We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect for a short break in Milan” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Rosa Grand

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Starhotels Rosa Grand
Ranked #44 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect for a short break in Milan”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I recently visited Milan with my two daughters. We shared a triple superior room and found it to be perfectly adequate in terms of space and decoration. Everything was clean and in good order. We didn't have a view as we were facing the courtyard but the room was very quiet as a result and we all slept well. The check in staff were very pleasant and the concierge ensured we had a good stay by providing good advice on restaurants and local information. The breakfast was very good and offered a variety of cooked food, fresh fruit and pastries, cakes and cereals. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking to explore the shops and sights of central Milan as the location is perfect especially for women travelling alone as no travel on public transport is required.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,645 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    654
    685
    194
    73
    39
See reviews for
317
478
57
468
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our stay at the Star Rosa was relaxing and seamless. The staff were extremely helpful, and for someone with limited Italian language skills, their mastery of English was excellent. The concierge, Sam, was able to help us with a number of items, and proved unflappable and organised; he was a great part of our effortless stay. The staff also worked through an issue, generated by an error by our travel agent, that could have soured our stay in Milano. Top effort guys ... and yes the hotel is comfortable and well-appointed.

Tony and Lorraine

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Anthony M,

Thank you very much for your kind review.

We are very glad that you appreciated our hotel and our service.
Especially, your comments on our Concierge Sami are very rewarding and motivating to continue on this way.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Best regards,

The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

The only thing we liked about the hotel is the location specially if you are visiting Milan for 2-3 nights, very close to DUOMO DI MILANO, shops are restaurants. The hotel lobby is nice and modern but the rooms are dated, the bathroom shower was leaking and had to call reception to change it, long corridors to reach your room( feels like a hostel), the hotel was full of families with lots of children, they were left without parental control playing in the corridors until 3am,
Breakfast was fare. you have 30 min internet in the lobby or business centre, car parking at the hotel €50 per night.
Won't go back to this hotel

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aseel1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Mr. Aseel1995,
Thank you very much for dedicating part of your precious time to share your experience with us. We regret for learning our failure in meeting your expectations to the fullest, and would like to take this occasion for informing that the hotel features 327 rooms including Superior, Deluxe, Executive, Junior Suites and Suites. They differ for size, furnitures, style and services provided.
The hotel is in a stunning location either for business and leisure travelers. Especially during the summer season we are glad to host families who choice Milan as their vacation’s destination. We feel sorry if children’s liveliness spoiled your stay in the hotel.
We do hope you may re-consider our hotel for eventual future stays in Milan.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 9 nights. Location was perfect and the hotel was nice. I left hotel with such a nice things to say about this hotel. Then when I came home I found out that Starhotel Rosa charged me the same amount of money for the room two times. I am in shock! They charged from my card two times. I contacted my bank to try to find ways to get the money back. The amount they charged me extra was more than a thousand euros. BE CAREFUL!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelwhereever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 3 September 2013
Dear Travelwhereever,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your recent stay in Milan and for sharing positive comments about your experience with us. Your note about the credit card’s use finds us really astonished. The hotel reserves the right to verify the validity of the credit card provided for all the reservations. Definitely we do not charge our Guests' twice, and we have never used their credit cards inappropriately.
Please do not hesitate to contact us directly in order to solve any related issue.
Remainig at your complete disposal, we hope to have an other opportunity to gain your overall satisfaction.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights recently and we were a little apprehensive following some mixed reviews but we really wanted to stay here due to the great location. Well we were not disappointed. The room we stayed in was on the fifth floor and was a renovated room ( about two years ago) and it brilliant. Great bed, nice furniture, great functional bathroom although a little tight for two people and a big walk in robe. They even had tea and coffee in the room! Pillows in the room where uncomfortable but called services after finding a leaflet offering upgrade of pillows and I was able to select my owns pillows. Awesome! The hotel also has a good breakfast option and free tapas available with drink purchase from the bar on the ground floor. Free Wifi on the lobby and bar was great. Location is brilliant being close to the stations, duomo, galleries and shopping plazas. Will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Milano.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a recently renovated room as it is an older hotel and if you do you will not be di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel was great, 2 minutes walk from the Duomo. The room was clean but you could see only the walls from the window, although it's executive or something. The room was a bit small for a family of 3. You pay for the location especially, but you will be happy. The design of the hotel is also interesting and nice. Service was a bit poor, that we had to warn 3 times for preparing an addirional bed for mu daughter.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fundaky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rosami05, Direttore at Starhotels Rosa Grand, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Fundaky,
Thank you very much for reviewing your experience with us.
Apologizing for the delay experienced while waiting for the additional bed in room, we regret for having missed the opportunity to gain your overall satisfaction during your recent stay with us.
Should you wish to reconsider our hotel for an eventual future stay in Milan, we kindly ask you not to hesitate to contact us directly to find the most appropriate accommodation as for your needs.
We hope to welcoming you back to us soon.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cross Plains, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Our family of three enjoyed a spacious triple room at this hotel. The location is excellent for enjoying downtown Milan. Excellent hotel staff. Charge for Internet was unexpected. Business center was difficult to find and free Internet very difficult to use. Fantastic breakfast and selections. Fitness center was best we found in Europe.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Centro Storico
UNA Maison Milano
UNA Maison Milano
#12 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,012 reviews
Centro Storico
STRAFhotel | a Member of Design Hotels™
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
The Square Milano Duomo
The Square Milano Duomo
#22 of 430 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
Centro Storico
Hotel Spadari al Duomo
Centro Storico
Room Mate Giulia
Room Mate Giulia
#2 of 430 in Milan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Rosa Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Rosa Grand

Property: Starhotels Rosa Grand
Address: Piazza Fontana, 3, 20122 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Business Hotel in Milan
#52 Family Hotel in Milan
#67 Romantic Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Rosa Grand 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rosa Grand hotel perfectly captures Milan's mix of the innovative and the inspiring. The refurbished interior exudes Italian craftsmanship with each of the 330 rooms fusing impeccable comfort with chic Italian style. Widely acclaimed as one of the best hotels in Milan, the Rosa Grand puts you in the heart of the city's historic district with the Duomo and world-famous Via Monte Napoleone just moments away. Partnership with Eataly means new value and uniqueness for Starhotels' offering. Eataly will create made to measure menus, events and collaborative initiatives with star chefs and also provide consulting on the selection of raw materials and products for Starhotels catering. Collaboration has begun at the three restaurants in the cosmopolitan Rosa Grand in Milan, where art, design, one-off details and creative recipes will give you an extremely enjoyable break. Open every day from 7am to 11 pm. The Wellness Center offers state-of- the-art equipment for a total workout and a relax area complete with Turkish bath and solarium. Your very own Personal Trainer is available upon request and must be reserved in advanced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Starhotels Rosa Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Rosa Grand Milan
Starhotels Rosa Grand Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing