We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice standard hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ADI Doria Grand Hotel
Ranked #116 of 430 Hotels in Milan
Reviewed 27 November 2013

The valuable aspect of the hotel is its location – close to the Milano centrale FS (by foot) and 2 metro stations. Quite and respectable neighborhood with enough trattorias and pizzerias for dinner or take away. A supermarket on the opposite side of the street. The room was clean and quite. The breakfast included cereals, cheese, ham, 3 kinds of croissants fruits, omlette and sausages, hot and cold drinks, jogurt. Free wifi. Satellite TV did not show channels in Russian.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LOMM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear “LOMM”

we would like to thank you for choosing our Doria Grand Hotel and for taking the time to write this kind review about your recent stay with us.
I wish you a very nice day and I send you my

Kindest Regards
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,045)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

190 - 196 of 1,045 reviews

Reviewed 24 November 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights. At check in we were sent to a room that was not cleaned, then came downstairs and got sent to another room. The room was big but the bed and the pillows were terrible... Also our room was very stuffy! We had the heat off and the window wide open but it was still warm... I would not want to stay here in the summer. It feels like a very old hotel that was probably very nice some years ago. There are some nice features like the towel rack that warms your towels.. and the nice teacups and tea spread..But the shower is tricky.... Both my husband and I had water temperature changes that almost burned us. Also the large key for the room is cool but not very fun to carry around the city. Breakfast wasn't too bad... Simple spread, nice dining room just dated.

The Hotel is close to the red line which takes you right to the center of the city in 4 stops for €1,90 each way. The hotel is close to the central train station but overall not in the nicest area.

I don't think we would stay here again.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Mdurksen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear “Mdurksen “,

thank you for choosing the Doria Grand Hotel for your recent stay in Milano and for taking a few minutes of your time to write your review.

I am sorry to read that in your opinion our property is an “old hotel that was probably very nice some years ago”. The Liberty style furnishings and the meticulous attention to detail are what give this establishment its particular charm. Its 124 rooms are delicately and elegantly furnished with the highest quality upholstery, bath salt in white Carrara marble, pink Portuguese marble , black marble from Africa and polychrome marble in the lobby, with fine tapestry , precious fabrics Etro , mahogany furniture , stucchi veneziani and other sought after materials of the highest quality .

Over the years the ownership has continuously invested resources in the care and maintenance of a building that has 11 floors of guest rooms and common areas added up to 6 floors of garage.
Last summer 3 meeting rooms have been renovated and in these days we are working on the first 3 floors. We will restyle the floor and we place a new carpet in the hallways and a new wood floors in the bedrooms and so, finished the works our Guest can choose to stay in a room with soft comfortable carpet or with modern parquet.

Finally, the Doria Grand Hotel, as you rightly pointed out, is a classic hotel in Liberty Style, the upgrades that we have done over the years , and that will surely continue to do, are upgrades that cannot fail to take in account the soul and style of the hotel which for over twenty years is a landmark for the hospitality of Milano.

I sincerely hope that you will soon return to the Doria Grand Hotel and please contact us directly so as the chance to stay in one of the new rooms.


Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio - Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

The camp is decadent, camp and completely over the top. It looks like it was designed by Liberace and Bobby George in about 1988. And none of that is inherently a problem - the absurd, heavy and tasselled room keys are quite funny

The problem is it is completely unsuitable as a business hotel. The wifi is terrible, there are barely any plug sockets in the room and the beds are uncomfortable

These are the basics you need if you're on a business trip

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Andy190482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear “Andy “,

I am very surprised to read your review and, specifically, your comment about this Bobby George.
I reported this suspicious review to Tripadvisor, because I’m sorry, but I think you are confused about the location to review. We have not a camp, we have a Grand Hotel.


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio - Sales & Marketing Office - ADI Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Nice and well located business hotel in central Milan. Friendly staff, clean and nice rooms. Some would probably have a better view than mine, which was facing a backyard. But still ok.
Breakfast ok, but not super.

Room Tip: Best I think is to try to get a room on the top floors. Maybe to the street, but it can also be a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MathewF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 December 2013

Dear “MethewF “,

thank you for the kind feedback you have shared in Tripadvisor
We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not a distant future!


Kind Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Its my 2nd visit to this hotel, I needed to book an adjoining room as we were 4 and they have them here, the rooms were great. I was at the end of the 4th floor on the right, its very quiet. The internet is still very annoying as they now give vouchers for 10 hours but then if it runs out you have to go back down which is not so convenient hut you can ask for a few vouchers.
The room & bathroom were clean. The breakfast is now until 10.30 at the weekend, it was quiet good. Not a great selection but they had fresh fruit. Over all friendly staff and very nice hotel. Its 10 minutes’ walk from the main station.

Room Tip: Get a room at the back & get a few internet vouchers so you are not stuck when it runs out.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank unally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2013

Dear “unally “,

thank you so much for taking the time to write about your stay at the Doria Grand Hotel. When we read comments such as yours we feel that all our efforts to improve our guests’ stay were worthwhile.

Regarding the constant need to login to the wi fi, you have our full agreement. Unfortunately, due to Italian legislation, every “new” login has to enter a password in order to reduce internet abuse. Once one logs out of the system, one is obliged to login again even if the log out was for a few minutes. We can assure you that as soon as an alternative is allowed, we will be one of the first hotels to adopt this system.

We really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!


Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Recently travelled to Milan for a weekend trip and stayed at the ADI Doria Grand Hotel.

Its location to the Central Station was a big advantage and when we got off the bus from the airport we had a 10 minute walk to the hotel.

The reception staff were excellent and spoke good English. Our room was very clean and of a high standard. The room was quiet with little or no corridor noise.

Breakfast was good though they there was a shortage of bread and bread rolls and staff were slow to refill.

The location of the hotel is also good for getting into the the centre of Milan, we walked in one day, took 45 minutes but was well worth it. The other days we jumped on the metro with 2 stations a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

All in all an excellent trip and woud recommend it for others.

Room Tip: Room facing on to back of hotel is the best for less street noise, although drawback is that there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear “Duncan M “,

first of all thank you for choosing the Doria Grand Hotel for your recent stay in Milano.

I am really delight to read your review shared in Tripadvisor and I am glad that you enjoyed our property.

Furthermore I am pleased to hear that you recommended our Doria Grand Hotel and I really hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in not a distant future!


I take this occasion to send you my Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We only spent one evening in Milan so we could make a plane connection the next morning. This hotel was great. A few blocks from the train station. It was very clean, quiet, and comfortable. They were very helpful at the front desk, spoke English and answered all of our questions on making our connection the next day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Ronald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADIHotelsManagement, Direttore generale at ADI Doria Grand Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 October 2013

Dear “Ronald G “,

I would like to thank you for the beautiful feedback you have shared and I am pleased to read that you have appreciated the strategic location and the Hospitality of the Doria Grand Hotel.

I am going to pass it on your polite comment about the helpful at the Reception to the Front Office Staff which work to make our guests stay as pleasant as possible.

Thank you for choosing ADI Hotels for your stay in Milano.
We hope to welcome you once again in the future.

Warm Regards,
Giacomo Bertolio – Sales & Marketing Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Andreola Hotel
Andreola Hotel
#93 of 430 in Milan
906 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#36 of 430 in Milan
1,930 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Sanpi Milano
Hotel Sanpi Milano
#38 of 430 in Milan
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Citta Studi
Starhotels Ritz
Starhotels Ritz
#108 of 430 in Milan
1,117 reviews
Stazione Centrale
C-Hotels Atlantic
C-Hotels Atlantic
#59 of 430 in Milan
1,022 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Hotel Madison
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ADI Doria Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ADI Doria Grand Hotel

Address: Viale Andrea Doria 22, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Bicocca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#87 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#94 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#112 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range: £67 - £599 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — ADI Doria Grand Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Milan's business and shopping district, close to Corso Buenos Aires and Central Station. Nearby the new Porta Nuova district, easily accessible with the three underground lines.Art and cultural events are hosted in the hotel. We are the ideal choice for business travellers and for tourists wishing to enjoy a nice vacation.124 bright and soundproofed rooms, white Carrara Marble bathrooms. Delicious buffet breakfast included. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Fastbooking, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your ADI Doria Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doria Grand Milan
Hotel Doria Grand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing