We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and very good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Anderson
Ranked #66 of 427 Hotels in Milan
Certificate of Excellence
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good hotel and very good location”
Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a weekend. The hotel is really beautiful, it looks like newly furnished and very well located. It is right opposite of the gare where you can take the metro as well as the trains.

However bear in mind that parking is problematic as there is no dedicated parking space for this hotel. You can leave your car in the street but it is a bit risky to count on a spot aftet a long drive. But we were lucky to find a place where we pay about 10 euros for a day, sunday was free so it was ok at the end. Otherwise there are other neighboring hotel's underground parkings but you may need to check with recepiton for this first.

Rooms are clean, and large enough. We stayed on 8th floor and we liked the room. The breakfast lounge is dark and breakfast was alright, not something fancy.

Overall we loved our stay and we will stay again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank UtQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    678
    131
    33
    17
See reviews for
157
604
92
277
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

stayed 1 night as it was close to the station. Great staff, very friendly, room pretty standard but had everything you need and very clean. Would use again if ever in Milan. I never felt unsafe in the area, it is Milan and the hotel is next to a major train station.

Room Tip: We had a room on the 4th floor. Was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yumsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espoo, Finland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Hotel is 4 stars (more like Manhattan, NY, 4 stars). Its location next to the railway station is perfect. The buses from the airports arrive and leave practically in front of the hotel. Rooms are small but very clean. The breakfast room is small and the food in the buffet is average, but included in the room price. Be aware that hotels in Milano charge you "city tax" when checking out. For two nights stay it was 20 €.
The air-conditioners were not working in any of our rooms, we had three. So the rooms were very hot.

Room Tip: We would prefer backyard view because there is less noise. Of course you loose the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank devexit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleetwood, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We too needed a place near the train station for our quick pass through Milan but after two weeks of touring, it was good to return to a more modern age. Although I enjoyed our tour and staying at guest houses and pensiones, the first sight of a proper bathroom was fabulous!

The neighborhood around the station at first seemed seedy but we walked from the Lima subway station on Corsa Buenos Aires to do a little shopping and it felt fine. We also ended up going to restaurants in the vicinity and felt ok walking to them.

The hotel offers a wonderful breakfast which starts early in the morning. We had an early plane to catch and it was very nice having breakfast in the hotel. I just don't understand why all the little guest houses had wi-fi for free but this hotel had to charge for it in the room (free in the lobby).

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parishfm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

Reasonably newly refurbished hotel right next to Milan central train station. Definitely looks more attractive on the inside than the outside... Considering how expensive (yet poor) hotels are in Milan (and northern Italy in general) I thought this hotel offered good value. Stayed for two night and would definitely come back.

The rooms are reasonably spacious (I stayed in a twin), especially the bathroom was surprisingly large. The staff was courteous and friendly, especially the girls serving (the excellent) breakfast. Also found the bed very comfy, slept really well.

As often with hotels in Italy, wifi was only available in the room subject to charge. You could, however, "enjoy" free access in the lobby area but it was a bit of faff as you had to collect a voucher from the reception desk that only granted you access for 30 min. So unnecessary.

Location is brilliant, just across the road from the train station. Would probably stay again, but stop charging for the wifi. It just causes a lot of unnecessary nuisance.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank enixmatix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karystos
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

You couldn't stay at a more convenient location than the Starhotels Anderson in Milan if you are using the Central Station. The hotel is practically at the side entrance to the station however it is separated by a plaza that keeps the possibility of noise and activity to a minimum. The rooms are beautifully appointed with everything you could need and the breakfast buffet is a bountiful and delicious feast.
We needed to be on a train to Switzerland at 7:30 am and was able to have our morning meal, check out and be across the street at the designated train platform in plenty of time for our journey since we were only a two minute walk from the station. Also, the staff is very helpful and friendly.

We stayed at the hotel in October 2013 and will choose to go back there again when we revisit Milan in future trips.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neadtheo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

To me the reception I get at a hotel and the genuine helpfulness and friendliness of the staff is utterly important; to the extent that I could ignore some shortcomings only because the staff are nice (not to say that Hotel Anderson had any shortcomings).

I stayed at hotel Anderson for 3 nights at the end of September (2013). Compared to other hotels in Milan, the rate looked very reasonable. But after staying there, I would say that for the service I received the rate is a real deal!

The hotel is located right at the doorstep of Centrale (the main train station in Milan). Both Malpensa and Linate airport shuttles are literally on the other side of the square where Anderson is located. So, if you are looking for a very convenient stop-over in Milan, this is a perfect hotel. I was visiting Milan for 2 days and 3 nights and still found the hotel very conveniently located. After all, Centrale is a transportation hub. It is only 4 stops away from the shopping district and Duomo. So, it takes only 10 minutes to get there.

Like all neighbourhoods around central train stations, Hotel Anderson's area is not a high-end neighbourhood. But it felt completely safe.

As other reviewers had said, the hotel does not look very impressive from outside but it is in fact quite nice inside. It is modern with spacious rooms. NIce, funky corridors with their warm atmosphere and lighting were quite a contrast to the almost greyish exterior and surrounding. I personally loved it.

The room was very nice and spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was larger than most bathrooms I have seen in comparable North American hotels, needless to say, much larger than typical European hotels. Both the room and bathroom were very well-equipped and very well-lit.

Although the rate I got (around 135 euros per night, average) included breakfast, I missed all my three breakfasts for various reasons. So, I cannot comment on the food but if other things are any indication, I bet the breakfast is very good too.

Finally, the staff: while professional and courteous, they were extremely helpful, nice and friendly. I said in another review that hotel staff and specially the front desk ones are the "face" of a hotel and one of the best measures of how a hotel is managed and treats its guests. I give a high mark to Hotel Anderson. Everybody, from concierge and support staff to receptionists were very helpful, friendly and kind. I want to specially thank the young lady at the reception desk and the doorman on the night of September 30th (my apologies for not knowing their names). I really hope the hotel manager notes my review and rewards them for their exceptional service.

Overall, Anderson Hotel is a very good hotel and without any doubt worth any penny I paid. I definitely recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMMV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Milan hotels
Stazione Centrale
Starhotels E.c.ho.
Starhotels E.c.ho.
#40 of 427 in Milan
1,313 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#74 of 427 in Milan
1,677 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Best Western Atlantic Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stazione Centrale
UNA Hotel Century
UNA Hotel Century
#55 of 427 in Milan
1,300 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Hotel Berna
Hotel Berna
#12 of 427 in Milan
6,527 reviews
Stazione Centrale
Glam Hotel Milano
Glam Hotel Milano
#87 of 427 in Milan
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Anderson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Anderson

Property: Starhotels Anderson
Address: Piazza Luigi di Savoia 20, 20124 Milan, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Milan > Stazione Centrale
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Family Hotel in Milan
#46 Business Hotel in Milan
#54 Romantic Hotel in Milan
#56 Luxury Hotel in Milan
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Anderson 4*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Starhotels Anderson Hotel in Milan is located near the city centre, directly opposite the Centrale Train Station. True to its location, our 4 star hotel in Milan has a metropolitan lounge atmosphere and is a landmark hotel for the Italian fashion industry.Staying here means it's easy for you to reach the historical centre and explore the most exclusive shops and Galleria, fashionable spots and the Navigli. The Starhotels Anderson in Milan features 106 contemporary rooms and suites, 4 conference rooms for up to a total of 70 people. Our Fitness Room is open 24 hours a day. Few restaurants in Milan fuse dining and design quite like the Black Restaurant by Eataly at the Anderson. Take in the cool, minimalist interior as you dip into an artfully prepared menu of international and local dishes, all complemented by an extensive wine selection. Or, for a relaxed morning coffee, a light snack or classic cocktails, the stylish Black Bar is a Milan favourite. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Anderson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Anderson Milan
Starhotels Anderson Hotel Milan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing