We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to train station and larger than normal rooms...”
Review of Hilton Milan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Milan
Ranked #79 of 428 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Close to train station and larger than normal rooms...”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

If you are planning to use the train or the bus to Malpensa airport, you can't beat this location. Just two blocks from Milano Centrale station, metro, plus walking distance to restaurants and the Duomo (20 mins). This is our second visit to this hotel. On this trip we stayed here one night at the beginning of the trip and one night at the end. The rooms are larger than most European hotel rooms. They were very clean, nice beds, and good A/C.

The front desk staff were helpful, particularly on our return trip. Very knowledgeable and attentive.
The one complaint was when we arrived for check in after landing from an overnight flight. We arrived around 11:00am. We asked to check in. We were told our room was ready but if we wanted to check in before noon, we would be charged 35 euros. We opted to pay the charge because we were tired and needed to meet friends around 1pm. We were paying for the stay with points so it didn't hurt quite as much, but we felt it was ridiculous to be charged 35 euros for what amounted to one additional hour in the room.

Room Tip: As HH gold we were able to take advantage of the lounge which is a nice bonus, particularly since it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique L, Director of Operations at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thanks a lot for your nice comment about our property and even more about our Team Members helpfulness and friendliness ! We are more than happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. I will check with the team about the early check-in fee.

We wish to welcome you soon at Hilton Milan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,574 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    811
    1,118
    427
    140
    78
See reviews for
395
811
182
825
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Frederick, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Very nice stay at the Hilton Milan in may of this year. We used the hotel as a base for exploring Milan as well Bergamo, Bologna and day trips to the lakes, as it is less than 2 blocks to the central train station. My husband is Diamond level so we had a nice upgrade to s spacious junior suite on the 4th floor and had access to the club lounge for breakfast and snacks. the room overlooked the street but was quite. Lounge is smaller than we've experienced in other Hilton properties in Europe and unlike other properties we've stayed at, wine is only put out from 6p-8p, which is annoying. It's available at other times but for a fee. The lounge did have outdoor space but this is where the smokers are. We could have breakfast in either the lounge or main restaurant and usually chose the main restaurant, as there was a large buffet at breakfast time and the coffee was better.
Concierge staff is excellent and they were very helpful with train times, tour suggestions and making dining reservations.
One annoying thing was that the hotel charged for early check-in. I would think for a Diamond member they would waive the fee but we were very happy to be able to get into the room as soon as we arrived on a busy Saturday morning. If staying here, take the bus to Central Station from Malpensa , it's very easy and much less expensive than a cab ride.
Do be careful of the gypsies in the central station. That has nothing to do with the hotel but just in general for traveling in Milan.
Only real negative was that during a nine night stay, they could not seem to get the shower to drain properly despite several calls about it. Not nice to start each day standing in soapy water over your ankles and sloshing over the shower pan onto the bathroom floor.
All in all, it was a nice stay. Had read some negative reviews but we were quite satisfied. Milan is not our favorite city but we would use this hotel again if we had to travel thru Milan.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Christi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding the hotel facilities and service on Tripadvisor which we always read with utmost interest. I am glad to read you enjoyed our hotel overall.
I am sorry you experienced an issue with you bathroom that was not solved during your stay, we will defitnitely have a look with our maintenance team.
I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hilton Milan soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Excellent accommodations, great location, and wonderful staff at the front desk! Restaurant was nice, food was reasonably priced, and service was great. Public wifi in the main lobby worked well. There is self parking in the basement of the hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to business or leisure travelers.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank Y3792MKcatherinec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dominique L, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you very much for providing us with feedback on your recent stay with us. I am happy to learn you were well treated by the reception staff and you liked the restaurant and its staff.
Thanks a lot and looking forward to welcoming you soon !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverly Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
322 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Fantastic staff at reception,especially Moira super sympathic, the others never ever smiled :)
Food very elaborate and high quality.. Loved my upgrade to the Suite and the executive lounge was really good .just interesting to see british airways pilots being carried out almost uconscious for drinking too much,lol ;) i am glad i dont have to fly BA :)
Food was super! Tuna sashimis,champagne really nice.pretty outdoor terrace!
Breakfast was perfect. They even had congee soup and parma ham !
Just 200 mts from central train station. Will be back in a week !
Great hotel. 4.5 stars !
If the guys at the breakfast room would be a bit friendlier it would be a 5 star :)
Cheers ,have fun !

Room Tip: Try to get a suite.....avoid the 9 th floor.... rooms too small !
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adrianmiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear adrianmiami,

Many thanks for you lovely comment. I am pleased to read we have accomplished in meeting your expectations for your vacation in our beautiful city.

Hopefully there will be soon another chance to welcome you!

My best regards

Viviana De Martino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Jersey, USA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed in the Executive floor with complimentary use of the Executive Lounge, it is truly worth it. The room is spacious with comfortable beds and very clean. The Lounge has food and drink all throughout the day and up to certain hour at night.

The Milan Central train station is within walking distance but I was harassed at the station area by 3 Italian young women. As soon as I stepped outside of the station with 1 carry-on luggage, they crowded me and started touching me from 3 sides. I yelled at them to stop and that got the attention of my husband who was 2 steps ahead of me at that moment, and another Italian man close to me also scolded them. When they took off, I noticed that my travel pouch zipper was opened. Thank God that I am not aware of any loss from this incident. Beware, these people are absolutely ruthless!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fromsouthjersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear fromsouthjersey,

Many thanks for your amiable comment and for the compliments we have really appreciated. It's been a pleasure having you here.

I regret to read about your disappointing experience. We look forward to another chance to welcome you back in Milan in order to restore your confidence.

Best Regards

Viviana De Martino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I am Hilton Diamond and I was thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The executive lounge is great (open from 3 pm onwards), the breakfast was very well apportioned for European hotels and the rooms were modern and clean. We were treated very well as Diamond guests and immediately upgraded and given internet. I was quite happy. The surrounding area is also modern and safe so I feel that its location can be quite easy to walk around. Having said that, you need to walk a few blocks to get to the pedestrian area.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank SinbadSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear SinbadSam,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience at the Hilton Milan.

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review.

We are so pleased to note that the quality of service you experienced met with your expectations as it is our aim to ensure each guest has an enjoyable stay at Hilton Milan.

I really hope to welcome you again in our property soon.

Best Regards

Viviana De Martino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Szekesfehervar, Hungary
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

I spent a weekend here, and I was more than disappointed. Staff was unprofessional, check-in/check-out super slow. The lobby is unpleasant and very small, so we had to wait standing. Corridors and rooms stink, rooms are small. The only good thing are the location and the pillows.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ildique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Viviana D, Guest Relations Manager at Hilton Milan, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Ildique,

Thank you for taking the time to post your response following your recent stay at Hilton Milan.

I am extremely concerned to read your disappointing experience with us and I am very sorry that your expectations were not met.

I hope you will give us the chance to welcome you back in the near future and show you our property in a much positive light.

With Best regards

Viviana De Martino
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 428 in Milan
1,792 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 428 in Milan
6,484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro Storico
NH Collection Milano President
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#37 of 428 in Milan
1,302 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Excelsior Hotel Gallia, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Milan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Milan

Property: Hilton Milan
Address: Via Galvani 12, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#64 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#80 Business Hotel in Milan
#84 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#95 Family Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Milan 4*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just 1 block from the Central Train Station and airport shuttle buses, the Hilton Milan boasts an Executive Lounge with an outdoor terrace, and wireless internet access throughout.All Hilton Milan hotel rooms offer wireless internet access. Step up from a Hilton Room to an Executive Room for Executive Lounge access. Enjoy appetizers at the Cosmopolitan Lobby Bar Lounge or dine on international and Italian favorites at the Hilton Milan hotel’s Pacific Milano Restaurant. There is fantastic shopping just 2 miles away and Milan attractions like the La Scala opera house are on the hotel's sightseeing tour. When you've explored the city, find peace at Lake Como, an hour away by train. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton EMEA, Nozio Netplan srl, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Milan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Milan Hotel Milan
Hilton International Milan
Milan Hilton International

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing