We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, great value”
Review of Mennini

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mennini
Ranked #295 of 427 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hotel, great value”
Reviewed 17 March 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights in June 2012 in a twin room on floor number 3 with a view of Via Napo Torriani, the road that the hotel is on. The hotel is very conveniently located to Stazione Centrale (train/subway station), about 5-8 mins walk and you can go almost anywhere from there, and about a half an hour walk to the very centre of Milan, where the Duomo is located, a must see. The room was very clean, en-suite toilet was fantastic - there was a bidet, and towels which were changed every day. They provided a shower hair net, soap bar, and shampoo sachet. There was a mini-bar i.e. a small fridge, loaded with expensive drinks (priced at about EUR3 each) in the room. There was a small Samsung TV with a good range of channels. There was also an electronic safe to store valuables, but it had no batteries so we couldn't use it! There was ample wardrobe space, and several spare blankets. The fridge was directly in front of a power point which it would not connect to, so we had to share it with the air conditioner's power point. The air conditioner looked like it was broken at first, but it does work, albeit very noisy! There's a shutter outside the window which is closed about 80% of the way, so you can't see much out the window unless you really stick your head out. For some reason, the shutters don't stay up if you push them up, they just keep coming back down. But this didn't bother me too much. Beds were made every day and shampoos/soaps were replaced appropriately. Breakfast was quite good. It was buffet style. There wasn't much hot food - scrambled egg and some meat, but there was plenty of bread which could be toasted, butter, jam, croissants, fairy cakes, biscuits, cereals, apricots, yoghurts, milk, water, orange juice, red orange juice, various different cakes. Tea/coffee was served if you wanted it. Waitresses were nice. Basically breakfast was very satisfying, but if you are looking for lots of hot food, this isn't the place. There was free wi-fi in the lobby (get free password from reception) which was very handy! It was reasonably fast for a mobile device. I used it to make Skype phone calls from my mobile phone. There was another wireless router on the 4th floor which I could access from the 3rd floor but you had to pay for this, however sometimes it worked without paying! Just join the network for free! There was a bowl of apples in the lobby, and bowls of sweets in the seating area. Towards the back, there was a room with computers with very pricey internet to use, and free drinks and snacks (biscuits, crisps, olives) available on a table - this was good! The reception staff were helpful, they spoke good English, they required passports at check-in which they kept for a while (until we next came down) to process. You can hand in your keys to the reception if you go out somewhere, then when you come back you can state your room number and get your keys again. I think this is to save you the hassle of carrying a key with a giant key fob.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DarkDragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

470 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    135
    146
    73
    47
See reviews for
75
116
67
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

This hotel is an easy 5-10 minute walk from the train station, and is a serviceable "bed for the night" type of hotel. which is exactly what I wanted. There was free wifi in the lobby - much appreciated. The breakast was above average for an Italian hotel. The surrounding area has fast food chains and some bars, but I did not find any good trattoria-type places. The African shop across the street actually had a good range of convenience-store type items. A useful base for Milan.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarTammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nottingham
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013

Me and my partner stayed here for 1 night. It was just a stopover before we travelled to Bergamo airport the next day. Its 5minutes walk from the termini station which is perfect. And wouldn't be too far to go into Milan itself.

The reception staff were very friendly. The room was average, I'd say for the price your paying its a good room. No outside noise and a comfortable bed. It has a mini bar in the room (expensive but what mini bar isnt?!) The bathroom was nice, everything was clean. Extra pillows and bedding was in the wardrobe which was welcomed greatly for the time of year we was there.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank missljw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Vilniaus Apskritis, Lithuania
2 reviews
Reviewed 16 December 2012

Hotel is old style, definitely needs renovation, unpleasant to touch walls, furniture or curtains, towels were clean but they are used there for ages. Very poor noise isolation. Staff not friendly and does not speak English. Cold in the room, heating is turned on only few hours per day. WiFi works only in the lobby.

Positive things: good location, breakfast quite OK.

Room Tip: choose a room in another hotel if you want to have a chance to a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarunas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Wellington, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

This is a clean, neat hotel and the breakfast is very good for a hotel in this price class in Italy. The Wifi in the lobby is really fast and free, of course. I didn't try the wifi on the 8th floor, knowing it wouldn't work anyhow. The lobby is comfortale, so no need to have wifi in the rooms too.

The staff were helpful and they try to get your room ready as soon as you arrive, even if you arrive before check-in time.

It's a comfortable walk's distance from Milan's central station from where trains to all over europe and throughout Milan depart.

Some 200m down the road is a small Billa where basic groceries can be bought.

There is a small restaurant right next to the hotel's entrance.

The street in which the hotel is situated is actually quite quiet.

Room Tip: Rooms on floor 1 to 3 might have better wifi signal than those above it. People with claustraphobia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuperDelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanover, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2012

My wife and I arrived in Milan a day sooner then planned and booked this on the Internet just prior to leaving NYC. It was a pleasant surprise for our first night in Milan and overcoming our jet lag. We got our room immediately upon arrival at 10 AM. Room was small and clean. Very adequate and large bathroom, and a balcony! We immediately went to bed, got up, found a great pizzeria a few doors down, ventured down to Buenes Aires Blvd. for shopping and people watching while catching the vibe of this part of the city. After buying some cheese, grapes, and vino, we headed back to the hotel and had a nice romantic dinner on our balcony till we retired for evening. Needless to say, we were wide awake at 11 PM and headed back to Buenes Aires for some action. We found a great tapas bar and had a wonderful time with a host of new Italian friends. Then back to our room for the evening. Checked out the next day at noon and proceeded to our other hotel. All in all, this is a great place to crash your first night in Milan if traveling on an all night flight from North America.

Room Tip: Ask for a high up room with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bernina
Hotel Bernina
#142 of 427 in Milan
574 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Aosta - Gruppo MiniHotel
Stazione Centrale
Mythos Hotel
Mythos Hotel
#192 of 427 in Milan
429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
Canova Hotel
Canova Hotel
#216 of 427 in Milan
434 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Bolzano
Hotel Bolzano
#299 of 427 in Milan
434 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Smart Hotel Milano Centrale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mennini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mennini

Property: Mennini
Address: Via Napo Torriani 14, 20124 Milan, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #295 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mennini 3*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mennini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mennini Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing