We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but nothing special.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Antares Hotel Rubens
Ranked #28 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Ok but nothing special.”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We stayed for 3 nights as we were attending a game at the San siro. Please don't go to this hotel and stay nearer the city centre nearer the places where the day trips operate from. You may pay extra for the hotel but save money on taxi and metro costs!! You also have somewhere nice to walk and a better choice of restaurants to eat in. We ate in the hotel restaurant and it was of very poor quality. I didnt feel safe walking outside the hotel and would not choose this hotel again!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank An27dy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianmarioBertini, Direttore at Antares Hotel Rubens, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
Dear Sir,
it is my duty to take seriously all critics received, but I definetely do not agree that the area looks not safe to walk around. It is instead a location with many restaurants, shopping streets such as Via Marghera and Corso Vercelli. You probably walked to the Stadium and the surroundings there are simple residential architecture but in 15 years that I run the Hotel, I never had to face any kind of problem referred to annoyance or discomfort felt by Guests when walking to the stadium or shopping around.
An at least 2 nights stay would have maybe provided a wider overall vision and possibly better sensations.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    372
    61
    11
    9
See reviews for
164
232
35
201
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bydgoszcz, Poland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I spent 3 weeks in Milan in January/February 2013. The hotel was chosen based on Google and Tripadvisor query. During this stay I experienced very hospital service, both at the desk and the restaurant. Hotel manager was very flexible. Great advantage: delicious breakfasts. Very good choice of cheeses, prosciutto, fruits, hot stuff, cereal etc. with very good coffee. The room was quite small but always clean and quiet. The Wifi internet could work smoother. Location was not the city center but the subway transportation was very convenient: 3 minutes by foot to the nearest station. Also reaching San Siro was possible by foot.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meehow77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camarillo, California
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2013

We had stayed a couple times at another Antares hotel, the Accademia. We were going to see a couple of A C Milan soccer games so we wanted to stay a bit closer to the stadium.

The Rubens is about the closest hotel. Located in a residential area.

Very nice. Nice rooms. Very helpful staff. Excellent breakfast.

Very reasonably priced. Although amazing how much more we had to pay for the night of the game with Barcelona.

Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2013 via mobile

I read some glowing reviews but my experience was more ordinary than not. Small room at the back, facing blocks of flats. Forced to open the window because of stifling heat, even in mid-winter, and no air con (heat only; cool switched off until April). I was told other guests had complained about the heat and to give staff their due they turned it off to my room. But open window meant noise from the flats at all hours. Nice clean bathroom, clean crisp linen, good breakfast on fifth floor ( super continental selection though the cooked breakfast needs more variety). All in all ok, but I wouldn't stay again. It is rated four-star but that is a big push for mine.

Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank dc8-63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GianmarioBertini, Direttore at Antares Hotel Rubens, responded to this review, 31 January 2013
Dear Sir,
I am sorry for the inconvenience of the heating. Indeed we faced a problem on jan. 23rd 2013 that has been promptly solved and some Guests on 5th floor suffered 2 degrees more than the most comfortable situation. I regret that the lenght of your stay did not allow us to show you how much we care for the best possible stay with us.
Thank you for the suggestion for a wider variety of cooked food. We take seriously all Guests' suggestion, but I must inform that our brekafast is not mere continental but hot and cold buffet breakfast.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Very good money/location/ambience/service ratio. We stayed there twice, a family with 2 kids. Perhaps, the breakfast could have been better, but nonetheless the money is sure felt well spent. When we asked for a glass of hot milk at 1 am, the reception guy delivered, and free of charge.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeLit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Excellent location, less than a 10 minute walk to the metro station De Angeli and easy to get around. There were plenty of restaurants to chose from a maximum of 15 minutes walk away.

The staff on front desk offered no friendly hello, goodbye or banter but that's a nice to have and not essential, would be nice if when we were waiting they would see to us first and not wait ignoring us. The bar was unstaffed when we went once, so had to wait for someone to appear, also they do not serve cocktails, again something nice to have based on personal preference. I can see from other reviews there should have been free appetizers with drinks, we were not told about this. Staff in the restaurant where we had breakfast were very lovely and accommodating and breakfast was nice.

They provide free wifi which is a plus, the signal strength is not available everywhere in the room but it works in places.

In the room, the bathroom has a lovely shower and is very modern, which doesn't match up with the old fashioned decor in the room. The room was a big size, note a double bed is 2 singles together in our case, one slightly higher than the other.

Our room was baking baking hot, too hot to sleep due to something not working, in November we slept with the windows open which meant we had to deal with the noise.

This was just about an average stay, however I would not be inclined to stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Slough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
662 reviews
165 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

The location of this hotel makes it easy to get around and all the staff extremely friendly. The bedrooms are average size, very clean but if staying in a twin, the single beds are a little small but comfy.
The bathrooms are very good, except the sliding glass door which restricts privacy - your room sharing partner will know what you are doing in there.....
Breakfast was a little disappointing and try to avoid the last minute dash to get in before closing as limited tables.
Really good location for the Metro but limited things to do near the hotel although did find some nice places to eat on the walk down to Wagner station.

Room Tip: You do get noise from the road if on a road facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank debsywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Ramada Plaza Milano
#63 of 427 in Milan
1,259 reviews
Milan Suite Hotel
#26 of 427 in Milan
651 reviews
Navigli
Residence & Hotel HOUSE Aramis Milan Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Antares Hotel Accademia
#27 of 427 in Milan
566 reviews
Grand Visconti Palace
#34 of 427 in Milan
1,816 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#29 of 427 in Milan
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel Rubens

Property: Antares Hotel Rubens
Address: Via Pieter Rubens 21, 20148 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#39 Best Value Hotel in Milan
#45 Family Hotel in Milan
#59 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#65 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antares Hotel Rubens 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has been entirely renewed in 2011. Completely sound proofed the 87 air conditioned rooms have a private bathroom with either bathtub and/or emotional shower. The warm and welcoming hospitality combined with the ornate interiors ensure a relaxing and cultured environment. Enjoy unique works of art including "Moon" by Teresa Pomodoro or enjoy the rich buffet breakfast in the Sala delle Nuvole" located on the hotel’s top floor and overlooking Milan... the relaxing atmosphere and the professionalism of our staff will make sure that your stay in Milan will be unforgettable... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Antares Hotel Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing