non smoking room ,, the room was so old and the carpet was disgusting ,, the furniture was broken and the bathroom with so many plumming problem ,,

When we call the house keeping to ask if they serve a complementry water for the rooms ,, they said yes in the first day only ,, and when i said we didn't have our water they tell me that this is oly for some rooms !!!!

Their AC doesnt work properly and it's lile a fan ,, we called them to come and check it out they didn't and ignore us and after 3 calls they send someone and he came finally and told us that there Ac have a fixed tepture and no matter we change it it won't ,, the lcation was the only thing was good ,,

There breakfast was extremly busy ,,, defently not staying again ,,

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Hadeel F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 7 September 2012
Dear Mr. Hadeel F.,
Thank you very much for choosing the Rosa Grand for your stay in Milan.
We absolutely regret to learn about your disappointment with concearn to our property and services.
Please believe that your feedbacks have been taken into very high consideration. Our staff is always very committed to our Guest’s needs and we are very sorry for any type of misunderstanding which seams have occurred upon check in or even when enquiring about the air conditioning system. We also ensure you that our housekeeping department takes daily care of cleaness and maintenace of our rooms and public areas and we very regret if you were under a different opinion.
We really hope we could just have one more opportunity to welcome you back and recover from these first impressions of yours. In fact we do have several categories of rooms suitable to any preferences. Although most of our Superior rooms have been recently refurbished, you migh prefer the style of our Deluxe and Executive rooms, modern and contemporary. By reserving these types of rooms you also have additional benefits included, i.e: free internet and complimentary bottle of water (executive, junior suite and Suite only). All pictures and descriptions are available on our official website.
We remain at your complete disposal for any of your request or need and we thank you once more for all of your notes that help us to constantly improve our customer care quality level and our property.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    716
    201
    73
    40
See reviews for
333
499
58
490
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lisboa
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

if you have up to 2 days to visit Milan this is the hotel to choose. As lot of people is saying this is few steps or minutes from shops, restaurants, metro, tram and the Duomo and Gallery.
There are different type of rooms and hotel is under maintenance to improve some rooms... Choose from website according to the available budget you have. I stayed at a Executive and yes it is nice and modern but I would say a little expensive compared to the "deluxe Rooms". I guess the difference is executive has complimentary water but I was not told about that so not use the "advantage". So Deluxe rooms looks like to be a fair option. In future Superior rooms which are "rebuilt" can also be an option for budget.
It is a Global hotel: you see people from almost all world and so breakfast is a kind of United Nations... maybe it is so similar to UN that some "caos" in service can occur when too much people in place. Breakfast was good enough for a 4 stars hotel. Very nice the evening touch of a little "buffet" for those taken an aperitif /drink at the bar... by the way bar staff is friendly. All in all this is certainly an hotel to take into account when planning to stay in Milan.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUREJIC2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2012

The location of this Hotel could not be better, as it is right behind the Duomo.

We were welcomed very nicely and overall staff appeared to be naturally friendly.

Our rooms were nice and comfortable. As we were travelling with children we had booked a triple room which was like a Junior suite.

The hotel has a nice restaurant onsite that served decent food in a stilish atmosphere.
Breakfast buffet is also at that restaurant and the quality and variety is very good.

Wireless Internet is available in the room. Although it appears costly at the beginning, we could get some vouchers at the reception for 30 minutes (each) free access.

Overall we had a great stay and would certainly recommend this hotel for any kind of traveller.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giappo74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2012

Rooms were nice but best part was the location directly next to all the best shops and restaurants. Milan was much nicer than Paris, cleaner, better food, nicer people. Dress well as everyone in Milan dresses like they are going out even early in the morning.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

Location could not be better. Thats the only advantage of the hotel. Rooms are acceptable. We were at the new wing. The hallway carpet is a disaster, but once you get in the room things improve some. Staff was corteous. Valet was incredible expensive at 50 euros a day, but I guess that's normal in Italy. Overall ok if you are looking for a great location at a 3-4 star hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Shishito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Perfect start to our Italian adventure, great location, minutes from shops and the cathedral. Rooms small but very clean. Breakfast was good with a large selection of hot and cold food.

Hotel undergoing some modernisation, which was a negative as had to walk past the mess to get to our room. Concierge was not overly helpful when trying to arrange another route to our room or change room.

Despite this overall the hotel staff were very polite.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Mr. Kevin B,
Thank you for choosing the Rosa Grand to start your Italian adventure and furthermore for writing about us!
We are happy you noticed some advantages that our Hotel offers.
Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenienced experienced on the way to reach your Deluxe room. On the other hand we are very glad to announce the restayling of our Superior room which will be available to our Guests very soon!
We do hope to have a new chance to welcome you back so to provide you with our best sevice and new products!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2012

Literally step out the door and you are in the middle of the best shopping in the world. (check shopping tips below) Not to mention the Cathedral which is virtually next door.

The rooms are nice, bathroom a good size, shower over bath, but that's Europe. Drinks hugely expensive but they don't hold back on the amount of alcohol. Staff are rude, but don't have to deal with them much and happy to put up with that for the location of this hotel. Room rate good value.

If you are a shopping girl like me and love designer labels, then the tour to Foxtown outlets is an absolute MUST!! I brought a Valentino bag for $200au. A Versace dress for $180. You get 4 hours there and it goes fast so don't dawdle, leave hubby home, I went alone and it was fine. Best time to go is July and December - huge sales. As you get on bus sit on the left and you will get a good view of Lake Como as you pass. Also visit Dmagazine outlet store in Milan, via montenapoleone 26. Just a little door so look hard. Hope this helps girls, have lots more but can't put it all in here.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helper01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 31 July 2012
Dear Mrs.helper01,
We are very happy to learn you enjoyed your stay in Milan at the Rosa Grand.
As you could notice our central location allows you a very short distance from Milan’s masterpieces and the most popular shopping areas! Our Concierge staff is also very pleased to assist you with good tips about the city.
We regret to know that the level of service provided by our waiters did not meet your expectations enstead and we will certainly follow up on this.
We do hope to welcome you back to Milan very soon. Our personell is looking forward to providing you with the best care and attention!
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 428 in Milan
679 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#10 of 428 in Milan
1,045 reviews
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 428 in Milan
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Rosa Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Rosa Grand

Property: Starhotels Rosa Grand
Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Rosa Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Ebookers, Nozio Netplan srl, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Rosa Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing