We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Ranked #112 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 23 April 2013

I used Doria Grand Hotel different times for business trips. It is in a perfect location, only 5 minutes walking from Stazione Centrale and other 5 minutes to Corso Buenos Aires. The hotel is very beautiful, the rooms are comfortable and the customer service always very professional and ready to help. Food is good too! I can recommand this hotel to everyone, for business or touristic pourpose.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank annailik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear “annailik”

We were so pleased to read your comment which you kindly posted on Tripadvisor and I feel that when an opinion comes from a regular guest, the comment posted carries that much more weight, so thank you from all the management and staff.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit when I hope we can meet up for a drink some time during your busy business schedule.

Best regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 1,060 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

We chose the Doria Grand based upon a review from Frommer's, which has been very reliable over the years. The hotel is not close to the action in Milan, but is on the Metro lines and was billed as a luxury hotel at good price. Very much a business hotel, never felt the special service that we have received from other European hotels that do a larger tourist trade. Room clean and bathroom a good size. Apparently, even though it's 2013, the Doria Grand can not switch from heating it's guest rooms to air conditioning them without needing a weeks time. At least that was their excuse. We were told that after a cool early spring, temperatures had suddenly got hot and they had no A/C. The rooms were very hot and uncomfortable. All in all, would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear “K J”,

I would first of all like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay in Milan and were very sorry to read that the unseasonal and unexpected variations in temperature during your stay, clouded ( no pun intended ) your overall impression of the hotel. We feel that you are perfectly justified to complain about the temperature during your stay. Our Heating and Air conditioning system is more than efficient for the normal changes in temperature that we get in Milan however your stay coincided with a variation from 6 degrees centigrade to 30 degrees centigrade and back to 14 degrees centigrade over a period of 4 days.

We are constantly monitoring the weather forecast so as to anticipate the changes in temperature as accurately as possible however, even the most sophisticated cooling and heating systems need a certain amount of time to “catch up” with external temperature changes in a building a large as our hotel. We are sorry that on this occasion we did not get it right.

We do hope that you will change your mind about your decision not to return to our hotel as we would like to be given the opportunity to show you that the description you read in Frommer’s is correct.

Thank you once again.

Best regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

We stayed at the Doria from 22-25 march, this hotel is an excellent choice for location only a 5 to10minute walk from the central station,or you can take a taxi for 7-10 euros. The hotel is very well set out and is tastefully decorated to a very high standard with marble everywhere, the rooms are spacious with very big and comfortable beds, (you could have got four people in the one bed)
The breakfast was very good also with plenty of choice from fresh fruit,cereals,scrambled eggs,sausage,continental, and various croissants.
The only downside is the price of drink, now this isnt just the Adi Doria but hotels in general ,sometimes you just want to sit and relax after a day of sightseeing with a nice couple of drinks but to pay 10 euros and upwards is ridiculous, surley if they lowered the price they would sell a lot more and make a lot more, something worth looking into management !!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: any room would do, there are 11 floors which are served by 2 lifts we stayed in 327-329 which face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScotlandHaggis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear “ScotlandHaggis”,

I would first of all like to thank you for writing about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel in Milan. We were especially pleased to read your comment about the décor and style of the hotel which other, less discerning clients have described as “Dated”. Naturally, some clients prefer the new ultra modern style of so many new hotels, however the Art Deco style of our hotel, combined with good old fashioned hospitality, which may be somewhat lacking in other hotels, makes us proud to be one of the leading four star superior hotel in Milan.

We were somewhat surprised to read that you felt that our bar prices were ridiculously expensive, as we have priced our drinks in line with most bars in the area and are certainly less than most 4 star hotels in Milan.

I hope that on your next visit to Milan you will choose to stay with us again as we would be pleased to offer you a complementary drink to celebrate your return.

Best regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

The Adi Doria is someway from Milan's main tourist attractions but don't let this out you off because the Metro is easy to use and very close to the hotel.
The room was cosy, the beds were comfortable however the staff weren't very friendly. The Adi Doria advertise "free wi-fi". However you have to get a new password every time you want to connect and that can be quite annoying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nathankrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear “nathankrout”

I would first of all like to thank you for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doria Gran Hotel.

We are pleased that you highlighted how easy it is to reach any part of the city from our hotel using public transport. Often people think that staying closer to the centre makes visiting the city easier, whereas choosing a base like the Doria Grand Hotel, with its close proximity to all three Metro lines and a number of bus and tram routes, makes visiting Milan a lot easier than other parts of the city.

We were sorry to read that you found our staff unfriendly and they too were disappointed to see that they did not get their usual number of “dots” which they monitor very carefully. I hope we can remedy this on your next stay in Milan.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming back soon.


Best regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales&Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2013

The Doria is one of those big city hotels but it has a certain atmosphere that makes you feel welcome and looked after, not just an anonimous traveller. The room was really nice, the staff friendly, the breakfast good.
We were travelling by train and the location within walking distance from the Stazione Centrale was definitely very convenient.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank villalba83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2013

Dear “villalba83”,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel. When we read comments such as yours we feel that all our efforts to improve our guests’ stay were worthwhile.

Thank you.

Best regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales&Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

I booked this trip as a surprise for my boyfriends 30th. The location of the hotel was perfect, approximately a 5-10 minute walk from Milan Centrale Station. The metro station was also very close to the hotel, we generally used Loretto stop when we wanted to go to the Duomo.

We found the staff extremely helpful and friendly in the hotel. We had a jam packed 4 day stay, going to Turin on 2 separate days, the opera and also going to visit the painting of the last supper...as well as fitting some shopping in too. The receptionists helped greatly with the organisation of trains/metro's and directions to our destinations, as we didn't have much time between things. If it wasn't for them we would have missed our time slots. I would definitely recommend my family and friends to stay here.

The one thing I would advise, is that you take an iron. There is a service at the hotel but it had closed when we needed the iron. This is not a complaint, just a recommendation for people so they know.

My boyfriend and I both enjoyed the continental breakfast. The decor in the hotel is fabulous, the rooms are of an ideal size and the bath and shower are both perfect after a long day exploring.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2013

Dear “Christine H”

Thank you so much for your kind review in trip advisor. Comments such as yours make our efforts seem so much more worthwhile.

We were also pleased to read that you found Milan an interesting tourist destination as many people tend to think of it as a city to visit only for football matches, pop concerts, fashion shows or if they have business here.

We were sorry that our house keeping department could not help you with your ironing when you needed it. For safety reasons, Italian law forbids hotels placing irons in all bedrooms and so we are “rationed” with the number we are allowed to use at any given time. I trust that this did not inconvenience you too much.

Thank you once again for choosing to stay with us and we hope to welcome you back some time in the near future.

Best regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales&Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Although this hotel is not within walking distance to the main tourist attractions, it is very well located for day trips (which make sense in Milan) and there are at least two subway stations nearby.

The room was large (considering European standards), clean and comfortable (although it looks old), the staff is very friendly and the breakfast is very good.

I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronaldogiusti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2013

Dear “ronaldogiusti”,

I would first of all like to thank you for writing about our Grand Hotel.

As you correctly say, the Doria Grand Hotel is 50m away from Caiazzo Metro station ( Green line ), 70m away from Loreto Metro station ( Red line ) and 500m away from Centrale Metro station ( Yellow line ). In other words, all metro lines are in close walking distance from the hotel. Furthermore, a number of trams and buses stop close to the hotel, so that any part of the city is easily reached.

Thank you also for your kind comments about our staff and bedrooms which are in keeping with the Liberty Style of décor which runs throughout the hotel.
We have a choice of different types of rooms. Some offer additional facilities, including a well-stocked mini bar and range of courtesy products, Servetto trouser press, a kettle for make refreshing infusions, Wi-Fi connection and Sky channels.

The company philosophy is to offer good “old-fashioned” hotel accommodation and service which is so lacking in many modern hotels nowadays.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Milan.

Best regards,
Giacomo Bertolio - Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#97 of 431 in Milan
911 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
ADI Hotel Poliziano Fiera
#141 of 431 in Milan
566 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#60 of 431 in Milan
1,034 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#38 of 431 in Milan
1,955 reviews
Bicocca
Soperga Hotel
Soperga Hotel
#160 of 431 in Milan
642 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#91 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#112 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £76 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Fastbooking, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing