We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“average...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antares Hotel Rubens
Ranked #34 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“average...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2008

pretty average continental hotel. Not going to set the world on fire, friendly enough front desk but in general, I wouldnt go out of my way to stay here again.....theres hotels closer to the center of milan.

  • Disliked — checkout
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    354
    60
    11
    9
See reviews for
149
211
31
190
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ipswich
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2008

Myself and my two friends arrived at the hotel and as soon as the taxi driver popped his breaks on the concierge was there to take our luggage and took to our room, very impressed.

Reception was very good, we found the lady good especially when asking about shopping and the chap at night his english was very good and understood everything we asked!

The triple room was lovely and the bathroom was a definate hit with us girls (I will be attaching photos later).

The breakfast was very good and the view is great do eat as much as you can.

The hotel added little personal touches which put a smile on our faces such as the slippers and 'good night' towel and folding down the covers for bed time.

The Metro station is just around the corner, we found that De Angeli first but then the next stop which is Gambara is the closest with a five minute walk. To walk in to the centre takes approximately 40 mins but the metro only takes 20 mins if that.

We would of liked to have seen in the room a folder showing attractions, resturants, things not to miss etc.

We will not return to Milan but if this chain of hotels was else where in the world we would be more than happy to stay with them again.

  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank namronr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2008

I have stayed in this hotel three times so far and I intend to return many more times!!!

First of all, we were greeted by cheery, upbeat staff and concierge who brought our luggage to our rooms on arrival, the receptionist and most staff have great English and outstanding manners.

The rooms are quite large (we had a Triple Room each time) we found it very comfortable and they were fully equipped with television, mini-bar, telephone, hairdryers, dressing-tables and walk in closet. The decor was beautiful in the rooms, reception area, bar, restaurant and even the coridoors were exceptional.

We opted for the Bed & Breakfast option every time as we like to explore the local restaurants, but the breakfast was exceptional, with a wide variety of food to choose from and a beautiful view from the windows as you enjoy your morning coffee. The restaurant is located on the top floor of the hotel with floor-to ceiling windows over-looking the street below.

The cleanliness of the rooms were exceptional, the chambermaids were very pleasant and always have a smile and 'Bonjourno' for the guests.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, just a short stroll from Corso Vercelli and all the main shopping areas in Milan, as well as the San Siro stadium. There is a great Asian restaurant across the road from the hotel which offers contemporary Asian food including luxurious sushi dishs for great prices and there is an English speaking waitor. There are also lots of pizzerias surrounding the hotel offering great food at great prices with friendly staff in cosy surroundings.

All of the above combined made for a comfortable, pleasant, exciting and charming stay...everytime!

  • Liked — Staff, food, location and general atmosphere!
  • Disliked — Sometimes the traffic outside can be noisy and
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank AineO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devon,UK
Level Contributor
127 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2008

Although located on the outskirts of Milan, this really was not a long metro ride - about 10 minutes - and very close to the metro as others have stated. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable and they were very helpful on arrival; although we had booked doubles for the children (we had 5 teenagers) they were given single rooms which they were a bit disappointed about, but they were all on the same floor. Their rooms were fine, clean and warm - and there was access to satellite tv for a reasonable cost with a good selection of English, current films to watch. Our room was at the top, and was a rather strange room - family room - but it was clean and comfortable and spacious; the bathroom facilities were very good. The breakfast was super, a mix of warm and cold and we were able to eat as much as we wanted, which set us up for the day. If they ran out of food the staff filled this up quickly if asked. We found all of the staff - reception and restaurant - very helpful. Careful when you use the internet facility in the room as this is expensive, but clearly stated. I would definitely recommend for a reasonably priced hotel in Milan - and although not in the city centre, very close to the metro and quick to get into the centre. In the evening we went to the restaurant directly opposite the hotel, a Japanese restaurant, and had a super meal. We gave the children a E25 price limit each and they had a really good mix/match selection plus drink - really super place, beautifully presented food and very friendly although they do not speak English! We would really recommend the place and so did the children. It was a pity that the weather was so bad when we were there, but we managed to get a feel for Milan on this flying visit - 48 hours to celebrate the twin's 18th birthday. The tram takes you dircect to the Duomo and the shopping arcade - and we visited the 'designer' shopping area and had a laugh when we found the 'discount shop' with discounts at E1000!

The shuttle bus Austrolade, from Orio al Serio (Bergamo) airport is clearly signoposted when leaving arrivals. Fare is E8 each but ask for a discount if more than 5 people and ask for a return if appropriate. On arrival in Milan the bus stops at the Central Train Station. Turn left out of the coach area, walk to the corner of the station, right to the main entrance, up the stairs to the main concourse then find the first newsagent on the left. This is where you buy your metro tickets. 'Tourist ticket' is good value for metro, tram and bus - costs E2-3 for 24 hour ticket, E5 for 48 hour. these can be used as many times as you want, whereas the other/normal tickets expire after 75 minutes. (If you want the tourist office, that is down a gloomy passageway just after the newsagent - but they are very helpful). If getting the metro, go back down the stairs and continue to make your way round to the opposite side of the station to the coaches. You will see the metro signs.

This was a whirlwind trip for our twin's 18th birthday, so quite a logistical nightmare with 7 of us - but we did it. All resulted from the 01p fares offered by Ryan air; which with airport taxes came to £140 for 7 of us - with on-line book in.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, warmth and breakfast
  • Disliked — Some of the decor was a bit strange
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2007

Hi,

I was advised to stay at Hotel Rubens. It was okay, nothing special. I had a room just next to the elevator. Room 203. It was rather noisy due to the elevator. I was tired both days, so i was not really care about the noise, thus I did not claim.
My advice is to ask your room location before book the room.

Rgds,
Krisztian

  • Stayed November 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kpapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2007

Stayed here for four nights and the accommodation was very pleasant. A decent sized double room and high quality breakfast served on the top floor overlooking a square and the city skyline.
It is a bit out of the centre, but the nearest metro is less than five minutes walk and is only about 6 stops (10 minutes) into the very centre of town (at 3 euros for an all day pass it's not a problem). The nearby shops and restaurants are good value and high quality. It's a fairly trendy area (with just one dodgy street about two blocks away) but not at all touristy, so you get things at non-tourist prices.
The parking was a high quality garage about 300 yards from the hotel, which again was very good.
Overall I'd recommend it as long as you're willing to be in a non-tourist zone a little bit out of the centre.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
Thank patjennings45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, Berkshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2007

As my favourite hotel was full, I chose the Rubens (it's worth noting that if you book flights and your hotel through Alitalia, you get seriously good value, often paying 2 star prices for 4 star accomodation). The hotel is situated on a busy street with trams and is probably a bit too remote for serious tourists. However, it is comfortable and the staff are helpful (even though reception often seems to have more staff than there are guests - a bit daunting when 4 people compete to give you your room key!). My room was, er, fantastic yet not brilliant...it was almost a suite, boasting a mini living room with sofa and table, a fabulous bathroom with the grooviest shower you've ever seen, and a bed so wide I never actually made it to the other side. Unfortunately my room was situated right above reception, so until the wee small hours it was filled with strange noises coming through the floor, which rather cancelled out the opulence of the bed. The breakfast room is on the top floor, where huge windows let the light flood in (the food quality wasn't that good, though, and once again there seemed to be ranks of dour staff answering to some bizarre hierarchy). Generally speaking, not a bad hotel at all, and if I could guarantee getting a room on the second or third floor (preferably at the back, away from the trams) this could rank up there as a hotel I'd stay at again.

  • Liked — Room quality
  • Disliked — Hotel location, noise in room, breakfast quality
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Writehotel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Antares Hotel Accademia
#26 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
NU Hotel Milano
#30 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Citta Studi
Hotel Teco
Hotel Teco
#22 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Navigli
Residence & Hotel Aramis Milan Downtown
Grand Visconti Palace
#33 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
Enterprise Hotel
#31 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Antares Hotel Rubens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antares Hotel Rubens

Property: Antares Hotel Rubens
Address: Via Pieter Rubens 21, 20148 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Milan
#45 Family Hotel in Milan
#59 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#65 Business Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Antares Hotel Rubens 4*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel has been entirely renewed in 2011. Completely sound proofed the 87 air conditioned rooms have a private bathroom with either bathtub and/or emotional shower. The warm and welcoming hospitality combined with the ornate interiors ensure a relaxing and cultured environment. Enjoy unique works of art including "Moon" by Teresa Pomodoro or enjoy the rich buffet breakfast in the Sala delle Nuvole" located on the hotel’s top floor and overlooking Milan... the relaxing atmosphere and the professionalism of our staff will make sure that your stay in Milan will be unforgettable... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Antares Hotel Rubens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antares Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing