We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice with Superb location.”
Review of Mokinba Hotel King

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mokinba Hotel King
Ranked #349 of 428 Hotels in Milan
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice with Superb location.”
Reviewed 2 April 2014

We spent here 1 night. Staff very friendly and amazing location. Venue a bit old but enough for the price you are paying for...

The negative point: Even if they say there is a parking slot to do the check in/out that's not true because is always full by their shuttle and rental cars. So no for the clients...

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    57
    149
    149
    77
    60
See reviews for
81
156
33
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2014

On a business trip to Milan three colleagues and myself were at four rooms on different floors. I need to include that bit of information, because we all had the same experiences in our respective rooms.

There are many good things to be said about the hotel:
- The rooms were very clean
- The staff is friendly and helpful
- Great location!

Well, not many. And the not so good things? You may think I am very picky, because each and every of the things that will follow usually don't bother me too much. All of them add up to something not so enjoyable, though.

Let's start with the room. I am not complaining about its size, because cities like London or Paris also don't offer suites for a small budget - it was tiny, though. What I didn't like were the boarded up windows - and a room without daylight is something I don't like much. After opening the boarded windows, a little daylight came in from the inner court. Not a great view, and not much light. Well.

It was good that I could open the window, though, or else it would have been impossible to sleep in this room. It was winter and cold, and the room was totally overheated. It didn't help that the AV wouldn't except any other setting and happily keep on heating the room. The balance of 5 degrees outside and 30 degrees inside kept the room stable at something like 16 degrees Celsius. Again, this was the case in all four rooms we had.

If you did get cold, though, you could always have a hot shower. I was impressed when I saw the shower control that allows settings between 15 and 60 degrees Celsius; unfortunately, after a few seconds, the water will be at something like 50 degrees and no amount of turning down to 20 made the water any colder. The only remedy was to turn it down all the way and enjoy 30 seconds of, say, 30 degrees before the water started boiling me alive.

Finding the switches for all the lights that the cleaning staff turned on every day was a challenge on the first evening, when I returned home with a belly full of beer, but on the subsequent days I knew where they were.

The breakfast was ok; and it was the very first time I saw a toast machine that did not manage to brown a slice of toast even after four attempts with the same slice.

To wrap it up, although there are only minor things wrong with this place, I would not go there again if I had the choice.

Room Tip: The rooms with single occupancy end with -16. They don't have a great view and the above mention...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank revrazna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lisbellaw n.ireland
Level Contributor
216 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We selected this hotel for our City Break. We really wanted a hotel that was close to many of the city's sites so that we could walk about at leisure. This hotel is 5mins walk from Cadorna Metro Station, and only 10 mins walk from the Duomo. There are also very good Restaurants in the nearby streets.
The Hotel itself is quite small though has 6 floors - the 2 lifts are tiny and really can only take 2 people! We were on the 5th floor and had a great view of the street and the trams below. Initially there was a smokey smell in our room but we just opened the window and it was gone. Everything in the room was as we expected and met all our needs, clean and comfortable, a great base for exploring the city.
Breakfast was Contintental style in the basement - i loved the fresh orange juice machine but the coffee was not piping hot though that seems to be a Milan thing. I'd have loved an Ulster Fry but alas Milan hasn't discovered that yet!!
We found the reception desk to be very helpful and friendly indeed, They have 24hr cover so we were able to check out at 6.30am on the Sunday.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

Very close to centre, in a central area but quite e noiseless at night. Very clean and cosy. Plenty of shopping areas and restaurants In the nearby. 2 min walk to Leonardo' Last Supper. Welcoming and good price. I much recommend it, go for it !!!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Saima F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Very good location, tram just outside the hotel, saves time and the area feels safe. Nice breakfast, kids love it. Helpful staff, speaking english and have good knowledge about Milano. We will stay there again and the location saves time and the area feels safe.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This was my first night in Italy and first night in Europe, I was desperate for a room is was Fashion Week 2013. I found the concierge very difficult the young man very helpful however the older more senior was short and sharp and unhelpful. The internet was down for more that 1 day grrr.... The room was small but not as small as the elevator. I thought it was me and my expectation, and I was tired form traveling. After many other stays in Italy I have been very well looked after with much help and many great rooms, so If you are desperate this is a convenient location to the country train and to the Metro, and the breakfast is very good and plentiful, the staff generally are very pleasant and helpful suffering under their leader.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dianne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Milan hotels

Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Talk about you only get what you pay for. The location is good but the room on the 4th floor no lift was shabby to say the least no plugs in bathroom sink or bath. Could,not find fire escape. Wouldn't recommend this to anyone. At least we didn't find any bugs.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Navigli
Hotel Carrobbio
Hotel Carrobbio
#237 of 428 in Milan
396 reviews
Navigli
Mentana Hotel
Mentana Hotel
#353 of 428 in Milan
198 reviews
Palazzo Delle Stelline
#198 of 428 in Milan
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#177 of 428 in Milan
470 reviews
Navigli
B&B Hotel Milano Sant'Ambrogio
Centro Storico
Camperio House Suites & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mokinba Hotel King? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mokinba Hotel King

Property: Mokinba Hotel King
Address: Corso Magenta 19 | Centro Storico - Duomo - Castello Sforzesco -, 20123 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#168 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mokinba Hotel King 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L 'Hotel King, without excitation, the king of the Mokinba Hotels Group. In the historic center, five minutes from the Duomo filled, offers its guests every comfort. It has been renovated over the years, while maintaining a style decor, offers guests an elegant welcoming environment with confortable and familiar atmosphere. Each room has a bathroom, hairdryer, direct dial telephone, satellite TV, radio, free Wi-Fi, air conditioning and minibar. What's better than a generous breakfast to start your day? You will be surprised by the variety of items on the buffet table. You need to park your car? No problem: there is a private garage just a few meters. The reception will be happy to assist you with a prompt service, available 24 hours on 24. Come and visit us, we will be glad to show our best Welcome! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mokinba Hotel King reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King Mokinba Milan
Hotel King Mokinba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing