We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In an emercengy!”
Review of Mokinba Hotel King

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mokinba Hotel King
Ranked #335 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In an emercengy!”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was my first night in Italy and first night in Europe, I was desperate for a room is was Fashion Week 2013. I found the concierge very difficult the young man very helpful however the older more senior was short and sharp and unhelpful. The internet was down for more that 1 day grrr.... The room was small but not as small as the elevator. I thought it was me and my expectation, and I was tired form traveling. After many other stays in Italy I have been very well looked after with much help and many great rooms, so If you are desperate this is a convenient location to the country train and to the Metro, and the breakfast is very good and plentiful, the staff generally are very pleasant and helpful suffering under their leader.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    148
    148
    77
    57
See reviews for
80
155
33
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Talk about you only get what you pay for. The location is good but the room on the 4th floor no lift was shabby to say the least no plugs in bathroom sink or bath. Could,not find fire escape. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone. At least we didn't find any bugs.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
32 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Pros:
- Location (five minute walk to metro and airport train)
- Large safe in the room (to easily fit a laptop computer)

Cons:
- This hotel is definitely not 4 Stars (European standards) as advertised. 3 stars, at most.
- Paid extra for a double-room and got a single room because the hotel was "full". When I asked to refund the difference, they could not authorise this as the manager was suddenly not available.
- Breakfast was appalling. Milk was off, I made them aware of this. The next day, the milk was off again. It's only a tiny continental breakfast and once food runs out (even one hour before breakfast finishes), nothing is replaced. I had to find breakfast outside the hotel even though I paid for breakfast in my room price.
- Shower drain was blocked and flooded the bathroom after 5 minutes. After making staff aware every day, it was never fixed.
- No toiletries provided other than pump soap. No shampoo, no tissues, nothing.
- If you need a taxi, they flatly refuse to call one. Instead, you must use their hire cars at three times the price. They are also unreliable and often arrive 15-20 minutes AFTER the time you have booked them for (they will tell you it's only 2 minutes away).
- There is no secure luggage storage. If you depart late in the day and want to leave your luggage at the hotel after checkout, they leave it in the foyer of the hotel, unguarded. Public come and take what they want, when they want.
- The lift is often used by cleaners. In the morning, I often waited 5-10 minutes for the lift.
- WiFi is €5 per day, per device.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 52_hotels_in_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Hen entering the hotel, you feel the past glory that the hotel once was. The staff was correct and polite. The room was clean and had a decent size. The location is perfect for a visit to the city. However, you will have to cope with aged rooms, a breakfast in the cellar (and you have to pay for some of the available food!!), paper walls (very awkward when the couple next door is celebrating romance) and a tiny elevator (no big suitcase!)

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hakim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I tried to book my third stay at this hotel directly with them as we have an agreed preferential rate that is organised by the company hosting our meeting. I first checked the website for availability before sending a polite e-mail with my booking dates and requirements. I received a short e-mail back stating that there was no availability. I again checked the website which would of course allow me to make the booking but at a total of 100EU more for my stay than the agreed rate,

Again I sent a polite e-mail asking if there had been an error as I was able to book online and their website showed various room options available. The e-mail I got back simply stated "Try to book on the website - Mario." I found this response to be totally unhelpful and quite rude.

This is likely to result in considerable loss of business to them as there are about 15 of us that attend these meetings which are held twice per year. I shall certainly not be staying there again – frankly it wasn’t that great to start with (dated, noisy and a bit basic) and was only selected as it was the hotel recommended to us by the hosting company.

Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank TMC75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Smyrna, Georgia
Level Contributor
149 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Set your expectations accordingly. My fiance and I took a last minute trip to Milan and we literally were booking the hotel on-line as the doors to the airplane were closing. It was very affordable and in a fantastic location.

Those are the positives. The room we had may or may not have been super clean (lots of dark / outdated colors and sheets) but the doors locked and nothing was stolen from our room. The bed wasn't comfortable but it wasn't so bad that it impacted our trip.

The key to this place is it's value and location. You can walk to the train station (to get back to the airport or anywhere else), there's a bar next door and a great sushi place across the street. You can also walk to the duomo, castle, shopping area, and anywhere else.

The front desk staff were friendly enough. We did not have any issues.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank metalheadrr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#243 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#354 of 427 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Palazzo Delle Stelline
#195 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#174 of 427 in Milan
3.5 of 5 bubbles 463 reviews
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Centro Storico
London Hotel
London Hotel
#293 of 427 in Milan
3.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokinba Hotel King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokinba Hotel King

Property: Mokinba Hotel King
Address: Corso Magenta 19 | Centro Storico - Duomo - Castello Sforzesco -, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#163 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mokinba Hotel King 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L 'Hotel King, without excitation, the king of the Mokinba Hotels Group. In the historic center, five minutes from the Duomo filled, offers its guests every comfort. It has been renovated over the years, while maintaining a style decor, offers guests an elegant welcoming environment with confortable and familiar atmosphere. Each room has a bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, radio, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and minibar. What's better than a generous breakfast to start your day? You will be surprised by the variety of items on the buffet table. You need to park your car? No problem: there is a private garage just a few meters. The reception will be happy to assist you with a prompt service, available 24 hours on 24. Come and visit us, we will be glad to show our best Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mokinba Hotel King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Mokinba Milan
Hotel King Mokinba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing