We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 and balancing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #45 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2012

There's not much to say about this hotel per se. It's quite an average hotel with (usually) somewhat smallish rooms and unimpressive breakfast. What gets it an extra (+) is, however, the location - being few steps from Duomo it also is fairly quiet. With certain deals for the rooms it might be a good stay for a reasonable tourist.

Room Tip: You might want to ask a "larger" than average room - there are some for the same price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldmelnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,843)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

601 - 607 of 1,844 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Great location for shopping and site seeing. The Duomo is right next door! The hotel is very cool and modern. Rooms were spacious and the bed was ok. If you are a breakfast person, which I am, then you will be disappointed. The choices were minimal. The bar was very cool but drinks drinks were expensive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JetSetterBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

The hotel is in the center of milan, 5 mins walk from the duomo and the shopping street, the rooms are clean and cozy. I go to milan every year and I always stay the Rosa Grand. The prices are a bit high, but it's definitely worth every penny.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ismailsharkawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We got 2 rooms, both with zero view and the overall cleanliness of the rooms were okay. Room size for even the deluxe is not that big.

The breakfast again is not a highlight as you need to pay additional for eggs, pancakes etc. There were no signs on the dishes kept on the buffet and when I asked , the staff had no clue if the sausages were beef, pork or chicken .

The only plus is the location ; duomo and shopping center is right behind it.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C-60D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Mr. C-550D,
Thank you for your review.
We regret to learn you did not like the view and the size of your room.
We do have many categories of different styles and all our accommodations have their own attributes. Our Guests are always invited to advise us about their preferences so that we can give our recommendation in terms of room type and follow up on the allocation.
We really value your notes about the missing description of the wide variety of the food served, i.e. scramble eggs, bacon, chicken sausages, cereals, seasonal fresh fruits, five type of croissants, four variety of yogurts , three kind of Italian cheese, four type of breads, a wide variety of vegetables plus the selection of beverage. We will place all the descriptions very soon.
We do hope to have one more opportunity to welcome you back. The Rosa Grand is very looking forward for a new chance to meeting your expectation to the fullest!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2012

I spent a couple of nights in this hotel for work and found it overall ok. The hotel is centrally located at the back of "Corso Vittorio Emanuele", one of the main shopping streets in Milan, and the cathedral, which makes it perfect for a shopping spree. The hotel is very popular with tourists and seems to be always very busy. Breakfast offers a good choice but is served in a small crowded area, which means that you have to fight your way through to the food among a trillion of other tourists. Service is below average, so we had to go and literally catch the waiter, otherwise nobody would bother to come and offer us coffee or anything. A positive note was that in the room you had tea and coffee facilities, which is generally unusual in Italy.
The worst was the internet connectivity offered by Swisscom, that didn't work most of the time.

Room Tip: Room facing the inner (ugly) court are very quiet, whereas rooms facing the street are extremely lou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Little-Fruit-Bat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Mr. Little-Fruit-Bat,
Thank you for choosing the Starhotels Rosa Grand on the occasion of your visit to Milan.
We are glad you enjoyed staying with us and we are certainly valuing your comments with regards to our breakfast service. We do apologize for the disservice experienced during breakfast. Please be assured that we will take any action which can make us achieve an even better service.
Thank you also for your note with concern to internet connection. We appreciated your feedback as we are constantly monitoring the quality of our services in order to provide our Guests with the right room, the right technology and the best level of service. In fact, we are happy to announce that have recently implemented new measures to improve the signal.
Looking forward to welcoming you back we remain with our best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The Starhotel Rosa Grand is well located, in the heart of the hisorical center of MIlan. The Duomo is nearby, and so are the Vittorio Emanuele ii Galery, the Opera Teatro A La Scala, and the shopping center.
Our stay at the hotel could have been an enjoyable, but a few things stood on the way:
The poor service at the recepion (excluding one receptionist who was really great).
The dim reception. and (part of) loby was dipressing.
To reach the room we got at first we had to make a long walk through narrow labyrinth coriddors.
There was no attention to our request (by mail a few days before arrival) for a shower and not a bath.They gave us another room, near the elevator, We were told it is spacious because it is a room for disabled. On the first shower I took, the bathroom was floaded.
The room was very clean. The view - zero.
The breakfast was served in a restaurant with many niches/small rooms. The service was poor. The hot dishes included scrumled eggs and ham. but the ham was usually not tasty because it was half done. I asked for an omlette but they wanted me to pay for it. I gave up.
Coffee. The Italians start their day drinking coffee. The coffee in Italy is wonderfuI. Not In this hotel.
In short, I did not enjoy my stay at Starhotel Sara Grand.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rivka P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2012

Dear Mr. Rivka P,
We really regret to learn you did not enjoyed your stay at the Rosa Grand,
Please believe that we do take in very high consideration every feedback that our Guests would like to share with us.
We wish you might reconsider to stay at the Rosa Grand in the future and give us the opportunity to bring your positive opinion back.
We are confident in the quality of our products and in the good level of our services. We are very looking forward to showing you all the advantages the our Hotel can offer you!
Sincere regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

The hotel's location is good for business travellers and for shoppers due to its closeness to main shopping area. It is a walking distance of the Duomo and has an excellent service. The food was good for its values especially the breakfast served daily with a wide variety. The room was comfortable enough after a long day filled with meetings. I enjoyed walking out of it into the adjacent buildings and Duomo, with some souvenirs shopping on my last day.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NadaHal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#11 of 428 in Milan
1,093 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#40 of 428 in Milan
1,368 reviews
Uptown Palace
#60 of 428 in Milan
1,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione

Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £183 - £423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing