We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel for business or weekends, perfect location, helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Starhotels Anderson
Ranked #66 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Bromley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Great hotel for business or weekends, perfect location, helpful staff”
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times on business but recently came with several others for a leisure weekend. This hotel holds up very well on both counts.

Positives: front desk staff are fantastic! Helpful with travel plans, calling restaurants and taxis and have great suggestions and generally very friendly and professional. Rooms are a good size, very well equipped and appointed. Higher floors are better so that you don't get the rumbling from the train station nearby. Beds are very comfortable and choice of pillows is good. Breakfast is good and nice wide choice - must mention the fantastic staff in the breakfast room - very attentive! Concierge staff, especially the man from Mauritius, were very helpful and efficient.

Negatives: there aren't that many but the things that could be a mild hindrance for me staying again were - the long flight of stairs to access the hotel lobby from the main entrance was difficult for high heels and older people (though I'm sure they have alternative access as we saw a wheelchair bound guest being catered for very well). Also, there was no plug by the bed, so couldn't have my phone next to me. Dinner menu prices were in keeping with that of a good restaurant but too expensive for a hotel of that size. Really didn't like MTV on the screens in the bar area - didn't feel very sophisticated. Also, I wouldn't say that this is a good romance hotel as the rooms not very intimate like the Westin for example.

However, we needed to access the station a lot over the weekend and the convenient location can not be beaten. Just a short walk at the end of the day and flipping down onto the hugely comfortable bed!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimSP1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    678
    131
    33
    17
See reviews for
157
604
92
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is just across the street from Milan central station so very convenient if you are travelling as there are plenty of buses to the airport and it is close to the metro for trips into Milan centre. The open top city tour bus stops just off the station plaza allowing you to combine a city tour with travel into the centre.
The hotel itself is stylish and comfortable and the staff are efficient and friendly. The rooms are luxuriously appointed and the bed is about the most comfortable I've ever slept in. The breakfast is an excellent buffet spread with fruit, cereals, eggs, and most other things you can think of. The scrambled egg was as delicious as I've ever had as were some of the pastries. All in all a great place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roadstercrv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for one night on a stopover in Milan. The hotel is conveniently located opposite Milan Central Station. The hotel was clean, stylish and my bed super comfy. The staff were really nice and friendly. Only minus- the wifi wasn't free in the hotel rooms (only in the lobby), and even the wifi I paid for intermittently dropped out- very frustrating!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephtheaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

At first sight, the hotel does not look like anything special but once inside, a quality hotel presents itself. Located opposite Milano Centrale railway station but not within walking distance of tourist sites (a few stops away by rail). The Malpensa Express bus is available from the station to the airport. There is no noise from the railway station. We had an excellent room, very spacious and modern as was the bathroom. Minibar provided and coffee making facility. American Buffet breakfast was included and was very good.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndyA43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

We needed to stay close to Milano Centrale overnight to be able to catch an early morning Malpensa Express to the airport. Having researched all possible options, we’re so glad to have chosen this hotel. It’s so close, you don’t even bother looking at the map – just find the Piazza Luigi di Savoia exit and walk across the carpark and there you are! The airport shuttle buses are literally within spitting distance. The metro is also close by, so despite checking in late afternoon we still managed to visit the Castello and the Duomo that day.

Railway hotels tend to be cramped, old and daggy, relying on a captive market of tourists needing to be close to the train station for one reason or another. Well, Starhotels Anderson is not just an average railway hotel. This hotel is modern and spacious, very efficiently run and seems to have an upmarket feel all over. From the outside the building is unremarkable but who cares about hotel architecture? We were pleasantly surprised, however, at how quiet and peaceful it was once you are inside the hotel – and what a sanctuary from the hustle and bustle of Milanese traffic! Also pleasantly surprised at how reasonable the rates were for the quality of accommodation available. We stayed on the 9th floor, the room was clean, spacious, well appointed, very comfortable bed, big window looking over the city (not much of a view though but it was fun watching the lightning preceding the thunderstorm that evening). You can set the aircon to a pleasant temperature of your liking. Oh and there’s a bathtub in the bathroom (one must not assume that this is standard issue in Italian hotels). I didn’t mind not having free wifi in our room, I just got a couple of complimentary vouchers from reception – I used my first hour in the lobby, the 2nd in the breakfast room. And breakfast, well, it’s generous and the staff were friendly. By the way, the lift is rather funky - lots of mirrors and lights - an experience in itself.

I don’t think I would stay more than 2 nights in this hotel, as there must be better options closer to the centre, but for what we needed it for, it was perfect! If I had to stay overnight in Milan again, I would not hesitate to book this hotel once more.
Likes: value for money, clean and comfy room, modern décor, efficient (but not officious) staff
Dislike: stairs from street level to the lobby, not really ideal when one has heavy luggage, even a ramp would have been useful

Room Tip: Be nice to the reception staff and ask for a higher room (we didn't even have to ask, they offer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geckopoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2013

my wife amd I were plesantly surprised with the quality of the hotel. The rooms are great quite large and well decorated seemingly new , and modern
Breakfast was good with a reasonable choice
The only issue were the toileteries which seemed a cheap brand

Also no free wifi in the rooms, but around 9 Euro for a day, not too expensive

If these two issues can be improved then i would give the hotel a 5star rating!!

ps Parking was expensive but we found cheaper at the train station for a short stay of few hours , but for those staying long Euro 25 per day can add up to quite a bit

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AjayKDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

The restaurant was closed when we stayed because the chef was on holiday. AUGUST !!!
Wifi was 6 Euros a day despite advertised as included. Great wifi reception though. Breakfast was rather ordinary in a dark basement. Handy to the train station and airport buses.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneyBaxter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#40 of 427 in Milan
1,313 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#74 of 427 in Milan
1,677 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#55 of 427 in Milan
1,300 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,527 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#87 of 427 in Milan
824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Anderson

Property: Starhotels Anderson
Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Milan
#46 Business Hotel in Milan
#54 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#56 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Anderson 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starhotels Anderson Hotel in Milan is located near the city centre, directly opposite the Centrale Train Station. True to its location, our 4 star hotel in Milan has a metropolitan lounge atmosphere and is a landmark hotel for the Italian fashion industry.Staying here means it's easy for you to reach the historical centre and explore the most exclusive shops and Galleria, fashionable spots and the Navigli. The Starhotels Anderson in Milan features 106 contemporary rooms and suites, 4 conference rooms for up to a total of 70 people. Our Fitness Room is open 24 hours a day. Few restaurants in Milan fuse dining and design quite like the Black Restaurant by Eataly at the Anderson. Take in the cool, minimalist interior as you dip into an artfully prepared menu of international and local dishes, all complemented by an extensive wine selection. Or, for a relaxed morning coffee, a light snack or classic cocktails, the stylish Black Bar is a Milan favourite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Anderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Anderson Milan
Starhotels Anderson Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing