We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Antares Hotel Rubens
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Emmy(Milan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Edy(Milan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Domenichino(Milan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (866)
Filter reviews
866 results
Traveller rating
374
400
70
13
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
374
400
70
13
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssan sirotop floormetro stationcity centrebreakfast room isshort walknice hotelbusiness tripbreakfast is servedbed was very comfortablehotel staffthe room was nicewould highly recommend this hotelbars and restaurantsvisiting milanbreakfast was excellenthotel room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
214 - 219 of 866 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2008

Having had a lot of trouble finding a reasonable hotel in this very overpriced city, we were delighted with the Hotel Rubens. Although it is a little away from the main attractions, it is on a tram route and a few minutes walk from two Metro stations - Gambara on the red line is the nearest.

The staff were very friendly and we were given a very nice Non Smoking Double room, which we booked on the hotel's own website, as we found this to be the best price. Unlike other experiences in big cities where you have the usual arguments about smoking/non smoking, double or twin despite having made a booking, we were given exactly what we booked.

The room was very bright and nicely decorated, although the bathroom was a bit of a tight squeeze, with a shower rather than a bath, which was ok with us - no sticky plastic shower curtains over the bath here, but a proper shower cubicle.

The room had a fridge with mini bar, small work desk and some decent space for clothes storage and a very comfortable bed. It was nicely furnished and decorated and compared to other hotels in Italy we were very satisfied with our booking.

Breakfast was lovely. The breakfast room is on the top floor and is bright and airy. The choice was good, cereals, fruit, cold meats and cheese, pate as well as breads, croissants and some hot bacon and eggs. The only thing we would say is 'get there early'. Breakfast starts at 7.00 until 11.00. We arrived at 9.00 and they ran out of croissants, meat, cheese, eggs, bacon which took an age to refil. By 9.15 they had totally run out of croissants and the people arriving after us were told they would have to eat bread.

This was the only negative we found at this hotel. The staff were friendly and helpful, it was clean and we would recommend it as a good value stay.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KuwaitGlobetrotters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2008

pretty average continental hotel. Not going to set the world on fire, friendly enough front desk but in general, I wouldnt go out of my way to stay here again.....theres hotels closer to the center of milan.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2008

Myself and my two friends arrived at the hotel and as soon as the taxi driver popped his breaks on the concierge was there to take our luggage and took to our room, very impressed.

Reception was very good, we found the lady good especially when asking about shopping and the chap at night his english was very good and understood everything we asked!

The triple room was lovely and the bathroom was a definate hit with us girls (I will be attaching photos later).

The breakfast was very good and the view is great do eat as much as you can.

The hotel added little personal touches which put a smile on our faces such as the slippers and 'good night' towel and folding down the covers for bed time.

The Metro station is just around the corner, we found that De Angeli first but then the next stop which is Gambara is the closest with a five minute walk. To walk in to the centre takes approximately 40 mins but the metro only takes 20 mins if that.

We would of liked to have seen in the room a folder showing attractions, resturants, things not to miss etc.

We will not return to Milan but if this chain of hotels was else where in the world we would be more than happy to stay with them again.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank namronr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2008

I have stayed in this hotel three times so far and I intend to return many more times!!!

First of all, we were greeted by cheery, upbeat staff and concierge who brought our luggage to our rooms on arrival, the receptionist and most staff have great English and outstanding manners.

The rooms are quite large (we had a Triple Room each time) we found it very comfortable and they were fully equipped with television, mini-bar, telephone, hairdryers, dressing-tables and walk in closet. The decor was beautiful in the rooms, reception area, bar, restaurant and even the coridoors were exceptional.

We opted for the Bed & Breakfast option every time as we like to explore the local restaurants, but the breakfast was exceptional, with a wide variety of food to choose from and a beautiful view from the windows as you enjoy your morning coffee. The restaurant is located on the top floor of the hotel with floor-to ceiling windows over-looking the street below.

The cleanliness of the rooms were exceptional, the chambermaids were very pleasant and always have a smile and 'Bonjourno' for the guests.

The location of the hotel was fantastic, just a short stroll from Corso Vercelli and all the main shopping areas in Milan, as well as the San Siro stadium. There is a great Asian restaurant across the road from the hotel which offers contemporary Asian food including luxurious sushi dishs for great prices and there is an English speaking waitor. There are also lots of pizzerias surrounding the hotel offering great food at great prices with friendly staff in cosy surroundings.

All of the above combined made for a comfortable, pleasant, exciting and charming stay...everytime!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank AineO90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2008

Although located on the outskirts of Milan, this really was not a long metro ride - about 10 minutes - and very close to the metro as others have stated. The cost of the hotel was very reasonable and they were very helpful on arrival; although we had booked doubles for the children (we had 5 teenagers) they were given single rooms which they were a bit disappointed about, but they were all on the same floor. Their rooms were fine, clean and warm - and there was access to satellite tv for a reasonable cost with a good selection of English, current films to watch. Our room was at the top, and was a rather strange room - family room - but it was clean and comfortable and spacious; the bathroom facilities were very good. The breakfast was super, a mix of warm and cold and we were able to eat as much as we wanted, which set us up for the day. If they ran out of food the staff filled this up quickly if asked. We found all of the staff - reception and restaurant - very helpful. Careful when you use the internet facility in the room as this is expensive, but clearly stated. I would definitely recommend for a reasonably priced hotel in Milan - and although not in the city centre, very close to the metro and quick to get into the centre. In the evening we went to the restaurant directly opposite the hotel, a Japanese restaurant, and had a super meal. We gave the children a E25 price limit each and they had a really good mix/match selection plus drink - really super place, beautifully presented food and very friendly although they do not speak English! We would really recommend the place and so did the children. It was a pity that the weather was so bad when we were there, but we managed to get a feel for Milan on this flying visit - 48 hours to celebrate the twin's 18th birthday. The tram takes you dircect to the Duomo and the shopping arcade - and we visited the 'designer' shopping area and had a laugh when we found the 'discount shop' with discounts at E1000!

The shuttle bus Austrolade, from Orio al Serio (Bergamo) airport is clearly signoposted when leaving arrivals. Fare is E8 each but ask for a discount if more than 5 people and ask for a return if appropriate. On arrival in Milan the bus stops at the Central Train Station. Turn left out of the coach area, walk to the corner of the station, right to the main entrance, up the stairs to the main concourse then find the first newsagent on the left. This is where you buy your metro tickets. 'Tourist ticket' is good value for metro, tram and bus - costs E2-3 for 24 hour ticket, E5 for 48 hour. these can be used as many times as you want, whereas the other/normal tickets expire after 75 minutes. (If you want the tourist office, that is down a gloomy passageway just after the newsagent - but they are very helpful). If getting the metro, go back down the stairs and continue to make your way round to the opposite side of the station to the coaches. You will see the metro signs.

This was a whirlwind trip for our twin's 18th birthday, so quite a logistical nightmare with 7 of us - but we did it. All resulted from the 01p fares offered by Ryan air; which with airport taxes came to £140 for 7 of us - with on-line book in.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Janet2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews