We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern fresh room at a hotel in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione
Ranked #45 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 July 2013

This was our first visit to Milan, - a joint 50th birthday treat visit to Teatro alla Scala. We could not have chosen a better hotel. The most obvious feature of this hotel is it's location. It is probably the best you can get for visiting all the central sights of Milan. The Duomo is about 100m away and it took us all of about 5 minutes to walk to La Scala.

We arrived early afternoon at the hotel and had a lovely surprise when we checked in. Our booking was for a Deluxe room but we'd been upgraded to an Executive one at the front of the hotel overlooking the lovely Piazza Fontana. The room wasn't overly large but it was modern and fresh and we were extremely pleased with it. The trams were occasionally noisy in the square but it didn't really affect us all that much.

The room had a walk in wardrobe, mini bar and a kettle. There wasn't an iron unfortunately but we always travel with our own. There is an ironing service but at an extra charge. Others have commented that the bed was hard and uncomfortable but that wasn't our experience. It was firm but not unfomfortable and we slept well.

The room came with complimentary WIFI and it worked well.

Breakfast was good. There was a wide range and sufficient to suit most tastes. Fresh fruit, breads, pastries, cereal, yogurt, bacon, eggs, teas and coffee. There was no omlette station and it was a bit of a bun fight the first day due to a large group but it was fine.

We had Aperitivo at the hotel before the Opera and it was okay as Aperitivo goes. There wasn't a huge range but what was there was nicely done and presented beautifully. We had a Aperol Spritz at €15 each.

The bar is pleasant and the staff are very charming. They welcomed us back after the Opera and we had a Negroni as a night cap. It's a nice touch that the staff remembered us and asked after the performance when we returned.

Sadly, a previous inconsiderate occupant of our room had left the safe open but locked and consequently unusable. I raised this 3 times with the reception and I was faithfully promised 3 times that it would be seen to. It never was and I suspect that the safe in room 380 is still unusable. This was inconvenient but on the scale of things it hardly mattered.

We will definitely stay in this hotel when we return to Milan and I have no hesitation in recommending it.

Room Tip: Get a Deluxe or above room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lynamc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,801)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

529 - 535 of 1,801 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2013

I stayed at the Rosa Grand for a business trip and was very pleased with the experience. The location is perfect - literally steps away from Duomo square. The breakfast was enjoyable and the room was clean. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rubyred582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

OK then
Reception rooms out of this world
Staff incredible
Breakfast good (aperitivos nice in bar too)
Gym good enough
Location excellent
Well priced for Milan (where everything is expensive)
Room - just a little overdue for a refit
Would go back but perhaps upgrade the room next time.

Room Tip: Look carefully at room options and use trip advisor for real traveller photos Professional photos c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank superdad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I was quite disappointed with this hotel mainly because of the mattress. I was there with a friend but we didn't share a room but I went ahead and booked a double room anyways because I like a lot of sleeping space. As it turns out the double bed was a two twin bed put together. Moreover, the twin beds were sagging to the sides so I had to sleep in the middle to keep elevated and there runs the connection of the beds. And because of the size of the hotel it was a very long walk from the elevators to my room. Furthermore, the corridors are small with lots of twist and turns, a good thing they have proper sign. The bathroom was also in bad shape, things were falling apart from the shower tube and the shower knob.
The only thing good about this hotel is probably the location, right at the end side of the Duomo and the shopping street.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MofTT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Mr. MofTT,
Thank you very much for choosing our Starhotels Rosa Grand for your recent stay in Milan and for dedicating part of your precious time to review your experience.
The Guests' comments and suggestions are very important to us.
We read them very carefully, aiming to a constant enhancement of our services.
We regret for learning our failure in meeting your expectations, expecially with refer to the bed's comfort, during your last stay. All the rooms at the Rosa Grand feature the exceptional, comfortable, Starbed (soft sheets, ergonomic mattresses and impalpable duvets) and the menù pillow service, which are generally appreciated by our Guests.
Should you wish to re-consider our hotel for eventual future stays in Milan, you are kindly invited to contact us directly for finding togheter the most appropriate accomodation as for your needs.
We do hope to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013 via mobile

This is my 4th time to stay in this hotel, honestly the rooms are very old if you are staying in superior room.

Pros:
- best location ever
- breakfast included
- wifi for free in the lobby


Cons:
- very old rooms
- pricy for such rooms
- car parking is very expensive
- no iron in the rooms

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khalaqi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

Checking in the Star Rosa was pleasant. Had a very attentive staff to check us in. Rooms were very nice and clean. Coffee in room was a plus. Bathrooms were large and well equipped. Beds were on the hard side. Breakfast was included in our rate and was very good. Location of the hotel is outstanding . You can walk to shopping ,restaurants ,Duomo etc..Checkout was easy staff was helpful. Star Rosa will continue to be my number one choice for Milan. Great quick one night stay.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

I reviewed this hotel last year and gave it an excellent rating. This time, however, it did not live up to the standard I've come to expect. This was my 4th stay and it was like staying in a different hotel. The room we were allocated was old and tired with grubby carpet and old fashioned fit out, right at the back of the property - completely different to the modern rooms I am used to being allocated in this hotel. The room was very small, the twin beds were so close with no separation between them, the corridor ourtside the room was noisy with guests slamming doors all night, the recycling truck came at 5am and emptied the bottles from the bin which seemed to be just outside our window. All up terrible. We were paying full rates too, no discounted rate. So if you want to stay here, check you are getting one of their modern rooms.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Mosquito Magnet T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione, responded to this reviewResponded 15 July 2013

Dear Mr. Mosquito Magnet T,
thank you very much for choosing our Starhotels Rosa Grand and for dedicating part of your precious time to review your experience with us.
We regret for learning our failure in meeting your expectations during the last stay, and would like to take this occasion to inform you that the hotel features 327 rooms including Superior, Deluxe, Executive, Junior Suites and Suites. They differ for size, furnitures, style and services provided. The prices applied, change according to seasonality, hotel's occupancy and time of booking as well as for the typology of room reserved. Should you wish to re-consider our hotel for eventual future stays in Milan, you are kindly invited to contact us directly for finding togheter the most appropriate accomodation as for your needs.
We do hope to having the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Kindest regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#13 of 428 in Milan
1,083 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#21 of 428 in Milan
763 reviews
Uptown Palace
#61 of 428 in Milan
1,606 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione

Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £172 - £419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rosa Grand – Starhotels Collezione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing