We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not fit for business travel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Ranked #108 of 426 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The camp is decadent, camp and completely over the top. It looks like it was designed by Liberace and Bobby George in about 1988. And none of that is inherently a problem - the absurd, heavy and tasselled room keys are quite funny

The problem is it is completely unsuitable as a business hotel. The wifi is terrible, there are barely any plug sockets in the room and the beds are uncomfortable

These are the basics you need if you're on a business trip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy190482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear “Andy “,

I am very surprised to read your review and, specifically, your comment about this Bobby George.
I reported this suspicious review to Tripadvisor, because I’m sorry, but I think you are confused about the location to review. We have not a camp, we have a Grand Hotel.


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio - Sales & Marketing Office - ADI Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (999)
There are newer reviews for ADI Doria Grand Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 1,000 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice and well located business hotel in central Milan. Friendly staff, clean and nice rooms. Some would probably have a better view than mine, which was facing a backyard. But still ok.
Breakfast ok, but not super.

Room Tip: Best I think is to try to get a room on the top floors. Maybe to the street, but it can also be a bi...
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathewF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear “MethewF “,

thank you for the kind feedback you have shared in Tripadvisor
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not a distant future!


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Its my 2nd visit to this hotel, I needed to book an adjoining room as we were 4 and they have them here, the rooms were great. I was at the end of the 4th floor on the right, its very quiet. The internet is still very annoying as they now give vouchers for 10 hours but then if it runs out you have to go back down which is not so convenient hut you can ask for a few vouchers.
The room & bathroom were clean. The breakfast is now until 10.30 at the weekend, it was quiet good. Not a great selection but they had fresh fruit. Over all friendly staff and very nice hotel. Its 10 minutes’ walk from the main station.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back & get a few internet vouchers so you are not stuck when it runs out.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear “unally “,

thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel. When we read comments such as yours we feel that all our efforts to improve our guests’ stay were worthwhile.

Regarding the constant need to login to the wi fi, you have our full agreement. Unfortunately, due to Italian legislation, every “new” login has to enter a password in order to reduce internet abuse. Once one logs out of the system, one is obliged to login again even if the log out was for a few minutes. We can assure you that as soon as an alternative is allowed, we will be one of the first hotels to adopt this system.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Recently travelled to Milan for a weekend trip and stayed at the ADI Doria Grand Hotel.

Its location to the Central Station was a big advantage and when we got off the bus from the airport we had a 10 minute walk to the hotel.

The reception staff were excellent and spoke good English. Our room was very clean and of a high standard. The room was quiet with little or no corridor noise.

Breakfast was good though they there was a shortage of bread and bread rolls and staff were slow to refill.

The location of the hotel is also good for getting into the the centre of Milan, we walked in one day, took 45 minutes but was well worth it. The other days we jumped on the metro with 2 stations a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

All in all an excellent trip and woud recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Room facing on to back of hotel is the best for less street noise, although drawback is that there i...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear “Duncan M “,

first of all thank you for choosing the Doria Grand Hotel for your recent stay in Milano.

I am really delight to read your review shared in Tripadvisor and I am glad that you enjoyed our property.

Furthermore I am pleased to hear that you recommended our Doria Grand Hotel and I really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not a distant future!


I take this occasion to send you my Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We only spent one evening in Milan so we could make a plane connection the next morning. This hotel was great. A few blocks from the train station. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. They were very helpful at the front desk, spoke English and answered all of our questions on making our connection the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear “Ronald G “,

I would like to thank you for the beautiful feedback you have shared and I am pleased to read that you have appreciated the strategic location and the Hospitality of the Doria Grand Hotel.

I am going to pass it on your polite comment about the helpful at the Reception to the Front Office Staff which work to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you for choosing ADI Hotels for your stay in Milano.
We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We stayed just one night at this lovely hotel before we flew back to Australia and chose the location due to proximity to station & airport buses. Having previously flown into Milan and stayed in another hotel in this area we were very familiar with the area and the fabulous metro trains that can be caught to the cathedral etc. We love this area near Via Buenos Aries.
By city standards the hotel is in a quiet leafy street and our room did not face the street. We loved this older style art deco hotel and the quality of the furnishings. Personally I feel that calling this hotel “dated” is unfair given the quality, style and attention to detail. And yes Australians are used to tea and coffee in the room – but I would much rather go to a café with a giant chandelier! (ie Café Duomo!) for coffee in Italy!
Two lifts service the hotel and luggage can easily be wheeled in with no lifting at all. Front Desk staff were gorgeous! Great English was appreciated as we don’t speak Italian. Initially we were given a room with 2 single beds which was changed immediately to a double when we let them know. Helped us with maps even when I lost it 5 minutes later! Staff clarified directions just off the map to a restaurant for us and happily stored our luggage after check out until we left for the airport. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet and again the staff were charming and efficient.
After encountering “no heating in apartments until November explanations” in other places during the month, it was fantastic to have thermostat controlled central heating in the room plus a window that could be opened.
The mosquito warnings in many trip advisor reports about many hotels (especially in Florence) are valid and most properties do not have fly wire screens on windows as Australians will be used to. We stayed in October (Autumn). If you are a mosquito target, then having a room with aircon/heating so windows can be closed while sleeping is essential in Italy in Summer/Autumn.
The other thing to note about accommodation in Milan is that it does appear to be expensive by comparison. We received a special price on our room but still payed close to $250 AUD. Even in Australia you can expect to be in a 5 Star hotel for this price. This however is the reality of staying in Milan.
If you stay here we recommend walking the few blocks to find L’Enoteca dei Transiti – for great Italian wine and aperitivi!

Room Tip: In Italy a room not facing the street is always a good idea. Noise will always be an issue in cities...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kanivagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear “kanivagirl”

we would like to thank you for taking the trouble to write your detailed description of your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel in Milano.

We are very glad to see that you have appreciated our property and its location and we are especially pleased to read that you have loved the Liberty Style and the quality of the furnishing of our Grand Hotel. Furthermore we are happy that you have noted the quality and attention to detail of our management. Naturally, some clients prefer the new modern style, but we are proud to offer an elegant and classic product combined with good old fashioned hospitality.

Thank you once again for your kind review, we are already looking forward to welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 2 nights recently as a stopover between the Cinqua Terra and Venice. Like others it was chosen for its convenient location to Milano Centrale station. The hotel is just fine. Room was spacious, bed very large and comfortable, staff very professional with excellent English language skills, wifi very fast and dependable, and breakfast of good quality.

The in house restaurant is expensive as is usual in the better hotels but there is no shortage of local alternatives. Hotel is located close to the major shopping strip that then leads into the city centre.

Overall, an enjoyable and professional experience as expected from a major hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2013

Dear “Ruby G “,

thank you for choosing our Doria Grand Hotel and thank you for taking the time to write this review about your experience.

I pleased to read that you enjoyed Milano and that you appreciated every aspect of our property, located near Corso Buenos Aires, the main shopping street of the city and very closed to Milano Centrale.

I hope you had a nice Italian tour and a pleasant journey back.

I am looking forward to welcoming you here soon.

Best Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#97 of 426 in Milan
871 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels Anderson
Starhotels Anderson
#70 of 426 in Milan
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#35 of 426 in Milan
1,330 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
Hotel Mediolanum Milan
#37 of 426 in Milan
772 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#89 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#90 Family Hotel in Milan
#112 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £81 - £347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, Fastbooking, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing