We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, well located”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Carlton
Ranked #39 of 431 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent service, well located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2012

We only stayed one night, but from the moment we arrived we found the service to be top notch. The room was wonderful (it was on one of the renovated floors). The hotel was centrally located for walking. After a full day in Milan, we proceeded to the outdoor area for drinks and appetizers, however, found it to be quite noisy because it is right along a busy street. The server's suggestion for wines can be quite pricey - suggest you make your own choices. All in all, we definitely enjoyed the hotel and would stay there again.

Room Tip: Renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SFPED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    126
    38
    17
    13
See reviews for
80
171
33
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Island of Malta, Malta
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

I was staying there for 2 days in June with my family. I have been to different hotels in Milan before. But this one is really good. Not so posh, very clean, cozy, 50 meters from shopping area, 1 km from Duomo and La Scala

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arm3strong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
superdad69
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

Just perfect for a city break in Milan.
Well Located
Stunning reception bar restaurant
Brilliant Service
Beautiful rooms

Feels very special

Room Tip: We stayed in a classic room, which was just great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank superdad69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2012

The 5 star Baglioni in Milan. (It doesn’t deserve the 5th star, and I am surprised it is “One of the Leading Hotels of the World.”)

Our room in May was cold and noisy.
“It’s the airconditioning . I t can’t be controlled from the room
and I can’t adjust it either. The airconditioning makes the noise. It’s automatic”
They did move us to another room.

On checking out:
What is this charge of 10 euros?
It’s for your friend’s car. When he visited you he parked his car with us for an hour.”
No one visited us.
“I’ll check. Oh…the car attendant said it was a mistake and he told the desk to remove the charge. They must have forgotten to remove it”
They did remove the charge. (the hotel charges 50 euros per day for parking. Perhaps this is standard for Milan, I don’t know, but it is the highest charge I have ever encountered anywhere in the world.

What is this charge each day for one euro?
“Oh, that is for charity”
What charity?
“It is the owner’s favorite charity. He feels strongly about it. It is for AIDS”
That’s a worthy charity, but do you ask your guests if they want to give to it.
“No”
Do you inform them that they are being charged every day automatically for this?
“No”
I let the charge stand. However, this is deceptive at best, andt is dishonest, immoral and unethical.

I will not be staying at the Baglioni in Milan again.

The Ballet at La Scala was great! and made the entire experience an overall joy.

Barry M. Panter, MD

Room Tip: yes, go to another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank barryp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Excellent hotel, excellent location, Sara : the lady in charge of the guest relations was of great help and took extra efforts to make our 4 nights very special and comfortable. A very polite , attentive and helpful staff. The modern rooms have nespresso machine available.. which is a treat to coffee lovers.Would definately stay here the next time we are in Milan.

Room Tip: The modern rooms are a little small. the classic rooms are nice and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2012

If you have a room facing the road then you will be kept awake by the cars, trams etc.

Great levels of service and attention. Good location (the private entrance into via della spiga is a neat touch). Nice bar. Good breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2GentleTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2012

A quick one-nighter on a business trip but this hotel left me with a good impression. The hotel oozes old world charm but the service is modern and superb. I like how the entrance to the property is very low key with the driveway obscured and almost unnoticeable from the street.

Those expecting or requiring very modern fixtures will be disappointed and those who don't appreciate the old world ambiance will probably find the rooms drab. I slept well, though probably more because I was exhausted than because of the comfort of the bed, which was pretty ordinary.

Didn't try the internet, food, or the gym (if they had one)

Location is excellent right adjacent to the high end shopping streets in the heart of the old town, and a short walk to the duomo.

Bottom line, with old world charm and character, the superb service and unbeatable location, everything else is secondary.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank heehorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Brera
Grand Hotel et de Milan
Centro Storico
Four Seasons Hotel Milano
Centro Storico
Hotel Manzoni
Hotel Manzoni
#37 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Brera
Palazzo Parigi Hotel & Grand Spa
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Principe Di Savoia
Centro Storico
Park Hyatt Milan
Park Hyatt Milan
#4 of 431 in Milan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Carlton

Property: Baglioni Hotel Carlton
Address: Via Senato 5, 20121 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Centro Storico
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#13 Spa Hotel in Milan
#16 Family Hotel in Milan
#17 Business Hotel in Milan
#33 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Carlton 5*
Number of rooms: 87
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Baglioni Hotel Carlton is a 5 star hotel in Milan, Italy perfect for both leisure and business trips. It is situated in the heart of Milan, at the crossroads of culture, fashion and design, in a highly prestigious position: it directly overlooks Via della Spiga, the most celebrated shopping street in the city. Via Montenapoleone, the cathedral and the famous La Scala theatre are situated a short distance away. The Baretto al Baglioni is one of the most famous restaurants in Milan and the perfect meeting place for the Italian and international Jet Set. A renowned place of refreshment for those working in Milan, Caffé Baglioni, is ideal for small work meetings and major encounters. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing